VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => Distro development => Topic started by: uelsk8s on July 14, 2012, 09:13:10 am

Title: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: uelsk8s on July 14, 2012, 09:13:10 am
Please post feedback here.

Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: caieng on July 15, 2012, 02:15:36 pm
Hi uelsk8s,

Thanks very much for this release.  I am in the process right now, of installing it, on one of my older computers.  So far, no problems.

I have one small issue with the decision re: failure to include VLC, and inclusion, instead of junky stuff, but, that's my opinion, not a bug.

I am writing this, now, instead of waiting until I complete the installation, because of a curious error, I discovered, using the same cdrom, i.e. same version, no different in any way from what I am currently installing, effortlessly on my "older 64 bit computer", namely, the complete inability to boot with my newest machine.

So, what is the newest machine, and then, maybe we can figure out, why this version, which seems to be installing perfectly, on an older 64 bit device, will not boot.


oh, just a minute, wow, is that fast!  It has already completely installed.  Marvelous.  Very fast.

Back now to the machine that will not boot this same, precisely the same, cdrom.  It is not similar, not a duplicate.  It is the very same cdrom that installs, at least up to the initial reboot, in my older 64 bit apparatus.  I am holding up that installation, to write this, as the newer machine issue, seems to me to be more important than the problem I am having with the older architecture.

new machine:
motherboard:  biostar tz77b, version 5.0, intel chipset z77, cpu G630T @ 2.3 GHz, not overclocked
memory Fujitsu 8 GB, DDR 3 1600 MHz Dual channel

Another Linux version installs just fine, and runs very well, VLC installed by default, accepts single letter user name, and autologin enabled effortlessly, download and installation of opera very smooth:

Linux kernel 3.2.0-2-amd64

So, I think that there is nothing wrong with the motherboard.  It runs XP, no problem and it runs 64 bit Linux, no problem.

So, that's the news.
Meantime, back at the installation that does proceed, very quickly, looks like I may have an issue there, but, I doubt it is a problem with the distro, I suspect it is a design issue.  I refuse to use more than one letter for user name or password, and I think that probably caused the crash, because it starts out, on reboot, in good shape (I am referring now, to the installation on the older 64 bit architecture.)

Aha, here's an error message, on rebooting this older 64 bit architecture:  Crashed because:  "Couldn't find valid RAM disk image starting at 0.

Gosh, I doubt that has anything to do with me, but, maybe it does. 

Well, I will investigate this matter further.  TheVLocity screen does appear, so,  it gets started ok....then these two error messages appear:  "Couldn't mount because of unsupported optional features (240)."

Hmm.  This is an older machine, an e5200 @2.5 GHz, not overclocked with DDR2 667 2GBytes.  It works fine, with all kinds of 64 bit linux.

CAI ENG


Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: fogpipe on July 16, 2012, 11:19:19 am
Someone needs to update the top level README in the iso. It reads:
Quote
VLocity Linux Standard ver 6.0
===============================================

Congratulation for having this VLocity Linux release.

VLocityLINUX is a small, fast, Linux operating system for Intel, AMD and x86 compatible systems, based on one of the original Linux distributions, Slackware. The enormously popular Slackware is the true 'Unix' of Linux distributions and is used by major corporations, universities and home users alike. Its popularity stems from the fact that it is a robust, versatile and almost unbreakable system. We have produced a bloat free, easy to install, configure and maintain Slackware based system that is second to none. We include automatic hardware configuration, unique administration tools and easy package management via the Gslapt/slapt-get system. We are also known as the fastest non-source distro on the planet!

Some highlights on this particular VL Standard release are:

* New GUI Installer
  - M0eLnx finished the gui installer project that was started by joe1962
  -

* Optimized Linux kernel 2.6.27.10:

There may be other errors. Thats as far as i got before realizing that i wasnt likely to get much good info from it.

OK never mind :) Looking in the docs dir on the cd burned from the iso, so much is out of date that the above is minor.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: retired1af on July 17, 2012, 09:32:22 am
Don't know what changed between RC2 and Final, but I'm having all sorts of issues getting it to run properly.

First indication that there's an issue is during bootup and the avahidnsconfd module fails to load. Once logged in, it's apparent that absolutely no Internet devices were detected. ifconfig /all results in no devices being displayed.

Will monkey around with it some more later this afternoon, but it is rather disappointing that it seems to have taken a few steps backwards between RC2 and the final version. :(
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: fogpipe on July 17, 2012, 11:35:40 am
If you are looking for vlc, the alien bob slackbuild vlc-2.0.2-x86_64-1alien.txz seems to work fine.
You can find it at: http://www.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/vlc/pkg64/13.37/
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: fogpipe on July 17, 2012, 11:44:50 am
If you are looking for vlc, the alien bob slackbuild vlc-2.0.2-x86_64-1alien.txz seems to work fine.
You can find it at: http://www.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/vlc/pkg64/13.37/

EDIT: just noticed that there is one in gslapt as well, so nevermind :)
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: retired1af on July 17, 2012, 01:59:00 pm
OK. Was able to get things running as far as wireless is concerned.

avahidnsconfd still refuses to run, but that's no biggey.

