VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Installation & Updates => Topic started by: fogpipe on March 10, 2011, 04:26:29 am

Title: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: fogpipe on March 10, 2011, 04:26:29 am
Im downloading the 7.0 release and im planning on mounting it on hda5 and installing it to hdb1. Is the version of lilo on the 7.0 disk ok to do this with? Anyone know of any conceivable issues that i might encounter mounting an iso on one hard disk and installing to another?

Im dying to try out the latest :)
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: rm-r on March 10, 2011, 04:53:46 am

DELETED
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: fogpipe on March 10, 2011, 05:04:02 am

However,  trying to use installer  from within that expanded image will cause you more grief

Yeah i didnt think of that at first

Quote
OTOH, DD can copy  anywhere - (far better than use of TAR) ~  be advised, DD will faithfully copy entire partition content, size etal

So how about partitioning the second drive at about a gig or so for a first small partition, using dd to put the iso image on that first partiton, configuring the bios to boot from that drive, doing the install and installing grub or lilo on the mbr of the first harddrive (/dev/hda)?

Do you think something like that might work?


 
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: uelsk8s on March 10, 2011, 05:53:20 am
you can install 7.0 from HDA to HDB without any problems.
download the iso inside it there are scripts in the install/vinstall dir that will facilitate this.
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: rm-r on March 10, 2011, 05:54:13 am

DELETED  ~ NOW REDUNDANT
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: rm-r on March 10, 2011, 05:59:52 am
Yeah, forgot ("dynamite" author collaborated using alternate install methods )
 


 
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: fogpipe on March 10, 2011, 09:17:06 pm
you can install 7.0 from HDA to HDB without any problems.
download the iso inside it there are scripts in the install/vinstall dir that will facilitate this.

I read the readme in the dir with that script and followed the instructions, didnt work.
Unless i totally misread the whole thing, the vinstall script was trying to use gzip to decompress the initrd.lz instead of lz compression. So i tinkered a bit, after i got decompression working it was looking for an ext2 file system and not finding it. Maybe someone should take a look at those scripts before release.

All together i spent about 4 hours futzing around to avoid a 15 minute walk to the drug store for blank cd's. I had to go out today anyway to go to work and got some and installed 7.0 and all i have to say is WOW!  ;D

Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: uelsk8s on March 10, 2011, 09:45:49 pm
I was assuming you were trying the latest beta version. the initrd extraction has been fixed.
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-test/VL7.0-STD-BETA-1.9.iso
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: rm-r on March 11, 2011, 12:17:50 am
This topic may be edited as solved

Uelsk8s  ~ which VL version switched to Slackware13  T - XZ  compression

It is realized VL "borrows" from Slack repositories - however, it now limits most Distros to decompress  those tarballs

AFAICS - it requires xz  utility  and upgrades to various others
Title: Re: Installing 7.0 to hdb and booting from hda - lilo?
Post by: fogpipe on March 11, 2011, 01:27:28 am
I was assuming you were trying the latest beta version. the initrd extraction has been fixed.
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-test/VL7.0-STD-BETA-1.9.iso

Ok well i guess im upgrading then :)