VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Networking & Security => Topic started by: StrayBit on September 23, 2015, 10:50:47 am

Title: Starting Samba at boot
Post by: StrayBit on September 23, 2015, 10:50:47 am
I tried putting 'service samba start' in rc.M.  It complains that service isn't found.  The line does work from a (root) terminal.
How do I get Samba started at boot?
Title: Re: Starting Samba at boot
Post by: M0E-lnx on September 23, 2015, 01:50:47 pm
As root in a terminal run 'vsrvset' and select which runlevels you want it to run on
Title: Re: Starting Samba at boot
Post by: wigums on September 23, 2015, 02:12:55 pm
on my slackware file server i add this to my /etc/rc.d/rc.local

#start samba service
/etc/rc.d/rc.samba restart
Title: Re: Starting Samba at boot
Post by: StrayBit on September 24, 2015, 07:46:34 am
Thanks MOE-lnx.  That was what I was looking for since VASM is all but gone.  Interesting warning
Quote
vector://home/bruce
root:# vsrvset
Service Configurator is starting ...
xterm -e
autofs cron cups fuse gpm inetd lm_sensors networkmanager portmap samba
Warning: Tried to connect to session manager, Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
xterm -e
bluetooth cron cups fuse gpm inetd lm_sensors networkmanager portmap samba
Warning: Tried to connect to session manager, Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
Also get quite a few when I start thunar from a root terminal.
Interesting!  Vsrvset told me Samba was already set but I still have to start it from cl.
Your suggestion was appreciated, also, wigums.
Title: Re: Starting Samba at boot
Post by: roarde on September 26, 2015, 01:01:42 pm
Something's not set up right as far as xauth, not sure what. Until that's fixed, vasm can be started with the line
Code: [Select]
DIALOG=dialog vasmThat will pull up vasm's ncurses version within a terminal. Vsrvset was returned to root's menu in vasm quite a while ago (SERVICES), but can be started directy as M0E-lnx said; or with your problem, substitute 'vsrvset' for 'vasm' in the above line.

Now a little diagnosis of the problem that started the thread. Please post the output of these two commands.
Code: [Select]
runlevel
find /etc/rc.d/ -name 'S??samba'

Here, I get
roarde:$ runlevel
N 4
vector:/~
roarde:$ find /etc/rc.d/ -name 'S??samba'
/etc/rc.d/rc4.d/S54samba


Which says I'm using runlevel 4 (runlevel output is "previous current"), and samba is set to run there (/rc4.d/).