VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Web & Internet => Topic started by: emolotricity on August 08, 2010, 02:07:21 pm

Title: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 08, 2010, 02:07:21 pm
I installed the JVM, and all documentation says to set the Java path on the Preferences menu, under Advanced>Content, in a separate menu to Plugins. But, under Plugins, there's blank space!

If you need any hardware information, just post the commands I need to run. This is on VL Light.

Thanks in advance, you guys were great about my wireless :)
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: nightflier on August 09, 2010, 05:08:23 am
Maybe your paths are not set right.

On my system, the path under "Java Options" is:
/usr/lib/java/lib/i386

"Plugin Options" are:
/usr/lib/opera/plugins
/usr/local/lib/opera/plugins
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
/usr/lib/firefox-3.6.8/plugins
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 09, 2010, 08:07:23 am
This is the issue, I have no option to set the path for Java.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 09, 2010, 08:22:47 am
Tools, Preferences, Advanced Tab. Select Content, then select Plug-in Options.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 09, 2010, 08:52:55 am
I thought Java didn't count as a plugin?
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 09, 2010, 09:19:46 am
;)
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 09, 2010, 10:29:33 am
So I need to find libnpjp2.so?

charlie:$ ls /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
libflashplayer.so*     mplayerplug-in-dvx.so*  mplayerplug-in.so*
libjavaplugin_oji.so@  mplayerplug-in-qt.so*   nppdf.so@
libmozsvgdec.la*       mplayerplug-in-rm.so*
libmozsvgdec.so*       mplayerplug-in-wmp.so*


(http://imgur.com/JnCUt.png)
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 09, 2010, 10:48:47 am
At the cli:

Type: locate libnpjp2.so

Then copy the file to your /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory (most likely you'll need to do so as root).
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 09, 2010, 02:30:29 pm
root:# locate libnpjp2.so
locate: warning: database /var/lib/slocate/slocate.db' is more than 8 days old
vector://home/charlie
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so

I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 09, 2010, 02:35:08 pm
File should be in /usr/lib/java/lib/i386/
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 09, 2010, 03:06:45 pm
It demonstrably is not :( Anywhere I can get it from?
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: nightflier on August 09, 2010, 06:24:18 pm
I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...

Did you use gslapt and install "jre"?
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 10, 2010, 08:18:36 am
I suspect I may have installed Java wrong...

Did you use gslapt and install "jre"?
Apparently so.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: nightflier on August 10, 2010, 10:51:46 am
I'm somewhat stumped here. VL6 Light comes with the Java plugin pre-configured for use with Opera. Not sure what you mean when you say you installed JVM.

How about trying to upgrade jre, using gslapt? This may reset the defaults for the java plugin.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 10, 2010, 01:23:53 pm
Maybe it's partially due to me upgrading Opera? That's one of the first things I did.

Anyway, I just reinstalled JRE and here's the results of me looking for that plugin;
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so
root:#


Hum.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: M0E-lnx on August 10, 2010, 01:47:04 pm
try find / -name libnpjp2.so*
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 10, 2010, 03:05:48 pm
Same result...
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: GrannyGeek on August 10, 2010, 06:35:24 pm
Maybe it's partially due to me upgrading Opera? That's one of the first things I did.

Anyway, I just reinstalled JRE and here's the results of me looking for that plugin;
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so
root:#


I upgraded to Opera 10.60 and I have that plugin in
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libnpjp2.so
/usr/lib/java/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so

Did you run ldconfig as root after you reinstalled JRE? It shouldn't be necessary if you reinstalled through glslapt or slapt-get, but it wouldn't hurt to run it.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 11, 2010, 08:49:40 am
vector://home/charlie
root:# ldconfig
vector://home/charlie
root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so
vector://home/charlie
root:#

Vector Linux is not Charlie-proof :(
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 11, 2010, 08:59:34 am
Go to gslapt and reinstall jre. Watch for any error messages. Once it's installed, do a search for the required file.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 11, 2010, 04:04:30 pm
I did so in an earlier post.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: nightflier on August 11, 2010, 06:19:38 pm
The reason for insisting on the (re)install of jre is because it includes the file:
/usr/lib/java/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so
If that file is not on your system, then jre is not installed correctly.
The latest availiable version in the repo is jre-6u20-i586-1vl60.

What do these commands return?
Code: [Select]
ls /var/log/packages/jre-*
cat /var/log/packages/jre-* | grep libnpjp2.so
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 13, 2010, 08:37:35 am
vector://home/charlie
root:# ls /var/log/packages/jre-*                                               
/var/log/packages/jre-6u5-i586-1
vector://home/charlie
root:# cat /var/log/packages/jre-* | grep libnpjp2.so;
vector://home/charlie
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: newt on August 13, 2010, 09:38:31 am
vector://home/charlie
root:# ls /var/log/packages/jre-*                                               
/var/log/packages/jre-6u5-i586-1
vector://home/charlie
-> root:# cat /var/log/packages/jre-* | grep libnpjp2.so;
vector://home/charlie

Try repeating the last command without the additional semicolon at the end.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: nightflier on August 13, 2010, 12:21:26 pm
/var/log/packages/jre-6u5-i586-1

The latest available version is 6u20, available in the /testing section:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/testing/libs/jre-6u20-i586-1vl60.tlz

In Gslapt, if you enable the "Testing" repository and refresh, you can install it that way.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 15, 2010, 02:08:24 pm
Added the Testing repo, refreshed... And no change. Gonna try manually installing the package you linked to...

EDIT: Just tried installing that with vpackager...

tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Skipping to next header
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
FAILED

****  + Error while extracting sources ****
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 15, 2010, 03:20:37 pm
If you are going to install a package from the repo at the CLI, you use installpkg as root.
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 15, 2010, 03:42:43 pm
Aroo! Seems to have worked! Now to restart Opera...

EDIT: root:# find / -name libnpjp2.so
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libnpjp2.so
/usr/lib/jre1.6.0_05/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so


The file exists, but Opera still can't see it.

My class path is /usr/lib/opera/plugins:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/local/lib/opera/plugins:/usr/lib/jre1.6.0_20/lib
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: GrannyGeek on August 15, 2010, 06:03:00 pm
My Opera does see Java. In /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins there is a symlink to /usr/lib/java/lib/i386/libnpip2.so . So you have such a symlink? If not, create one and see if it helps.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: emolotricity on August 18, 2010, 12:44:35 pm
Mine seems to have the actual .so in there. The issue isn't with the file anymore, it's with Opera seeing it. Purge system of all traces of Opera and reinstall?
Title: Re: Can I get a hand configuring Opera with Java?
Post by: retired1af on August 18, 2010, 12:46:18 pm
My plugin path looks like this: /usr/lib/opera/plugins:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/lib/firefox-3.6.8/plugins

Shouldn't need anything else.