VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Portable VL => Topic started by: Joe1962 on April 26, 2007, 11:54:14 pm

Title: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on April 26, 2007, 11:54:14 pm
Just installed SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook. Here's the specs:

Intel Core Duo processor T2060 1.6 GHz
15.4" WXGA LCD, 1280 x 800
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
120 GB HDD
1 GB DDR2 RAM
DVD burner, double layer
Broadcom BCM 440x ethernet adapter
Intel 3945ABG wifi adapter
Intel HDA sound system

Installation went well except for the known RC3 issue with the X keyboard maps, which effectively ends the installer if you try to change it. I simply finished the installation after first boot, without changing the X key map.

Things that were set up automagically:
- video driver and working DRI (resolution set to 1024x768 by autodetect)
- ALSA sound driver
- correctly loaded module for BCM440x ethernet adapter (haven't actually tested it)
- correctly loaded modules for ipw3945 wifi adapter (interface doesn't show up)

Things that work after tweaking:
- 1280x800 resolution
   (after copying 915resolution utility to /usr/sbin and calling it at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local)
- wifi adapter:
   (after calling /sbin/ipw3945d at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local and using kwifimanager to scan and connect)
- Brazilian keyboard layout:
   (after setting model = Brazillian ABNT2, Layout = Brazil and Layout variant = abnt2 in Control Centre)

Things not tested yet:
- modem
- DVD burner
- bluetooth adapter
- built-in webcam
- built-in microphone
- multi format card reader

I'll update this as I get some more testing done. HTH someone... 8)
 
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: The Headacher on April 27, 2007, 12:25:40 am
That looks like a pretty sweet notebook Joe1962! Cardreader is likely to give a problem. The modem & webcam might, depending on what chipset is being used.

The microphone should just be a matter of playing around with some controls, I have one built-in too on the laptop in my sig, My "soundcard" is a different one from yours though. In Audacity it's pretty easy to record from mic.

I don't know squat about bluetooth, but if I had it I would turn the darn thing off or blacklist it's kernel module. I don't trust it at all ( a little paranoia never hurt anyone ).
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on April 27, 2007, 05:40:37 am
Thanks for the feedback, The Headacher. I'll be doing some software development in winders for most of the day and evening during the next few months, so testing might be a tad slow, but I'll keep you posted. Strange thing is I had installed 5.8 Gold briefly on a Tosh with Intel GMA950 and 1280x800 a while back and never needed 915resolution, X autodetected and set the max res correctly. Wonder what the diff could be?
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on April 29, 2007, 06:08:58 pm
Ok, the burner works, for CDRWs at least. However, it won't use dma, so burnfree kicked in 5 times even at 10x. I also saw this on a Toshiba I had as a loaner for a week. They both have sata interfaces, so this might be related. Anybody else seen this problem, and is there a fix?
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on April 30, 2007, 01:40:48 am
These pages seems to be relevant to a certain extent, hope it helps  :)

http://thomer.com/howtos/dma_on_sata_dvd.html
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_SATA_and_Linux#No_DMA_on_DVD_drive
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on April 30, 2007, 03:50:37 am
Thanks easuter, that definitely sounds relevant. I'll check this out soon as work permits a reboot with enough time to reinstall SOHO RC3 over Dynamite 6 test2 ... ;D
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 01, 2007, 02:28:52 pm
I am hoping this thread gets picked up again;  I just acquired an Acer
Aspire 5610z, built in April of this year.  It came with Windows Vista
Premium.. I am looking around for the right Linux distro to put on it;  I'm
very used to everything working and I want a Linux that will not
compromise that.

I'm thinking of Sabayon, Mint, Xandros and Vector. 

The only difference between my machine and your test machine, Joe,
is that I upgraded the RAM to 2 Gigs.

  -- Jerry
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: lagagnon on June 01, 2007, 02:37:17 pm
Well the only thing I would say to that is "suck it and see".  ;)
Most of the users here have reasonably good things to say about SOHO 5.8 on laptops.
We should probably be able to help you with any unforeseen problems. For certain VL is likely to be faster than Mint or Xandros, I am unsure about the performance wrt Sabayon.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on June 01, 2007, 04:03:15 pm
Quote
The only difference between my machine and your test machine, Joe,
is that I upgraded the RAM to 2 Gigs

Hehe, thats a wooping amount of RAM.
SOHO's speed should be several multiples of "c" on that machine  ;)
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 01, 2007, 04:22:34 pm
Quote
The only difference between my machine and your test machine, Joe,
is that I upgraded the RAM to 2 Gigs

Hehe, thats a wooping amount of RAM.
SOHO's speed should be several multiples of "c" on that machine  ;)

Heh.. well, RAM is the big food for Windows products.   ;)  And Vista is the
hungriest of all.  This machine is very fast, even with Vista, but I already
know how fast Vector is because I've had it on my old PC with its 900Mhz
processor (Celeron) and that little nVidia FX5600 graphics card.

