VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Networking & Security => Topic started by: anoveskey on February 02, 2013, 09:27:54 pm

Title: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 02, 2013, 09:27:54 pm
Hi!

I am attempting to get my Dell desktop connected to the internet running Vector Linux. It is connected via CAT-5 cable, but when I attempt to connect using Wicd Network Manager, I get "Connection Failed: Unable to Get IP Address."

I have also checked my Windows laptop ability to connect via CAT-5 and it works, so I know the problem is not the router or the cable.

In addition, the Kernel IP routing table does not show any entries aside from the loopback address.

ifconfig shows eth0 and lo, but eth0 shows no packets sent, received or dropped.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: hata_ph on February 02, 2013, 11:52:34 pm
show us the output of

Quote
lspci
lsmod
ifconfig
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: bigpaws on February 03, 2013, 08:45:07 am
Since  you have eth0.

Open a terminal (console) the use su
enter root password.

Now use this command:

dhcpcd

If there is an error about there already being a pid then you need
to kill it using this command:

kill -9 "the process number her"

NOTE: that will be a number and do not use the quotes.

Then try the first command again

After that try:

ping -c 3 yahoo.com


If that works then the problem lies with Wicd. If there is
no response from the ping then please post the output
from:

ifconfig -a

Bigpaws
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 05, 2013, 09:41:36 pm
Sorry it took me so long to reply. I had to transfer the text files from VL to my Windows machine (which is connected to the internet) and I had to edit all the dead space out of the original files. Here is the output info you requested.

lspci:
Code: [Select]
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82925X/XE Memory Controller Hub (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82925X/XE PCI Express Root Port (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev d3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FR (ICH6/ICH6R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801FR/FRW (ICH6R/ICH6RW) SATA Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R423 5F57 [Radeon X800XT (PCIE)]
01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc R423 5F57 [Radeon X800XT (PCIE)] (Secondary)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5751 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 01)
04:01.0 Multimedia controller: ATI Technologies Inc Theater 550 PRO PCI [ATI TV Wonder 550]
04:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
04:02.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 04)
04:02.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04)

lsmod:
Code: [Select]
Module                  Size  Used by
fuse                    51559 3
bluetooth          58691  0
rfkill                    10898  1
bluetooth
ipt_REJECT                  1622  1
ipt_LOG                     5161  1
xt_limit                      1116 2
xt_tcpudp                      1734  8
xt_addrtype                            1397 4
xt_state                                  867  6
nf_conntrack_pptp                        3325  0
nf_conntrack_proto_gre        2654  1
nf_conntrack_pptp
nf_conntrack_netbios_ns        705  0
nf_conntrack_broadcast          833  1
nf_conntrack_netbios_ns
nf_nat_irc                             966 0
nf_conntrack_irc                       2399  1
nf_nat_irc
nf_nat_ftp                1148  0
nf_nat                     10655  2
nf_nat_irc,nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ipv4          8132  8
nf_nat
nf_defrag_ipv4                931  1
nf_conntrack_ipv4
nf_conntrack_ftp          4113  1
nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack            37076  11 xt_state,nf_conntrack_pptp,
nf_conntrack_proto_gre,
nf_conntrack_netbios_ns,
nf_conntrack_broadcast,
nf_nat_irc,
nf_conntrack_irc,
nf_nat_ftp,
nf_nat,
nf_conntrack_ipv4,
nf_conntrack_ftp
iptable_filter                    1020 1
ip_tables                  7949  1
iptable_filter
x_tables                    9772  8 ipt_REJECT,
ipt_LOG,
xt_limit,
xt_tcpudp,
xt_addrtype,
xt_state,
iptable_filter,
ip_tables
snd_seq_dummy              1035  0
snd_seq_oss                       21907  0
snd_seq_midi_event        3924  1
snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                36499  5
snd_seq_dummy,
snd_seq_oss,
snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss            28741  0
snd_mixer_oss          10545  2
snd_pcm_oss
p4_clockmod                2372  0
speedstep_lib              2558  1
p4_clockmod
freq_table                1763  1
p4_clockmod
mperf                              937  0
lm63                       4303  0
snd_emu10k1            109231  3
snd_rawmidi              13181  1
snd_emu10k1
snd_ac97_codec            80849  1
snd_emu10k1
radeon                588751  2
ac97_bus                        774  1
snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                  48666  3
snd_pcm_oss,
snd_emu10k1,
snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_device              3853  5 snd_seq_dummy,
snd_seq_oss,
snd_seq,
snd_emu10k1,
snd_rawmidi
ttm                       39995  1
radeon
snd_timer                 12858  3
snd_seq,
snd_emu10k1,
snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc                5143  2
snd_emu10k1,
snd_pcm
drm_kms_helper              18228  1
radeon
snd_util_mem                  1572  1
snd_emu10k1
snd_hwdep                      4128  1
snd_emu10k1
drm                      128651  4
radeon,
ttm,
drm_kms_helper
snd                        36298   15 snd_seq_oss,
snd_seq,
snd_pcm_oss,
snd_mixer_oss,
snd_emu10k1,
snd_rawmidi,
snd_ac97_codec,
snd_pcm,
snd_seq_device,
snd_timer,
snd_hwdep
processor                21842  0
ppdev                        4251  0
soundcore                    3736  2
snd
sg                        18020  0
thermal_sys                  9985  1
processor
parport_pc                16387  0
agpgart                  19211  2
ttm,
drm
dcdbas                      3880  0
emu10k1_gp                  1386  0
parport                  21892  2
ppdev,
parport_pc
i2c_i801                    6330  0
button                      3510  0
gameport                    5776  2
emu10k1_gp
rtc_cmos                      6673  0
i2c_algo_bit                3718  1
radeon
tg3                    104518  0
hwmon                        1093  3
lm63,
radeon,
thermal_sys
i2c_core                  13898  6
lm63,
radeon,
drm_kms_helper,
drm,
i2c_i801,
i2c_algo_bit
evdev                         6626  4
libphy                     12274  1
tg3