After running vasm again, ifconfig and iwconfig saw the Internet devices but wicd was still showing no available networks. Checked the settings, and it wasn't picking up wlan0. Added that and was able to see the neighborhood networks and log into the home network.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: retired1af on July 17, 2012, 04:23:34 pm
Was Cairo-Dock removed from the final version? Can't seem to find it anywhere in the menus.  ???
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: uelsk8s on July 17, 2012, 05:12:02 pm
yes cairo dock was removed, unfortunately everything keeps getting bigger.

you can find it in gslapt.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: commiecam on July 27, 2012, 09:12:32 am
Posted elsewhere before I found the bug reports area:

Yesterday I downloaded, burned and installed the 64 bit Vector Linux for the first time.  The image that I used was:

VL64-7.0-STD-FINAL.iso

The machine was a Hewlett-Packard Pavilion DV2610US laptop. that has successfully run everything from (YUK!) Vista to QNX Neutrino to PC-BSD, including the 32 bit version of VL7.0.  The full system installation went smoothly until the point where the root password s asked for  I typed in and retyped the password but the "Next" button remained dim and could not be clicked on.  Both the back and quit buttons worked.

A reboot produced console screen but no X-windows and the root password was not needed to log in.  I did a repeat install with the same result ten another with a freshly burned disk with the same result.

Has anyone else ad this problem?  A search of the forum didn't find one.

Thanks,
Ed  (Linux since kernel 0.93)
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: prince on August 14, 2012, 11:15:13 am
Until Slack... 14.0 is released, shouldn't this edition be postponed and repackaged with the 14.0 and the 3.4 kernel?

The rest of the kernels seem to exhibit regression.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: Locator on September 13, 2012, 11:44:05 am
I installed the "gramps" application, and several of my desktop icons stopped functioning, I then rebooted my computer, and when it got to the point where I was supposed to log on, an error window pops up saying "There was an error loading the theme "VLocity".
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: uelsk8s on September 19, 2012, 11:22:04 am
I installed the "gramps" application, and several of my desktop icons stopped functioning, I then rebooted my computer, and when it got to the point where I was supposed to log on, an error window pops up saying "There was an error loading the theme "VLocity".
to fix this run "update-mime-database /usr/share/mime/"  as root

we will get the gramps pkg fixed.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: TonyH9904 on October 26, 2012, 09:49:36 pm
 I've been running the 64bit version for about one week now, so far I think I like it. No major problems, except the NTP program was missing, or maybe it has been removed from Slackware, I don't know. Every reboot would bring up a time-change on the computer, but I found the fix for that a couple of days ago. Involves copying the ntp from another distro, Arch-I believe, and setting it executable. Boy was I happy I found that fix!  I love this new XFCE, I quit using KDE several revisions back when it got so big and bloated (but I sure miss K3B out of KDE). Haven't tried burning any cd/dvds with it yet, I find brasero to be problematic in the debian distro I was using, but usually did work. VLocity has  a nice feel and look, its quick and I intend to make it my main distro.
 I have a self-built desktop with Athlon XP (??4200) with about 4g ram, circa Dec 2007. It has yet to blow up, so I am not looking to build another box any time soon!  Congrats to the developers, very nice distro. Printing works out of the box too, with no extra packages to load (HP LAserjet1200).
edit:  Correction= just rebooted, and system time reverted to 5hrs off again. Need a fix for this if anybody can help. Thanks.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: stretchedthin on October 26, 2012, 11:45:09 pm
TonyH9904, try using vasm --> SUPER --> HARDWARE --> ZONESET
and change local time to UTC time.
Then go to DATESET (in vasm) and set the date and time again.



**note vasm may be vasm-legacy in 64bit vector.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: TonyH9904 on October 27, 2012, 03:43:25 pm
Thanks stretched-that seems to have done it! I rebooted and it came back up with the correct time. And yes, it IS VASM-Legacy in 64bit, somehow the way I was using it was not getting the changes 'stored'.
I appreciate the solution to this, hopefully in the next version the ntp thing will be included.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: TonyH9904 on November 02, 2012, 04:56:57 pm
I am corrected-that did not fix the time problem. Just had rebooted into Vlocity and the clock is still 5hrs behind. Any more ideas, this is aggravating.
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: bligh on January 14, 2013, 08:34:41 pm
Thanks for this release.  I am running it on a Compaq cq60 laptop.  It seems fast and most things work the way I expect them to.  I installed this to a small os partition and several Puppies with a save file on a larger data partition.  Time seems to be correct and working now.  Echo the comments on login.  
Cheers
Edit: Sorry, I posted in the wrong area.  I am running 7.0.1
Title: Re: VLocity 64-7.0 bug reports
Post by: khashayar on October 15, 2013, 05:30:13 am
my graphic problem in Display  no able to change  refresh rate 0.0 HZ and resolution 1024*768
my card graphic
Quote
root:# lspci | grep VGA
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV770 [Radeon HD 4870]
and driver download and install meet this error:
Quote
Check if system has the tools required for installation.
fglrx installation requires that the system have kernel headers.  /lib/modules/3.2.22/build/include/linux/version.h cannot be found on this system.
One or more tools required for installation cannot be found on the system. Install the required tools before installing the fglrx driver.
Optionally, run the installer with --force option to install without the tools.
Forcing install will disable AMD hardware acceleration and may make your system unstable. Not recommended.