VectorLinux

Vectorbie Station => Vectorbie Questions => Topic started by: ESBguy on June 04, 2007, 06:56:33 pm

Title: [Solved] Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 04, 2007, 06:56:33 pm
Howdy, all.

Well, after setting up a couple units with Vista and reading about why it turned those nice machines to dirt >:(, my mind is made up to switch to Linux.  After messing around with lot's of distros, I settled on Vector because of it's speed, out of the box features, and Slackware's reputation for stability.  I settled some initial issues with Lilo and Grub (I'm running a triple boot - 98/xp/vector - until I can do everything I need in vector), and I'm mostly very pleased.  I have 1 MAJOR problem and a couple minors ones that I'd like help with, though.  BTW, I'm using Soho 5.8 final.

1)  Firefox is causing system crashes.  This is the MAJOR.  I use Firefox on all 3 os's and have it configured as true cross platform (Thunderbird, too) - ie. all installations of Firefox use the same profiles folder, which is on a fat32 partition.  As a matter of fact, I'm writing this from 98 because signing up for this forum caused a system crash (could move the mouse pointer, but nothing else worked).  Thunderbird seems to have no problems with this arrangement.

2)  I can't get Mplayer or Xine to play DVD's.  I can play them with VLC, but only after I direct it to the proper mount (?) point.  Is there a configuration file I need to edit manually to direct the other apps to the right directory?

3)  This is off topic, but does anyone know how to make Kbarcode save images as tiffs?

Thanks in advance, sorry for the noob questions.  But I am a noob.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: bigpaws on June 04, 2007, 07:43:23 pm
Quote
1)  Firefox is causing system crashes.  This is the MAJOR.  I use Firefox on all 3 os's and have it configured as true cross platform (Thunderbird, too) - ie. all installations of Firefox use the same profiles folder, which is on a fat32 partition.  As a matter of fact, I'm writing this from 98 because signing up for this forum caused a system crash (could move the mouse pointer, but nothing else worked).  Thunderbird seems to have no problems with this arrangement.

iirc this has been a problem.

Quote
2)  I can't get Mplayer or Xine to play DVD's.  I can play them with VLC, but only after I direct it to the proper mount (?) point.  Is there a configuration file I need to edit manually to direct the other apps to the right directory?

Usually a codec issue for DVD. Check where VLC has the codecs, then point xine and mplayer to the codecs. To do that you can  check
http://xinehq.de/ (http://xinehq.de/) and www.mplayerhq.hu (http://www.mplayerhq.hu)

Bigpaws

Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 05, 2007, 05:09:35 pm
Quote
iirc this has been a problem.

Do you mean an irc plugin for Firefox or an irc app for Vector?
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: rbistolfi on June 05, 2007, 05:20:23 pm
I think that is a stand for "if I remember correctly"  ;) (dont feel bad, I am a spanish speaker and I cant understand those things, I used google to find out  ;D)
You could set the profile of your VL Firefox in a linux partition, just to see if the fat32 profile is the cause of the crash.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 12, 2007, 08:49:12 pm
Thanks for the advice, ribistolfi.  I didn't change the profile, but I did import bookmarks from Firefox to Seamonkey.  In Seamonkey, the first place I went was a problematic (and crucial) site, Statcounter.com.  Bingo, system crash as soon as I tried to access my site stats. A problem with the Gecko engine, perhaps?  I don't know of any way to get Vector going again when this happens, other than a hard shutdown.

This is a serious problem, folks.  Firefox is very stable on 98 and XP - Linux is supposed to be better.  I need excellent cross platform compatability in order to migrate to Linux, because I still need to use Windows a LOT until I can manage my business through VL.  If I can't surf the web, I can't use Linux, and I'll be forced (eventually) to swallow the crap MS has foisted upon us with Vista.  You Linux folks have a golden opportunity here with Vista, but the window is small.  I don't like Ubuntu (or Kubuntu), and PCLOS is too bloated for my taste.  Also, I dont have endless time to screw around and don't know Linux well enough (yet) to do it, although I'm pretty good with a computer.

Here is my system, if it will help.

