VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Networking & Security => Topic started by: Trio3b on January 08, 2013, 03:40:17 pm

Title: VL7.0 STD - unprivileged user cannot launch wicd
Post by: Trio3b on January 08, 2013, 03:40:17 pm
VL7.0 std-gold-live on Thinkpad T20 with no onboard wireless. Using netgear USB wl adapter which has drivers in kernel. Immediately after a fresh installation I can get the adapter wireless working . lsusb, ifconfig,iwconfig, wicd all fine and connected and able to surf.

OK, Read VL wireless sticky above and at wikis and how tos ( chap 6 ). All seems well when wicd is working however the how tos are very general concerning vasm wirelss networking.

I have not documented but it seems if I change a USB wl adapter ( i have several netgearWG111 which work fine) or change to different network ( home, library) then upon new login, error comes up " wicd canot connect to dbus" and wicd will not launch. I have tried every combination in vasm wl networking but am pretty lost with differences betweeen add inet, add connection, add essid. Device is seen in lsusb but maybe not in ifconfig or iwconfig unless I delete all inets, connections, essid, everything in vasm. Then I can muck around in VASM and wicd will launch and all is well again until the next time.

Probably doing something wrong but am setting this thinkpad up for someone who will be using it at various locations. Will give them one of the netgear wl USB adapters so we shouldn't have problem with different devices, but still want to know how it all works. Am I missing something or is there a good tutorial on the finer points of VASM wl networking?

Any help appreciated.
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 08, 2013, 04:02:48 pm
Actually the problem sounds more like udev rules creating
a problem. Not wicd.

Udev is what will load the modules (drivers).

I did not see a mention of wether you did a udev refresh or
a restart.

Using one device will reduce the roaming issues.

Bigpaws
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 08, 2013, 10:33:19 pm
Am on the hunt for a good distro for older gear and had good luck since VL3-4 days but gave it up for a while. ( Using PCLOS and Magei KDE spins on daily drivers  for quite a while now),  but for older gear VL seems to be the only decent distro with modern browser and desktop for older gear but this wireless thing has got to be sorted before I proceed.

Well, considering some of the issues in another thread with adding users to the live install and wl issues with VL7.0 live I took a reommendation and gave VL7.0 std a shot on this Thinkpad T20 and now netgear wl USB adapter is not detected at all by vasm following all stickies and how tos.

lsusb shows adapter, but following directions going to init 2 then vasm hdwr config then back to init 4 and checking /etc/modprobe.conf, device is not seen.

Just booted live and Both live and install use kernel 3.0.2 and both show the following:

modprobe shows RTL8187B not found
lsmod shows  module RTL8187 used by "0"

Although live detects the adapter on boot and install version does not.

So, this netgear WG111 wl USB adapter works on other distros and on VL7.0 Live and has been in kernel since 2.6.27 but still receive error "wicd cannot connect to dbus ".

Any ideas from here how to check if  udev/hal or permissions are causing this issue?

Thanks
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 06:53:02 am
Why are you switching run levels?

Anything involving most devices will not require changing run levels.

Moving from VASM to wicd can cause problems.

The rtl8187b modules should load automagically, and therefore the
only other thing that should be needed is to configure the network settings.
That is handled by wicd.

Wireless problems are created by the wireless manufacturers. They change
chipsets on the same model, with the only indication of a change being the
version number.

Most wireless devices work out of the box, without intervention. If you can
post the wireless cards name, make and version number, more specific
help can be given.

As far as roaming. That too should be an easy situation. Take laptop to
place. Start laptop, in the task manager click on wicd. wicd starts, browse
for a network, set it up and all is well.

If wicd is not running (which maybe the problem) then you would get an
error about the wicd daemon.

To check that. Open a terminal, and type:

ls -la /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd

making sure that it is executable. Normally it should already be done.

Use lsmod before making any changes.

You are showing that the module is loaded. So either any module has control
of the card, or the card is not started.

There are alot of things to troubleshoot, and several areas to start.

There are differences in VL Live and VL Std. They are not the same. So
problems on live are not usually part of STD.

We can start troubleshooting from the beginning.

Reinstall VL 7.0 STD.  Then insert the card or start with the card inserted
before starting.

Use wicd for the wireless. If that fails post the name, make and version number
of the failed card.

Then proceed from there.

HTH

Bigpaews

Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 08:03:46 am
Why are you switching run levels?



Anything involving most devices will not require changing run levels.

Moving from VASM to wicd can cause problems. 

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=1282.0

Quote
The rtl8187b modules should load automagically, and therefore the
only other thing that should be needed is to configure the network settings.
That is handled by wicd.

