VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Multimedia & Games => Topic started by: MO9013 on December 31, 2009, 02:55:13 pm

Title: Codex for xine
Post by: MO9013 on December 31, 2009, 02:55:13 pm
OK i just started ripping my dvds using k9copy and i ran into a problem. I used Xvid as my codex because I knew it played them since the downloaded movies work, but now since I burn my own Xine tells me its not supported.  It also doesn't support x264 or h263.  Is there a way I can upgrade the codex with Xine.  I can play then with VLC with no problem but I prefer Xine.

im running 6.0 KDE Clasic
Title: Re: Codex for xine
Post by: toothandnail on January 01, 2010, 02:16:36 pm
Can you play commercial DVDs using Xine? In my experience, the error regarding Xvid support usually indicates that Xine doesn't like the video mode you have selected. You can try altering the video driver setup and see if that fixes things.

:( Sorry, its a long time since I had to look at that type of problem, and I don't recall the details. Maybe someone else has more specific suggestions.

paul.
Title: Re: Codex for xine
Post by: MO9013 on January 02, 2010, 03:08:40 pm
i never played a dvd on my computer till you sead that but it plays the dvd with out any problems.  ill try the video driver setup next when i get some slow time at work. its just weird.  the videos i bownload use the xvid cocex but when i burn one it comes up Xvid.  i wonder if itd just the upercase letters doing it.  i know it sounds to simmple and mostlikly not the case but you never know.

thanks for the reply Paul
Title: Re: Codex for xine
Post by: Andy Price on January 07, 2010, 04:09:45 am
Did you solve this? If not, maybe you could try dvd2xvid. It isn't in the reps but it compiles easily and works well.
Andy
Title: Re: Codex for xine
Post by: The Headacher on March 21, 2010, 07:53:38 am
I ran into the same problem yesterday on vl6 soho beta 3. I got me the newest xine-lib from http://www.xine-project.org/home, after installing I can now watch xvid video's (or was it divx?). Anyhow, the problem is most likely in the xine-lib you're using.