Now I'm ready to get out of Windows on the new laptop and have a
real screamer, especially if I use Vector, the fastest of most distros
out there (debateable, I know.. but it is known as a fast one).

It seems hard to trash the perfectly working Vista Premium that came OEM
I admit.  Sorry..

I know I will, for moral reasons if not anything about performance.  :D
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: GrannyGeek on June 01, 2007, 05:15:42 pm
It seems hard to trash the perfectly working Vista Premium that came OEM
I admit.  Sorry..

I know I will, for moral reasons if not anything about performance.  :D

Why not just resize the partition with something that's compatible with Vista and install VL SOHO in the free space? I'd have no qualms about keeping an expensive OS that came with the computer. Ritual purity is not my thing.<g> I've used V-Com's Partition Commander successfully a number of times on XP partitions, and once I even resized several Linux partitions. I see they have a version that works with Vista but I can't vouch for it.

VectorLinux is terrific on good hardware.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 02, 2007, 10:37:18 am
I actually haven't tested anything further in my "Things not tested yet" list. Mostly from lack of time, as I currently spend all day and part of the night programming in Windows. I've been running SOHO and Std in vmware. Still, the really important parts (to me) work well, except for the burner DMA, for which there are fixes pointed out by easuter. I will try and get around to testing that, at least. I don't really have any use for bluetooth, dialup modem (for now) or the webcam. Also, the card reader doesn't support Compact Flash, which is the format I use now, so I have an external reader nicely handled by vl-hot... ;)
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 02, 2007, 11:16:26 am
The camcorder has come in very handy for family/party/picnics, etc.  A *must* for me
now.. I do hope I find a linux distro that can give me that as well as all the multimedia
stuff I am used to in Vista.  I also, of course, need wifi to work reliably.

Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on June 02, 2007, 12:05:03 pm
Quote
I also, of course, need wifi to work reliably.

The bcm43xx project has made some very good progress in ther kernel module from what I can gather.
The broadcom card that laptop has should work ok with the bcm43xx kernel module in SOHO. Ndiswrapper is also known to work with that card, so if the native module doesn't work, then ndiswrapper is quite a solid alternative.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 02, 2007, 12:22:41 pm
Actually, the Broadcom is the wired ethernet adapter. The wifi is an Intel 3945ABG. Weird, I know... go figure.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: JohnB316 on June 03, 2007, 11:46:38 am
I have a Belkin F5D7000 version 1134 (I think) wireless card in one of my VL boxes. Ndiswrapper didn't work for that card. However, the Broadcom bcm43xx driver works very well with it. If I had a card that could use either driver, I'd go for the bcm43xx over ndiswrapper.

FWIW (about $0.0000000002),
John
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 14, 2007, 03:05:27 pm
Well the only thing I would say to that is "suck it and see".  ;)
Most of the users here have reasonably good things to say about SOHO 5.8 on laptops.
We should probably be able to help you with any unforeseen problems. For certain VL is likely to be faster than Mint or Xandros, I am unsure about the performance wrt Sabayon.

Well, I'm about to take the plunge with my Vector 5.8 SOHO disc.  This is a promise:
If this goes ok and I get these issues taken care of I will send to the Vector folks
$100.  I have been using Vector (off and on) for a couple of years now, and I always
come back.  The old pc that had 5.8 SOHO on it now has PCLinuxOS 2007, but that's
because I could not get Vector SOHO to sync sound at certain websites like David
Letterman's site with the great videos there.

Anyway, the hundred bucks will be sent to Vector no matter what happens as I realise
that Vector was the first distro to really tear me away from Windows several years
ago, and I appreciate that very much.  But here's what I'm dealing with:  this is a
brand new Acer Aspire 5610z with nice graphics (Intel 945/950), plenty of RAM
(2Gigs) and a nice big hard drive (120Mb).  I need wifi to work and I need to be
able to view streaming video at places like www.cnn.com and as said before the
Letterman site, as well as www.foxnews.com and www.cbsnews.com and others.  Also I
love to watch my old (get ready for a laugh) Mr. Bean DVDs.  Vista does all this
without blinking an eye, but it's Micro*&^%#$!soft.  :)  I want to get RID of it,
not dual boot!