Wireless problems are created by the wireless manufacturers. They change
chipsets on the same model, with the only indication of a change being the
version number.

Most wireless devices work out of the box, without intervention. If you can
post the wireless cards name, make and version number, more specific
help can be given.

As far as roaming. That too should be an easy situation. Take laptop to
place. Start laptop, in the task manager click on wicd. wicd starts, browse
for a network, set it up and all is well.

If wicd is not running (which maybe the problem) then you would get an
error about the wicd daemon.

yes that's the problem - no wicd

Quote
To check that. Open a terminal, and type:

ls -la /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd

making sure that it is executable. Normally it should already be done.

Use lsmod before making any changes.

You are showing that the module is loaded. So either any module has control
of the card, or the card is not started.

There are alot of things to troubleshoot, and several areas to start.

There are differences in VL Live and VL Std. They are not the same. So
problems on live are not usually part of STD.

We can start troubleshooting from the beginning.

Quote
Reinstall VL 7.0 STD.  Then insert the card or start with the card inserted
before starting. ]/quote]

just did that

[quoteUse wicd for the wireless. If that fails post the name, make and version number
of the failed card.

These are all netgear WG111v3 USB adapters which everyone has used with no problems for months .
lsusb shows as dev ID 0846:4260 netgear (realtek 8187) Wicd seems to work fine when it is runnng. During boot wicd shows as "ok"




Thanks
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 09:26:53 am
That link you refered to is deprecated for VL 7.0
I agree it is misleading for VL 5.0 and above.
There have been many changes from 6 years ago.

Open a console as root type:

ps x  | grep wicd

(The above will test if the wicd daemon is running)

then type:

ifconfig

This will list the interfaces available.
Post the results.

Bigpaws
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 02:56:53 pm
ps x  | grep wicd


returns
2583 ?     S   0:02 /usr/bin/python -0 /usr/share/wicd/gtk/wicd-client.py
2795 pts/0    0:00 grep wicd



ifconfig returns only eth0 and lo

Thanks



Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 04:02:32 pm
Also there seem to be no error messages or configuration files in :

~/.wicd     none
/etc/wicd   there is a dhclient.conf.template.default file but recommends to change dhclient.conf.default of which there is none in this dir
/var/lib/wicd/configurations   none


Where the wicd error message says to look, howerver there is one in /var/log/wicd  but too long to list here until I either fire up eth0 on Thinkpad ( which have not done yet or sneaker net to another machine to post here.)

The second line in this wicd.log claims " did not find backend in configuration, setting default external"

Then continues with Traceback info... and last line:

typeError: decode() argument 1 must be string, not NONE


Logged into root GUI and  wicd runs fine . Then created new user but same problem so maybe permissions or misconfigured conf file.

led is now on USB adapter after launching wicd as root.

Hope this helps
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 05:32:33 pm
There are two problems.

Test this first:

Open a terminal and as root type:

tail -f /var/log/messages

Then plug the USB device in watch the messages.

If that works then in the same terminal:

ifconfig

If there is nothing more than eth0 and l0
then try this

modprobe rtl8187

Now try:

ifconfig wlan0 up

Now cehck ifconfig again.

Let's get the card working first.

Bigpaws
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 06:14:39 pm
OK, logged in as GUI user but in terminal AS ROOT (with those commands) card led comes on and wlan0 shows in ifconfig but of course since I am logged in as GUI user, wicd returns the error when launched from menu.


I did find the print error "Could not connect to wicd's DBus...." message in line 936 of file wicd-client.py of /usr/share/wicd/gtk/. I know this is not the problem but it apparently is issued when there is a DBusException according to the code in that file.

As mentioned wicd and card work as root GUI  

1. When added new user options came up to let user have access to netdev.How do I check that for original user? didn't see option in vasm (create new user) to check existing user access to services.
2. Is it possible that the live version gives user "vl" access to these services?
3. Why are many of the user wicd.config related files (in various locations) empty or non existent?


Thanks
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 08:45:46 pm
OK, if I log into user GUI, then open terminal and execute as ROOT wicd, card fires up, but launching wicd from user GUI menu I get error.

But if I exit out of root and still in terminal I execute as user "wicd-client" , then wicd interface comes up and networks shown and can connect with adapter.

since I have to start wicd as root during a session, does this mean wicd daemon is not starting at boot?

Hope this helps
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 09:40:57 pm
I am confused.

I am seeing Live, STD different times, which adds to the confusion.

So if you start VL STD and then login as a normal user and then
use a terminal and as root try using wicd. Then log out a normal user
can use wicd.

