VectorLinux

Vectorbie Station => Vectorbie Questions => Topic started by: Penguinista on November 21, 2010, 10:09:13 am

Title: [Solved] CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: Penguinista on November 21, 2010, 10:09:13 am
Is there a CD Burner that works with XFCE and VectorLinux 6.0 Standard (Deluxe)?

I tried installing and using K3b but it doesn't load with XFCE since it was designed for KDE.

Title: Re: CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: stretchedthin on November 21, 2010, 12:39:45 pm
I thought k3b was an included application with the install.  Can't speak for deluxe but it does with standard.
Title: Re: CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: RonB on November 21, 2010, 02:08:19 pm
Is there a CD Burner that works with XFCE and VectorLinux 6.0 Standard (Deluxe)?

I tried installing and using K3b but it doesn't load with XFCE since it was designed for KDE.

That's odd, When I installed Standard Deluxe 6 I just chose "complete" install and K3b was loaded by default. It works fine on my computer. What's it not doing?
Title: Re: CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: GrannyGeek on November 21, 2010, 05:44:16 pm
Is there a CD Burner that works with XFCE and VectorLinux 6.0 Standard (Deluxe)?

I tried installing and using K3b but it doesn't load with XFCE since it was designed for KDE.

It isn't really designed for KDE, it just needs some libraries from KDE. If those libraries are present, it'll run on anything.

I use K3B with all my VectorLinuxes (VL6 Standard, Light, and SOHO Deluxe). If it won't run for you, open a Terminal and type
k3b
at the terminal prompt. You should see some messages about why it won't start. Let us know and we can go from there.

Have you run k3bsetup as root? You need to run that first.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: Penguinista on November 30, 2010, 01:02:02 pm
Thanks for the tips, I'll run the setup and look for errors.
Title: Re: CD Burner For XFCE
Post by: Penguinista on December 12, 2010, 12:16:59 pm
I reinstalled VL 6.0 Deluxe and K3b works perfectly now.