VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Technical General => Topic started by: hlekat on August 28, 2009, 05:31:12 am

Title: add greek language.
Post by: hlekat on August 28, 2009, 05:31:12 am
i am trying to add the greek language to vector but i havent find anything yet.

that should i do ?

Title: Re: add greek language.
Post by: hlekat on August 31, 2009, 04:27:31 am
is it possible to add others languages ???
Title: Re: add greek language.
Post by: kidd on August 31, 2009, 04:41:38 am
Caitlyn wrote an article about this.
http://broadcast.oreilly.com/2009/01/making-slackware-and-derivativ.html

Just in case you need to change your keyboard layout
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=9392.0

Btw,
hlekat, I found both links in the how-to subsection of this forum.
Title: Re: add greek language.
Post by: hlekat on August 31, 2009, 05:12:30 am
I havent looked at each section but i tried to find something from the search.
I typed language in the search and it returned nothing.  :(
So i post a new thread.

Title: Re: add greek language.
Post by: hlekat on August 31, 2009, 05:58:35 am
FIXED !!

1. Open the file : /etc/X11/xorg.conf
2. go to the following section :

Option  "XkbLayout"  "us"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!

add the language you want , ( in my case was the greek language )

Option  "XkbLayout"  "us,el"    ## KEYBOARD_MAP!

3. add to xfce panel the : keyboard layout switcher

4. restart the pc

you will change the language from the panel.
Title: Re: add greek language.
Post by: caitlyn on October 01, 2009, 03:17:06 pm
You didn't originally specify keyboard layout and I wasnt' around to ask.  That's the way I get an Israeli Hebrew keyboard layout as well :)

Everything else is pretty well built in:  fonts should be there by default, language packs are in the repository for Firefox and Thunderbird, and aspell dictionaries are there as well.  You will need to go upstream if you want a Greek language pack for Seamonkey or OpenOffice as we don't have anyone packaging those... yet.

Anyway, glad you got it working.  Please add [SOLVED] to the original subject line so those of us who try and help now and again know  ;D