That would mean that wicd daemon is not starting. Can you as
root in a terminal type:

ls -la /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd

and post the output. It is possible that wicd is not executable which
would create these problems.

Bigpaws

Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 10:01:59 pm
I am confused.

I am seeing Live, STD different times, which adds to the confusion.

Soryy just was comparing files. We  are working on std install not the live version

Quote
So if you start VL STD and then login as a normal user and then
use a terminal and as root try using wicd. Then log out a normal user
can use wicd.

 OK, if I log into normal user GUI, then open terminal and execute as ROOT wicd, card fires up (LED comes on), then minimize terminal and  try to launch GUI wicd from user GUI menu I get the dbus error.

But if I maximize same terminal, then exit out of root, then I execute  "wicd-client" as user still in same terminal , then I can launch wicd GUI from GUI menu, wicd GUI interface comes up and networks shown and can connect with adapter as normal user with wicd GUI interface.

Quote
That would mean that wicd daemon is not starting. Can you as
root in a terminal type:

ls -la /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd

and post the output. It is possible that wicd is not executable which
would create these problems.

returns:
 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1087 Sep 26 2011 /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd*


Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 10:07:05 pm
Have you tried issuing the command wicd-client
as a normal user before trying anything as root?

Bigpaws
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 10:12:52 pm
Yes:

Notifications support True
connecting ...cant connect, trying automatic
sudo: sorry a password is required to run sudo
wicd d shutting down
display True
done loading


Where did sudo come from?

Thanks
Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 09, 2013, 10:18:35 pm
Can you try this:

Restart the computer.

Open a terminal as a normal user and type:

wicd-client > wicd_test.txt

Then post the file.txt on pastebin or something like that.

Bigpaws

Title: Re: using different wl devices on various networks - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 09, 2013, 10:21:44 pm

oops sorry thought it was going to be big output.

In terminal as normal user That returns:

sudo: sorry a password is required to run sudo and GUI warning about dbus mssg comes up

OK  calling it quits for now.

Thank you

[UPDATE] Bad news . Was reading other forums about reinstalling or rolling back wicd so looked into gslapt and saw

wicd - not installed
wicd-bzr - not installed
wicd-bzr- installed

So removed wicd-bzr and installed wicd and now cannot connect wired or wireless either as root or user. Now starting wicd daemon or wicd-client from either terminal or GUI returns dbus error. this happens either as root or normal user. Looks like a reinstall to get back to where we were unless you have any other ideas.

I have been reading about some *.py and or *gtk wicd related files causing the problems I was having before. Maybe that's why I could launch from the terminal but not the GUI interface. Will post back after the reinstall. I think that's the quickest way to get back to where we were before.
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 10, 2013, 08:33:32 pm
OK, back with fresh install Vl7.0 STD and complete upgrade thinking some upgrade would help.

Same problem. wicd must be started as root in norma user terminal then wicd GUI works and am able to connect. Then in same terminal I "wicd stop" but led flashes and then relights and am still connected. Something controlling the wicd daemon is not working. Reboots do not start wicd although during bootsplash after loading modules "wicd OK".

But after normal user login have to open term and launch wicd as root then all ok.

hope this give some info.
Thanks


ps Is there another network manager I can try?

[UPDATE} OK tried adding new user "user02" just to compare stuff. I gave user02 all privileges via vasm but still same dbus error. Then logged out and back in as root and  tried to delete user02 via vasm and terminal but it fails saying user02 logged in.
Then tried same thing to delete original user01 both via vasm and terminal and again fails saying "user01 logged in".
This can't be right. somethings up. If several users are logged in together this could be confusing wicd daemon?

 wicd daemon not being loaded at boot (adapter led not on ) Remember, if I log in as root GUI, adapter LED is off,  but I can launch wicd via GUI, LED kicks in then I can launch wicd via GUI and interface comes up and i can connect.

the .iso md5sum checks out good. Maybe a bad burn?

HTH



Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 11, 2013, 08:44:56 am
Something is wrong.

Did you install using the livecd or this download:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-release/VL7.0-STD-GOLD.iso (http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-release/VL7.0-STD-GOLD.iso)

Can you check the MD5 sum to make sure the download is
good.

There are two other options for a network manager.
Either VASM-Legacy (iirc) and doing it by hand.

The wicd-daemon is purely a script. It is not controlled by anything
else. It uses events to trigger an action.

The root GUI I do not understand.

Perhaps you are trying to use Windows experience to solve Linux problems.
That can create alot of problems. They are two different operating systems.