So, ... er, here I go..........
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 14, 2007, 07:46:32 pm
FWIW, all that works great on my 5610. It did come as a surprise to me that it doesn't actually have bluetooth, lol. It is optional and the bluetooth on/off button on the front is just for show on this one... ;D
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: The Headacher on June 15, 2007, 01:08:09 am
Bluetooth is a waste of money anyways. If you give me the choice between bluetooth and a cable (e.g. USB) i'll take the cable over the insecure bluetooth any time. I don't see why my cellphone would need to communicate wirelessly with my laptop. If it's my darn phone and laptop I should have the cable too right? (By the way, the manufacturers SHOULD just use a standard mini USB connector, not some weird proprietary connector).

Cyber criminals on the other hand go around with a laptop hacking mobile phones. A few years ago a newspaper or a news program had someone hack cellphones of ministers and members of the Dutch parliament. They didn't even have to touch the phones to steel personal data and addresses of important political figures.

Bottom line is, unless you're a Cybercriminal, stay away from bluetooth ;D.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 15, 2007, 04:02:34 am
I don't have a use for bluetooth at all, in fact, since a certain colleague of mine swears by it, I hate it by design... ;). I was just testing all the hardware support. Oh, and I haven't had time to have a go at the webcam yet.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 15, 2007, 04:32:51 am
FWIW, all that works great on my 5610. It did come as a surprise to me that it doesn't actually have bluetooth, lol. It is optional and the bluetooth on/off button on the front is just for show on this one... ;D

5.8 really went well?  That is very encouraging.. I should do some searching around to see if
you had any issues setting up wifi, etc.  .. but I'll just ask here if you don't mind
(after all, I am about to install Vector SOHO 5.8 on the hard drive of the same model
of notebook computer that you say you did):  did you have any issues installing and
getting it to work in all those areas?

I'm ready to do this today..  :D

  -- Jerry B.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 15, 2007, 04:49:47 am
See earlier in this thread.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 15, 2007, 06:34:57 am
See earlier in this thread.

I was looking at that, but it's on RC3.. I'm hesitantly going ahead with
5.8 SOHO, the one released May 17th. 

I also have the live CD version, but I had trouble with wifi and screen
resolution.. but it was very fast on this new notebook for a live CD,
that's one of the things that got me intrigued about just installing the
5.8 SOHO and dealing one-by-one with the problems;  I'd end up with a
great, fast system.

Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 15, 2007, 07:06:03 am
I'm using SOHO 5.8 final now.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 15, 2007, 07:21:34 am
I'm using SOHO 5.8 final now.

Wonderful! 

Mind telling us how you got to that point?  Did you upgrade your existing
RC3?  Did you install 5.8 Final over it, beside it as a dual boot? 

My guess is you did a fresh install.  If so, how did that go?  Any issues
like in those you pointed out with RC3?  Or was that all resolved with
the Final installation?

Too many questions?  Sorry.  ;D 
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 15, 2007, 07:29:12 am
Fresh install of course, won't have it any other way, no matter what OS... ;D

Everything was mostly the same as in RC3. Lack of time, need or means has prevented my testing the burner DMA fixes, modem, microphone, webcam and card reader. For the screen resolution and wifi, follow the notes in "Things that work after tweaking".

EDIT: The installer issues are fixed in final, obviously.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 15, 2007, 07:59:40 am
Fresh install of course, won't have it any other way, no matter what OS... ;D

Everything was mostly the same as in RC3. Lack of time, need or means has prevented my testing the burner DMA fixes, modem, microphone, webcam and card reader. For the screen resolution and wifi, follow the notes in "Things that work after tweaking".

EDIT: The installer issues are fixed in final, obviously.

Muchisimas gracias.  I'm going to print out that post with the tweaks.. now it's time
to finally get started on the install. 

Thanks again for reponding to my posts and queries in here.

  - Jerry -
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 19, 2007, 07:25:52 pm
Well..   :-[  I finally got Vista back up and running on my
notebook.. my advice to anyone with an Acer Aspire:  DO NOT
ATTEMPT AN INSTALL TO HARD DRIVE OF A SLACKWARE DERIVED DISTRO!

I spent three days trying to get a gui, a READABLE gui with
Vector and then with Zenwalk.  It just keeps coming up 1024x768
with horrid looking fonts (the old "cookie cutter" fonts from
the 1996 Red Hat 5.2 days) and very, very slow application
launching. 