and finally, ifconfig:
Code: [Select]
eth0     
        Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:11:BF:46:7A   
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:16

lo       
        Link encap:Local Loopback   
inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
RX packets:593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:48320 (47.1 Kb)  TX bytes:48320 (47.1 Kb)

I feel I should also mention this is the SECOND Linux based OS I have tried running on this box. The previous was Ubuntu Server 11.10. I also had difficulty with that, which is part of the reason that I switched to Vector. I thought having a GUI would make troubleshooting the network a little easier. Shows what I know.  :-[
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: hata_ph on February 06, 2013, 03:50:07 am
tg3 is loaded for your broadcom NIC...it should work...

have u try run dhcpcd as root in a terminal?
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 08, 2013, 08:57:09 pm
Yup, here is what I got:

Code: [Select]
dhcpcd[3185]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[3185]: eth0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[3185]: timed out
dhcpcd[3185]: forked to background, child pid 3204

I wanted to say thanks again for the help, and sorry its taking me so long to reply to each of these posts. I'm not running Linux on my regular computer so I have to set it up and tear it down every time I use it until I figure things out.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: hata_ph on February 09, 2013, 12:11:57 am
Just want to double check is your DHCP server/router working?
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: nightflier on February 09, 2013, 07:59:27 am
This reminds me of a problem I used to have in a hotel. For some reason, I had to bring up eth0 without dhcp, wait a minute or so, then request an IP address. I wrote a little script that killed wicd, brought eth0 down, then back up, waited 90 seconds, then launched dhcpcd. It's a long shot, but who knows?
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 09, 2013, 09:17:02 am
Just want to double check is your DHCP server/router working?

I'm not sure. Is there a command I can use to check that? My apologies, I really am a newbie.  :-[
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: nightflier on February 09, 2013, 11:23:28 am
I have also checked my Windows laptop ability to connect via CAT-5 and it works

If your windows settings are to "automatically obtain IP address", then that is a good test of your DHCP server.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 09, 2013, 11:31:11 am
The DHCP on my router is working. I have two laptops running Windows (XP and 7, respectively) on the same network and they connect just fine.

Still can't get the Linux box to connect.  :(
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: sledgehammer on February 09, 2013, 02:39:24 pm
anoveskey

It must be related to your use of windows and linux on the same machine.  I have loaded linux (only) (lilo boot loader) on hundreds of machines without experiencing any such problem so long as the hardware, including the wire, is ok.  Just load VL, plug in wire, boot, and its connected.  I also find that I don't miss windows. 
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 09, 2013, 02:42:18 pm
anoveskey

It must be related to your use of windows and linux on the same machine.  I have loaded linux (only) (lilo boot loader) on hundreds of machines without experiencing any such problem so long as the hardware, including the wire, is ok.  Just load VL, plug in wire, boot, and its connected.  I also find that I don't miss windows. 