We can start from the beginning.

Reload the system. Only create root and one user. Do not do anything
else.

Normally wicd is already running without any need to do anything.

It is the two computer icon at the top of the screen.

After that post back.

If wicd is not starting then we can fix it in a matter of two to three steps and
there should not be any other problems.

Bigpaws
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 11, 2013, 09:25:06 am
Quote
Something is wrong.

Did you install using the livecd or this download:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-release/VL7.0-STD-GOLD.iso (http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.0/iso-release/VL7.0-STD-GOLD.iso)


Can you check the MD5 sum to make sure the download is
good.
 


yes using that version.Yes md5sum is good


Quote
The root GUI I do not understand.

Meaning at login I enter "root" and password and am logged into root's GUI interface. Sorry about confusion, but wicd was behaving differently depending on whether I was logged in as root using it's own GUI interface or whether I was logged in as normal user  in a root terminal.

Quote
We can start from the beginning.

Reload the system. Only create root and one user. Do not do anything
else.Normally wicd is already running without any need to do anything.

OK , will do since I created two users.  BTW, this is a tiny hard drive (6.4g) so

1. maybe I should just allow / and /home on one large partition and swap at the end? Or should I leave  Current install on 4.2g for /, 500mb swap and 1.5g for /home. Was just going to instruct user to use thumbdrive for extra storage. (Generally install using more RAM then downgrade the RAM after install as older sdram for this Thinkpad is scarce around here, but VL7.0 was running fine on 384mb as confirmed by docs).

2. best filesystem- ext3/4 because installer default wants reiser i believe?

Thanks
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 11, 2013, 09:49:27 am
This should be very easy to fix.  No matter where you are (GUI or Text mode)

1. Get a terminal shell (Terminal application in gui mode)
2. issue the command `/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd restart` (if this produces an error, post it here)
3. open another another terminal (in gui mode) and issue the command `wicd-client` (again if this produces an error, post it here)

At the very least, you should have a tray icon at this point.  If true, then wicd is working fine and your problem lies somewhere else.
Please post your results, we can help you automatically do this on boot if this is the case.
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: bigpaws on January 11, 2013, 09:52:56 am
I use reiserfs myself.

Ext3 is proven Ext4 is the newest.

Using a normal login and the using su is not that same as
logging in a root and then using a terminal.

The better reference when there are differences would.

If I login as a normal user and  use su I get one result.
If I log in as root and then use the terminal I get the other result.

Are you giving different permissions to users then using the default
settings when creating a user?

Also use quote and reply below the quote box so it is easier to see

Bigpaws
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 11, 2013, 10:07:52 am
I use reiserfs myself.

Ext3 is proven Ext4 is the newest.
OK
Quote
Using a normal login and the using su is not that same as
logging in a root and then using a terminal.

The better reference when there are differences would.

If I login as a normal user and  use su I get one result.
If I log in as root and then use the terminal I get the other result.

Yes, I understand. Wicd was behaving differently under the descriptions you describe. I will try to keep those descriptions sorted out better.
Quote
Are you giving different permissions to users then using the default
settings when creating a user?
Good question. I don't remember. There is a portion during install requesting user access to inet-superserver, samba, fuse, etc. I will just accept defaults
Quote
Also use quote and reply below the quote box so it is easier to see
Sorry, I think I fixed that.

Thanks
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 11, 2013, 07:53:20 pm
Ok fresh install ( this time on T22 which is almost same hdwr but with slightly bigger drive)
Created one user only

This should be very easy to fix.  No matter where you are (GUI or Text mode)

1. Get a terminal shell (Terminal application in gui mode)
2. issue the command `/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd restart` (if this produces an error, post it here)

Stopping wicd daemon..
Wicd appears to already be running
If this is not the case, then remove /var/run/wicd/wicd.pid and try again

Quote
3. open another another terminal (in gui mode) and issue the command `wicd-client` (again if this produces an error, post it here)

Has notoficatins support True
Loading..
Can't connect to the daemon, trying automatic
sudo: sorry a password is required to run sudo
wicd is shutting down

And then the GUI popup  - Could not connect to wicd;s D-Bus interface. Check wicd log



Quote
At the very least, you should have a tray icon at this point.  If true, then wicd is working fine and your problem lies somewhere else.
Please post your results, we can help you automatically do this on boot if this is the case.

Yes there is a tray icon but does not launch
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 12, 2013, 05:14:10 am
you should be starting the daemon as root.  the tray icon should be started as unprivileged user.
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 12, 2013, 09:34:03 am
MOE-lnx, you are correct that wicd must be launched as root, but from the user perspective here's what I will have to teach several people
who are not pc savvy. ( as I am donating these laptops.)

