VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Hardware & Drivers => Topic started by: Train_Wreck77 on July 26, 2015, 09:24:42 pm

Title: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 26, 2015, 09:24:42 pm
So I just put Vector on my Hp-G42 and its running good, except that my wifi switch won't turn on so I can't access wireless internet. Is there anything I can do to make this work?
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 05:37:18 am
start with giving us some more info. run "lspci" and show us what that says. from our convo it sounded like the wifi card is showing up but the module (driver) isnt loading so we need to know which module to try to load. the output of lspci should start us down the right path. i dont think the wifi switch is going to do anything if you dont have your wifi card installed. also show us the output of "lsmod" (clear and readable pictures are fine or you can hook it up to wired connection and copy/paste). lsmod lists modules that are loaded. think of them as drivers.

Arch linux is a distro that has probably the best literature in the linux world so it would be worth reading their wiki page on the topic too.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_network_configuration (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_network_configuration)
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 04:38:58 pm
sorry, i forgot to mention you need to post a few times here before you can add pics and links. just make some small talk....what are the specs on that laptop? how much ram and how big hard drive and processor and such
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 04:56:01 pm
It's a HP G42-415DX With 320G HHD 5400rpm
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 04:56:30 pm
Has a 14" screen
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 04:58:08 pm
2.20GHz VISION AMD with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Processor
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 04:59:00 pm
3GB DDR3 ram
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 05:22:21 pm
Here's the lspci
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 05:23:23 pm
Lsmod  (1/2)
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 05:23:53 pm
Lsmod (2/2)
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 05:37:42 pm
whats the output of "rfkill list"
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: retired1af on July 27, 2015, 05:39:55 pm
You do realize that you can hi light the text in terminal, then right mouse click and select copy. Better than attempting to take picture of your screen.
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 05:46:28 pm
the laptops not connected. he doesnt have a cat5 atm and his wifi obviously isnt working
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 05:56:21 pm
 tried to see what rfkill list would say earlier and it won't show me anything.
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: retired1af on July 27, 2015, 06:21:55 pm
What does ifconfig show?
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: rbistolfi on July 27, 2015, 06:24:33 pm
You could try the wl driver:
Code: [Select]
# rmmod b43
# rmmod ssb
# modprobe wl
# depmod -a
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: rbistolfi on July 27, 2015, 06:28:41 pm
Also, you could try "brute force" with rfkill:

Code: [Select]
# rfkill unblock all
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 06:31:07 pm
Ifconfig shows eth0 and Lo.
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 06:32:51 pm
try rbistolfis suggestions but remember to su -  to root
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 06:38:20 pm
Nothing happens when I put in rmmod b43/ssb and Depmod -a. When I put in modprobe it says "modprobe: FATAL: Module wl not found".
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: wigums on July 27, 2015, 06:52:09 pm
our broadcom-sta doesnt seem to have the wl module
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: rbistolfi on July 27, 2015, 07:01:57 pm
Weird, I am using it here (still on RC3 in my work box though)
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: rbistolfi on July 27, 2015, 07:14:11 pm
-what is your kernel version?

Code: [Select]
# uname -r
Perhaps there is a problem with the broadcom package and your kernel
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: Train_Wreck77 on July 27, 2015, 07:16:41 pm
3.18.16
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: rbistolfi on July 27, 2015, 07:26:17 pm
This build has been failing or a while now! Somehow it went unnoticed. I will try to fix it tomorrow morning.
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: roarde on July 29, 2015, 08:19:11 pm
I could very, very easily be mistaken; but I think a standalone build of broadcom-sta will, and should always fail. It's built at the same time the kernel is, and the kernel-specific package of broadcom-sta needs to be used.

I see there's been work on this since the thread was started. A newer kernel has been rebuilt with broadcom-sta and similar packages having the kernel's version added to their name, rather than to their version. Me, I don't know if that's what will be set in stone for the future.

Please try this for now:
Download either
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.1/extra/n/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.248_3.18.16-x86-1vl71.txz (http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-7.1/extra/n/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.248_3.18.16-x86-1vl71.txz)
  -- or --
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.1/extra/n/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.248_3.18.14-x86_64-1vl71.txz (http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/VL64-7.1/extra/n/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.248_3.18.14-x86_64-1vl71.txz)
  depending on your processor.
Put the download somewhere that it can be accessed by, or copied to, your VL installation. I assume you're not downloading within VL when your connection doesn't work.

Boot VL and
Code: [Select]
removepkg broadcom-sta
upgradepkg --install-new /path/to/broadcom-sta-6.30.223.248_3.18.14-x86-1vl71.txz
depmod
Ideally, the last line is unneccesary because the package's doinst should handle it, and wl.ko doesn't have dependencies anyway. Running it doesn't hurt anything, and is the "belt and suspenders" approach.

If this works, add 'broadcom-sta' to the EXCLUDE= line near the top of /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc. Just tack on ',broadcom-sta' at the end of the line. That way the wrong broadcom-sta package won't be pulled next time you do --upgrade. If there is an actual upgrade to broadcom-sta for this kernel (doubtful), you can use the same 'upgradepkg' line to install that.

I have an ulterior motive here. I don't have a wifi device to test this with, and wish to know whether this works for various reasons. Feedback very much appreciated.
Title: Re: Wifi Switch won't work
Post by: M0E-lnx on July 30, 2015, 04:41:07 am
Roared is correct... This package is built at the same time as the kernel so the package you install must correspond to the kernel version you have running...

We did identify an issue with the package naming scheme for this type of packages which is why I triggered a new kernel build along with its related packages but the contents of the packages have not changed at all.