VectorLinux

The Vectorian Lounge => The Lounge => Topic started by: DrGrov on June 02, 2007, 12:17:50 pm

Title: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: DrGrov on June 02, 2007, 12:17:50 pm

Well, here goes. A post regarding KDE on older specs as I myself have.
I find KDE to run very well with 192MB of RAM. Just thought to ask some opinions regarding this matter.
Thanks for your answers!  ::)
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: |nic| on June 02, 2007, 02:32:01 pm
I have VL SOHO installed on a P2 266Mhz and 256 ram. It runs quite good, I use it as a file server. The only problem is with media, it is a little slow when playing divx.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: Freeman on June 02, 2007, 03:52:06 pm
On my P3 it runs very fast, so a P2 would do just fine I think. No problems here, the only thing is you need more then 124MB ram, then you're good to go!
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: rbistolfi on June 02, 2007, 04:00:06 pm
I am not a kde user, so just guessing. I think you are near the limit with that amount of ram. Kde will run, but you need to be careful to avoid swaping. I use the gimp on a std on a 128mb machine to edit large photos, once the gimp start, I can work smoothly. No multitask during that job of course :'(
If I start other apps, I need to use swap. That on xfce.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: lagagnon on June 02, 2007, 06:43:26 pm

...I find KDE to run very well with 192MB of RAM.
Sure, KDE might load OK to the desktop, but when you load any large application such as OO, Firefox, The Gimp, and others, you will undoubtedly require the use of swap, at which point the machine will slow down considerably. Personally I believe 384MB of RAM is a minimum RAM amount to use KDE and its associated applications effectively.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: Joe1962 on June 02, 2007, 09:49:49 pm
Can't say on the "real" hardware front, but a vmware vm inside winxp SP2 ( ::) ) with 256 MB RAM and 256 MB swap works very well with KDE on SOHO 5.8.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: nightflier on June 03, 2007, 04:38:18 am
I have one P3-667/192 and SOHO 5.1 runs acceptably on it. Heavy apps are somewhat sluggish, but that happens in Xfce as well as KDE. I prefer Opera for browsing and e-mail on that one.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: saulgoode on June 03, 2007, 06:29:06 am
I was never overly confronted by KDE's execution speed on a 500MHz PIII. What was of concern was memory usage. I could, and did, run KDE on 200M of RAM but it did not take much to initiate swapping. Over time, I found that it was preferable to use a light window manager and, when possible, Dillo for webbrowsing (the Gecko browsers are a bit much with regards to RAM usage). Of course, running lean was important to me because I often have compiles running in the background (and that often requires quite a bit of RAM).

My advice would be to get some more RAM for your machine if you wish to continue using KDE on it. While processor speed is not insignificant with insufficient memory, the majority of your computer's time is spent waiting on disk activity.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: MikeCindi on June 03, 2007, 01:36:52 pm
A lot of things are possible but what one is willing to "put up with" is a completely different question. What has been asked can easily be done but I wouldn't want to stay there very long.
Mike
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: GrannyGeek on June 03, 2007, 06:20:18 pm
I don't quite see the point of the question. Is it *possible* to run KDE on a slow computer with 192 megs of RAM? Of course, since people report they have done/are doing it. Would you *enjoy* running KDE on a slow computer with 192 megs of RAM? If you ask me, no, I would not. If you ask someone else, the answer might be "yes."

I can't abide slow, low-RAM computers--and I do most definitely consider 192 megs a low-RAM computer. I know people say KDE runs fine on 192 megs or 256 megs, but I sure didn't find it that way. Sixteen months ago I got a new computer because I simply couldn't stand running VectorLinux on a Celeron 500 with 512 megs of RAM. Sure, if it were my only computer and I had no option to get a better one, I'd survive. But enjoy it? No way!

So I gave that computer to a nonprofit and bought a new one on a very good sale. I'm extremely glad I did.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: DrGrov on June 04, 2007, 10:52:45 am


Nice to see commited Vectorites answering and commenting. I started the poll based on that I could get some opinions are maybe switch WM/DE to something else. I decided now to go with WindowMaker since it's light-weight, beautiful with the right themes and very versatile compared to perhaps KDE or the larger DE's.

Thanks for the answers! Please keep on having a debate. It's always a pleasure to read the forum when you guys/girls/ladies/gentlemen are so commited and eager to share your opinions. :)

Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: nightflier on June 04, 2007, 11:03:47 am
Sounds like fun. I'm sure many would be interested in hearing how it works for you. A post with your results would be appreciated.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: DrGrov on June 04, 2007, 11:11:40 am

Nightflier, you want to hear about how WindowMaker works me or did I misinterpret your reply?
Sorry if I did.  :-\
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on June 04, 2007, 01:06:04 pm

Nightflier, you want to hear about how WindowMaker works

On his behalf, yes.

It's true: WindowMaker has a ton of themes, and goes quite well with the GNUstep environment...
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: nightflier on June 04, 2007, 06:56:58 pm
Yes, tell us how well that setup is working for you. Other people with similar hardware could benefit from your experimentation.
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: DrGrov on June 05, 2007, 07:01:40 am


Okay, here goes nightflier and hanu...

I tried last night to do a lot of experimentations.
I found that on my current specs just a plain start of WindowMaker only takes around 42-45MB of RAM, I have 185MB free from the beginning. Pretty good I would say.

Then I started getting fired up again as I have done earlier with WindowMaker.
I started Kopete, Konversation, Firefox and Audacious. I thought that a good test with some heavier QT apps will give me a good ground to see how well it works in comparison with the heavier WM's/DE's such as GNOME, KDE, AfterStep and maybe some other ones as well.

I had a about 5-7 tabs open in Firefox, Audacious playing a huge, around 270MB mp3 and then I had some Kopete windows (MSN) open at the same time. I used Konversation a bit less just then but I figured that I will still be able to work well without a lot of swapping taking place. And so it did, I had a RAM usage of around 100-110MB/185MB when I had those running (Kopete, Konversation, Firefox, Audacious). And the swap was only taking about 25-30MB/1020 something MB's.  ::)

I have done a large test previously with WindowMaker when I had KSirc, Kopete, Firefox, Adobe Acrobat 7.0, AmaroK, the GIMP, Armgetron Advanced and even a movie playing in Mplayer and it worked. The movie was in perfect sync all the time. :) I really must say that users with VL with older specifications should really go with WindowMaker as it gives a huge benefit of speed, stability and most of all, a really beautiful & powerful WM without any crash-risks and useless packages lying around.

Unfortunately I don't have the screenshot of the gigantic WindowMaker test with all those apps running anymore. I accidentally deleted it but I promise that I was telling the truth when having all those huge apps running at the same time.

I hope to see a new version of WindowMaker later on, hopefully not having gone through a really big change in appreance and workability. The WindowMaker package in the Standard 5.8 repo (0.92) if I remember correctly is a very good package, a warm thanks to easuter for building it. It is really appreciated. Thanks a lot! :)

Hanumizzle and nightflier, I hope this type of answers are satisfactory  ::)

Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: nightflier on June 05, 2007, 09:09:31 am
Yup. Thanks.  :)
Title: Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on June 06, 2007, 05:04:19 am
Hanumizzle and nightflier, I hope this type of answers are satisfactory  ::)

You didn't need to tell me WindowMaker pwnz all.

Already knew...