OK, hope this makes sense. Now with only root and one user01 account created .

1. If I start laptop from off and log into normal user01 and let GUI load, USB adapter LED is OFF,   and I have wicd in menu and tray but launching from either gives "could not connect" popup. So then close popups and launch a root terminal , start wicd, then close terminal, then USB adpter LED kicks in, and  I can launch wicd from normal's GUI tray or menu. (Yes, I could teach them to reopen normal terminal and enter "wicd-client" ).

2. But if I start laptop from off, then log in as root, and let root's GUI load and WITHOUT TERMINAL just launch wicd from either tray or menu., adapter LED kicks on, wicd works and I can connect. AND if I log out ( not shut down) and log back in as normal/unprivileged  user01, then adapter remains on (presumably b/c it has been launched in root's previous session) , wicd is in tray and menu and I can launch and use wicd as normal user.

So either way wicd is being launched as root and if so, should probably teach procedure (1) so as not to leave them in root's GUI session.

wicd-daemon may be loading at boot,  but without that LED on, I know either wicd or the rtl 8187 module has not accessed it until root launches it either way as you say.  The reason I say is b/c pclos lxde lights that led during boot even before login and user can launch network manager from his/her own GUI (if given permissions during network setup).


1. Isn't there some script or conf file way to give allow normal/unprivileged user permissions to launch wicd  from his own GUI interface?


Thanks

BTW @bigpaws:

Haven't used Windows in 7-8 years but new to VL . Sorry, got spoiled by mandriva/pclos/mageia control center. Blame them!



Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 12, 2013, 10:27:15 am
In that case, edit your /etc/rc.d/rc.local and ads this line
/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start &

reboot
your wifi adaptors led lights ahould be on if it is plugged in as it boots.
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - wicd loses dbus connection
Post by: Trio3b on January 12, 2013, 01:34:35 pm
In that case, edit your /etc/rc.d/rc.local and ads this line
/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start &

reboot
your wifi adaptors led lights ahould be on if it is plugged in as it boots.

Ok,  now  log into root's GUI, then adpater LED  and tray icon come up together and can connect fine. Whereas before, I had had to click on tray icon, THEN LED came on and all was fine.

But logging into user01 GUI from laptop OFF I still receive "could not connect to wicd dbus" error popup.

Now, I just realized VL7 requires 5 gb / partition ( I was reading VL6 install guide which requires 3gb for /) . I am running about 4.8gb for /  on this tiny drive. I noticed after adding the line you suggested that I could not login to user01 with popup " GDM ..your session only lasted 10 seconds..." , but I could login to root GUI and all fine. Then deleted some apps to free up some room on / and all was back normal and able to log into user01.

I do notice that in /etc/rc.d there are numerous files that appear network related that are NOT executable, I can post if necessary.

1.  Maybe running this requires additional tmp room on / or /home partition that is just not available .
2. There is still something in user01 conf files that shuts down wicd when called upon.
3. I may try reinstall giving / partition all 5gb with swap which will leave about 500mb for /ome and they will just have to use thumbdrive for extra files. or I may partition using one large partition for / and /home and a little swap at the end.

 I think we're on the right track but I just don't have access to any larger drives. Am donating about 15-20 lappys and desktops trying to spread Linux and XFCE and lxde seem to be the only DE where the UI is somewhat relateable to the average user. Of course KDE/GNOME are too heavy for this hdwr although KDE3 ran fine until they loaded it up with all that #%@^!?@#.

[UPDATE] Here are some threads on user not being able to use wicd possibly related to xfce4-notifyd or needing to be member of netdev group, but user01 is in there (/etc/group -> netdev:x:86:user01). Considering the links below it seems option 2 above is likely.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/wicd/+bug/677304
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=108666
http://wicd.sourceforge.net/punbb/viewtopic.php?id=484
https://bugs.mageia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3521 -> comment #9 discusses dropping wicd from new releases

Thanks for all your help.
Title: Re: VL7.0 STD - unprivileged user cannot launch wicd
Post by: Trio3b on February 15, 2013, 06:55:40 pm
Bump..

 VL 7.0 std-gold live on a little HP mini does allow both accounts "vl" and "user" to launch wicd.

Just wondering if anyone has any ideas in what config files to look to compare why wicd is launchable by unpriveleged user on the mini but not the ThinkPad T21 running VL 7.0 std-gold.

 Of course the T21 uses USB wifi adapter and the hp mini uses onboard.

Thoughts?

Thanks