I finally formatted the 120Gb hard drive and installed Vista
Basic from DVD then "upgraded" back to Premium after getting
things straightened out via phone with the Microsoft people.

That was quite a lesson in Linux experimentation.

I seems that the problem is that this laptop is too new for
the existing Linux kernel. 

Anyway, it feels strange that I'd send $100 dollars to a
distro and have it uninstallable on my new machine... but
I am looking at that from a rather humorous standpoint,
like the time I paid a cab driver to take me from the
St. Luis airport downtown and hotels were full and I had
to walk back to the airport for my morning flight out
of town.   :D

Meanwhile, I have to accept the fact that this new computer
needs Windows Vista to function properly, at least for now.

Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: lagagnon on June 19, 2007, 09:07:36 pm
Did you search the Linux on Laptops site beforehand? http://www.linux-on-laptops.com/acer.html .
Because there you will find a possible solution to your video troubles - you basically need the 915resolution drivers. See here: http://www.microbotica.es/aspire5610.html

Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 20, 2007, 08:10:39 am
Sorry to quote from myself, but I did mention that:
Things that were set up automagically:
- video driver and working DRI (resolution set to 1024x768 by autodetect)

Things that work after tweaking:
- 1280x800 resolution
   (after copying 915resolution utility to /usr/sbin and calling it at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local)

If you could list your hardware specs here, there might be differences between the models...
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 24, 2007, 08:25:48 am
Joe, you said (way back when :)):

" (after copying 915resolution utility to /usr/sbin and calling it at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local)"

I have downloaded and installed 915resolution and found that it is located in /usr/sbin, but
I cannot figure out how to "call it at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local" as you say.. I've been looking
in that file but don't know how to configure it, so I'm still stuck with 1024x768 on a 1280x800
screen.

Can you copy that portion of your rc.local file here, please?

  -- Jerry
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 24, 2007, 09:41:33 am
It just means to add the command using your favourite text editor. At the end of the file there is a comment that says something like: add your stuff after this. So add a line for the command with full path, then save the file and reboot:
/usr/sbin/915resolution


EDIT: oops, forgot to add you have to put in a modifier switch for your resolution. Sorry, I can't access my VL right now.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 25, 2007, 04:05:40 pm
Joe, thank you for that.. I'm still unsure what to write, can it look something like
the xorg.conf file?  using "option"  or whatever?

I'd better wait for you to post your rc.local file, I'm very worried about using the
wrong syntax and running into big trouble.

As it is, I am proud to say that SOHO 5.8 is running pretty good on this new
Acer laptop (I got a seperate hard drive to install Vector on).  I have posted a few
issues that are small, but I'll pick away at them.  Meanwhile, getting out of this
ugly borked screen resolution and into 1280x800 will be great.

  - Jerry
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on June 25, 2007, 04:17:53 pm
jerrybasham, could you please open a terminal, logon as root, and then issue this command:

Code: [Select]
915resolution -l
and post the output here.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 25, 2007, 04:25:00 pm
jerrybasham, could you please open a terminal, logon as root, and then issue this command:

Code: [Select]
915resolution -l
and post the output here.

Ok:



root:# 915resolution -l
Intel 800/900 Series VBIOS Hack : version 0.5.2

Chipset: 945GM
BIOS: TYPE 1
Mode Table Offset: $C0000 + $269
Mode Table Entries: 36

Mode 30 : 640x480, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 32 : 800x600, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 34 : 1024x768, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 38 : 1280x1024, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 3a : 1600x1200, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 3c : 1920x1440, 8 bits/pixel
Mode 41 : 640x480, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 43 : 800x600, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 45 : 1024x768, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 49 : 1280x1024, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 4b : 1600x1200, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 4d : 1920x1440, 16 bits/pixel
Mode 50 : 640x480, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 52 : 800x600, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 54 : 1024x768, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 58 : 1280x1024, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 5a : 1600x1200, 32 bits/pixel
Mode 5c : 1920x1440, 32 bits/pixel

Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on June 25, 2007, 05:06:58 pm
Try this in your terminal:

Code: [Select]
915resolution 58 1280 800
Then hit Ctrl + Alt +Backspace to reset the X server. 1280x800 resolution should be set.
Does it work?
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Joe1962 on June 25, 2007, 05:37:33 pm
Yep, easuter hit the nail on the head. I finally got a chance to check and I use mode 38, but it's the same principle. Basically you substitute the resolution of a mode you won't use for 1280x800.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 25, 2007, 06:22:57 pm
 :D  "Does it work?"