I'm not running Windows on the Linux Box. It is a dedicated tower - no VM at all.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: retired1af on February 09, 2013, 03:49:59 pm
anoveskey

It must be related to your use of windows and linux on the same machine.  I have loaded linux (only) (lilo boot loader) on hundreds of machines without experiencing any such problem so long as the hardware, including the wire, is ok.  Just load VL, plug in wire, boot, and its connected.  I also find that I don't miss windows. 

There's absolutely no way that a Windows installation would affect the NIC use on a Linux install. None.

Anoceskey, can you post the contents of your /etc/resolv.conf file please.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 09, 2013, 04:57:01 pm
anoveskey

It must be related to your use of windows and linux on the same machine.  I have loaded linux (only) (lilo boot loader) on hundreds of machines without experiencing any such problem so long as the hardware, including the wire, is ok.  Just load VL, plug in wire, boot, and its connected.  I also find that I don't miss windows. 

There's absolutely no way that a Windows installation would affect the NIC use on a Linux install. None.

Anoceskey, can you post the contents of your /etc/resolv.conf file please.

Not much to report sadly:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by dhcpcd
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: sledgehammer on February 09, 2013, 09:12:49 pm
anoveskey

Quote
I'm not running Windows on the Linux Box. It is a dedicated tower - no VM at all.

Sorry.  I should have paid more attention to your first email. 

I am curious.  How are you loading linux? 

I download VL 7 from the vector site, burn it to a CD, put the CD into the computer, make sure it boots to the CD drive, and then follow the directions.  I normally don't have it connected to the internet during the install.  Then I take the CD out, connect the internet wire, and reboot.  First reboot sets up a few more things (I accept the defaults) and then, after it brings up the GUI, reboot again.  I am generally on the internet at that time, though if I recall, sometimes I have to click on the wicd icon and tell it to connect.  Sometimes I have to click on the down arrow at the upper right of the wicd screen,  choose "preferences" and set the wired interface to eth0 or eth1 (can't recall).  If this doesn't work, I assume its a hardware problem and try another card.  Occasionally, since I am always loading on used machines, I find there are two internet jacks on the machine, one of which doesn't work.  If so I use whichever one works.

good luck.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 09, 2013, 11:15:33 pm
anoveskey

Quote
I'm not running Windows on the Linux Box. It is a dedicated tower - no VM at all.

Sorry.  I should have paid more attention to your first email. 

I am curious.  How are you loading linux? 

I download VL 7 from the vector site, burn it to a CD, put the CD into the computer, make sure it boots to the CD drive, and then follow the directions.  I normally don't have it connected to the internet during the install.  Then I take the CD out, connect the internet wire, and reboot.  First reboot sets up a few more things (I accept the defaults) and then, after it brings up the GUI, reboot again.  I am generally on the internet at that time, though if I recall, sometimes I have to click on the wicd icon and tell it to connect.  Sometimes I have to click on the down arrow at the upper right of the wicd screen,  choose "preferences" and set the wired interface to eth0 or eth1 (can't recall).  If this doesn't work, I assume its a hardware problem and try another card.  Occasionally, since I am always loading on used machines, I find there are two internet jacks on the machine, one of which doesn't work.  If so I use whichever one works.

good luck.

No worries.

I pretty much did the same thing you did. I installed the OS from the .iso and made sure it would boot up without the disk in the drive. From there, I brought it into my living room to hook it up to the router (the tower doesn't have a wireless card or wireless adapter). From there, I have attempted to use WICD to connect it to the router, but I haven't had any luck. This is a used machine as well, but before I installed Linux on it, the NIC connected to my router with no problems.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: hata_ph on February 10, 2013, 02:11:50 am
This reminds me of a problem I used to have in a hotel. For some reason, I had to bring up eth0 without dhcp, wait a minute or so, then request an IP address. I wrote a little script that killed wicd, brought eth0 down, then back up, waited 90 seconds, then launched dhcpcd. It's a long shot, but who knows?

Pls share the scripts :P
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: retired1af on February 10, 2013, 05:20:59 am
Not much to report sadly:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by dhcpcd
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line

Bingo! Start VASM, Select SUPER, Network, Name, and then provide a hostname and then provide the IP address to your router. Things should start working at that point.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: nightflier on February 10, 2013, 07:08:18 am
Pls share the scripts :P

This may not work the same in VL7, but you'll get the idea. Run as root:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
killall wicd-client
/etc/rc.d/rc.wicd stop
ifconfig eth0 down
sleep 1
ifconfig eth0 up
sleep 90
dhcpcd eth0

Quote
Bingo! Start VASM, Select SUPER, Network, Name, and then provide a hostname and then provide the IP address to your router. Things should start working at that point.
That is a good approach. However, it may end up fighting wicd. You can try using manual settings in wicd;
left-click the wicd icon on the panel.
Click the "Properties" button for the wired network.
Check the box for "Static IP".
Enter the IP address for your VL machine (192.168.1.xxx or similar, you gotta figure that out).
When you continue, it will suggest the next values:
Netmask "255.255.255.0" and the IP address of your router (possibly 192.168.1.1).
The next required item is "DNS 1", you can use the free Google server "8.8.8.8".
Click "OK"
Click the "Connect" button for the interface.

Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 10, 2013, 11:52:39 am
Not much to report sadly:
Code: [Select]
# Generated by dhcpcd
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
# /etc/resolv.conf.tail can replace this line

Bingo! Start VASM, Select SUPER, Network, Name, and then provide a hostname and then provide the IP address to your router. Things should start working at that point.

I used VASM to try to correct the issues with the network, but no such luck. I couldn't find an option for SUPER (which I assume is the user class), no networks were listed. I did set a hostname for the tower, and the IP address of the router to get the DNS.

I should also mention - and remember I'm new to Linux - I tried to stop and start the NIC to see if that would help. After some quick googling, I discovered I should use the command

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/network stop eth0
/etc/init.d/network start eth0

When I type either one of these lines, I get

Code: [Select]
/etc/init.d/network: No such file or directory
Is that significant?
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: retired1af on February 10, 2013, 02:05:28 pm
Are you logged in as root? If so, why?
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 10, 2013, 02:09:42 pm
Are you logged in as root? If so, why?

Yes. Is that a problem? I haven't set up any other user accounts since I would be the only one running the system.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: sledgehammer on February 10, 2013, 08:09:56 pm
anoveskey

This may have been asked and answered, but, with Wicd loaded, what does the gui show in the blank in Preferences after "Wired interface"? 

John
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on February 11, 2013, 09:36:17 am
anoveskey

This may have been asked and answered, but, with Wicd loaded, what does the gui show in the blank in Preferences after "Wired interface"? 

John

eth0
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: sledgehammer on February 11, 2013, 11:21:30 am
I don't know how to fix your problem.  I know what I would do in that situation.  I would borrow a card from another machine,  put it into one of the slots on your machine and see if that worked.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: nightflier on February 11, 2013, 05:51:37 pm
Don't give up without trying manual configuration. See my directions above.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: overthere on February 15, 2013, 02:47:06 am
Quote
Yes. Is that a problem? I haven't set up any other user accounts since I would be the only one running the system.

If this is not a problem it may be later. it is common in linux to run as a user and do less in root except where required to maintain the system. this is one of the reasons linux is more secure. there are linux that run in root mode but are designed to do so, I think puppy linux is one, Vector is designed for user with root access for administration so vasm would require the root password for access. If you are root then you would not see super as an option and could just run vasm. user mode will give access to vasm with fewer options.

you could create a new user and try wicd but I just wanted to point out that it is common practice to run as a user for daily use.

Cheers
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: retired1af on February 15, 2013, 03:51:03 am
The reason you don't run as root is more than just security. When you run as root all the time, you run the risk of borking your installation with one slip of the keyboard. User accounts can't do that unless you really work at it.

Just because Windows does it, doesn't mean it's a good idea to carry that practice over to Linux. Get into the habit of running as a user and use "su" to do things to the system when they need to be done.
Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: anoveskey on April 13, 2013, 08:36:51 pm
After taking a break and trying again, I still ran into the same problems.

I decided to try replacing the NIC card to see if that would work. Apparently the card is installed (typing lspci shows it to be listed), but When I attempt to connect to my home network, I still get "Unable to obtain an IP address."

I think the problem is that ifconfig does not list the new card. It only shows eth0 and lo. All the online forums I find say to edit a file in a directory that is not in my version of Linux.

Sorry to keep bugging everyone with this, but I feel fairly helpless at the moment.  ???

Title: Re: network connection difficulty - newbie
Post by: bigpaws on April 13, 2013, 09:52:05 pm
The reason only one ethernet card shows up is that you did not enable the
second one. That is a default setup.

Generally speaking ethernet just works. The only time I have had to
do any intervention was a wrong module (driver) loaded. This may
be your problem.

Please list the ethernet cards ( You can use lspci as root for this info)
name, make and model number.

To enable the second ethernet card as root type:
iconfig eth1 up

Now test by looking at ifconfig again you should see
lo
eth0
eth1

You can try getting an ipaddress by using this command:

dhcpcd eth1

You will not get a return response. It may look like it
died.

Look at ifconfig again to see if you got an ipaddress.

Bigpaws