That's what I love about resolving things like this issue;  there's a bit of learning along
with the satisfaction of getting things the way you want them to be.

Yes, easuter and Joe, it worked.  Thank you for the lessons and advice.

Now, on to the other little issues I posted in the technical general area (I think that's
the name of the forum).

  - Jerry
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: easuter on June 26, 2007, 01:38:58 am
By the way, if the settings don't "stick" after you reboot, then open /etc/rc.d/rc.local and add:

Code: [Select]
915resolution 58 1280 800
right at the end of the file. That will make sure it gets run every time you boot your computer.  :)
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 26, 2007, 04:49:35 am
By the way, if the settings don't "stick" after you reboot, then open /etc/rc.d/rc.local and add:

Code: [Select]
915resolution 58 1280 800
right at the end of the file. That will make sure it gets run every time you boot your computer.  :)

That's a nice little surprise to find in here this morning!  I was just having that
anxiety of, "Oh crap.. it only worked temporarily."

Thank you again!   :D

  - Jerry
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: Jerry on June 28, 2007, 07:07:29 am
I'm hoping that some Vector users with laptops are still reading in this thread because I'm
getting down to the last few issues I've had with mine, an Acer Aspire 5610z and the 5.8
SOHO I installed on it a few days ago.

One issue is the behavior of the machine when I close the lid.  In Vista I could configure it
to do anything I liked, including going into standby or shutting down or whatever.  I'd like
to find out how to do that configuring with Linux.  So far I have been unable to get it to
go into suspend or standby even just using the battery/power monitor features in Control
Center. 

I do have ACPI configured (I think) correctly, but all it does is go into the screensaver mode.
Here are my settings:

- Screensaver on after 10 minutes.

- Standby on after 20 minutes

- Suspend on after 30 minutes

-Power off after 60 minutes
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: meinhardt_jgbr on May 09, 2008, 07:49:02 am
Based on all previous msgs, I'm really tempted to give a good try on VL, possibly VL5.9 Std first, on my Acer Aspire 5570z (5570-2607) which has the following configuration:

Intel Pentium - Dual core - T2080
1.73 Ghz, 533 Mhz Fsb, 1Mb L2 cache
14.1" WXGA
Intel Graphics Media Acelerator 950
120Gb hdd
DVD-Super Multi double layer - DVD+RW
1Gb DDR2
802.11 b/g wireless LAN
Bluetooth
Webcam

Aspire 5570z came stripped down just with a very poor Limpus Linux distro, where "Limpus" may be perceived as Clean in Portuguese, therefore it really came virtually "limpus" with a worthless distro that could not help me at all to accomplish further linux installs.
I have just now, a multi-boot setup, with:

 Brazilian Debian based distro Kurumin 7.0r3,
 Brazilian distro testing Kurumin NG (Kubuntu - Debian) and
 WinXP-Pro sp2.

Depending on a successful install from ISO on hdd either from Windows or from Linux on another rather old NoBo (Sharp Actius - A280 - PII-366, 64Mb Ram, external CD-Rom player connected via PCMCIA, external floppy drive, Rtl8139 Lan), which has the LCD not working anymore therefore working with an external monitor. I want to use it as another alternative Linuxbox. It is already running on multiple-boot, with Win98SE and the latest available Mandrake 9.0 I was able to install on it. The biggest problem with this old NoBo, is that,due to the PCMCIA - CD-Rom player connection, It does not accept booting from CD. I must use install from hdd copy,either ISO or the whole CD copy.

I've being requesting some help on the old Sharp Actius NoBo install tips on other threads, such as the Vectorbie and Nuts and Bolts - Installation.

Depending on such install which for me should work much better than current Mandrake 9.0, I may definitely give a good try with VL5.9-Std, once I believe installation would be much easier.
Title: Re: SOHO 5.8 RC3 on an Acer Aspire 5610-4260 notebook
Post by: no2thesame on May 11, 2008, 02:12:45 am
Welcome meinhardt_jgbr,
I don't think you will have many problems with 5.9 and your Acer.

You can see my experience with my (slower) Acer notebook on this thread:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=4996.0

It is still running happily on 5.9 std gold, but I tried the 5.9 SOHO Preview Live CD and besides looking great, sound was working!  The wireless card isn't detected but I don't use it anyway so haven't even tried to get it going.

I came to Vector from Mandrake, years ago, you should notice a real speed difference.

no2