Abit NF7S R2 board.
Athlon XP Mobile Barton 2500, OC'd to 3600.
512 MB dual channel ddr ram.
Primary HD - 60 GB Seagate ST36000, 4 partitions (fat 32, ntfs, ext3 (thank god for journaling), linux swap (1+ gb)).  This drive is an IDE with a SATA adapter on a SATA channel.
Secondary HD - 80 GB WD, 2 partitions, fat32, ntfs.
Nvidia Geforce 4 MX440, 8x AGP, 128 MB.  Proprietary Nvidia driver included in Vector download installed.  What can I say, 3d is nice.
DVD, DVDrw.
Microtek scanner.
HP Deskjet 842C and Kyocera FS1700+ printers on Osicom print server.  All old, but incredably reliable.

Help please.  I wanna be Vector Linux.

Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: caitlyn on June 12, 2007, 09:31:45 pm
Are you running the current version of Firefox for VL (2.0.0.3) or the one from the iso (2.0)?  If the latter I suggest you try upgrading.  Make sure the patches repository is enabled in your /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file.  If you're using gslapt (graphical package manager) click on the Update icon.  That will refresh your list of available packages.  You should then see the newer version of Firefox and can check the box to upgrade.  I don't run Windows at all but I did go statcounter.com and there was no crash.  BTW, the same applies to Seamonkey.  It, too, may need to be upgraded.  Firefox 2.0.0.3 has been rock stable for me under Vector Linux (and also Xubuntu and Mandriva).

BTW, if you'd like you can upgrade all the packages for which upgrades have been issued in the seven months since VL 5.8 was released.  At the command line, as root, you run the following two commands:

Quote
slapt-get update
slapt-get upgrade

That will upgrade everything and break (almost) nothing.  I know the docs say not to do this but that is a hold over from VL 5.1 and needs to be changed.  It's worked perfectly for seven months.  The one exception right now is wifi-radar 1.9.6.  A newly built package of wifi-radar 1.98 designed to work with the upgraded gtk+2 library you'll get with the upgrade is in the testing repository at the moment.  Grab that and then the upgrade really will have broken nothing.  BTW, the wifi-radar issue is the first repository issue I've seen -- far better than Fedora does with their repositories.

Please also remember that Linus Torvalds' once compared changing operating systems to "performing brain surgery on yourself".  Give yourself time to adjust to the learning curve and don't assume that a problem you are having (i.e.: with Firefox) is a Linux problem.  It may very well be a trying to get Linux Firefox and Windows Firefox working off the same profiles problem but that isn't a Linux issue per se.

Good luck,
Cait
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: lagagnon on June 12, 2007, 09:33:03 pm
... In Seamonkey, the first place I went was a problematic (and crucial) site, Statcounter.com.  Bingo, system crash as soon as I tried to access my site stats. A problem with the Gecko engine, perhaps? 

I can access my Statcounter stats page no problem here with either SeaMonkey, Firefox or Opera (VL 5.8 SOHO). I don't think this is a VL or Seamonkey issue - something must be wrong with your install or setup of your browsers.

As for your Firefox problem there is some incompatibility with you using the profile from the fat32 partition. Why don't you 1) close Firefox, 2) delete your ~/.mozilla directory (go into a terminal and type "rm -r .mozilla"), 3) reload Firefox and see if that solves the crashes. If it does it is definetely a problem with using that fat32 profile. Get back to us then and we can determine a way to get you bookmarks for you....

The fact that your browsers are crashing is highly unusual, no others have reported such effects, so I suspect something serious and you might have to do a re-install, but try my suggestion above first.

Also, you do not have to do a hard shutdown when one application hangs - instead just type CTRL-ALT-ESC, that launches xkill which turns your mouse into a skull and crossbones and you then click the top part of the offending window and it will kill that process.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: nubcnubdo on June 12, 2007, 09:40:51 pm
I avoid multibooting issues by having a box of hard drives on hand, each with its own operating system, plus you can usually have at least two hard drives physically installed in the computer. Connect them one at a time. No problem as long as you remember to power everything off to connect a different drive, that is, disconnect the computer's power plug and wait 30 seonds before changing drives. And don't forget to label the hard drive as to operating system and computer.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: rbistolfi on June 13, 2007, 08:30:21 am
I can navigate those sites from here too. I think we need to get more info. You could try a non-gecko browser to see what happens. Lynx from the console, or dillo. We need to isolate the cause of the problem. Check your syslogs too, may be there is a clue there.
This is not a frequent issue, as lagagnon said, something weird is happening, I am sure you can fix it with some patience.
You can try CTL+ALT+BACKSPACE to reset the x system if the way lagagnon suggested didnt work (may be the entirely x server is crashing).
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: caitlyn on June 13, 2007, 10:01:00 am
I agree with lagagnon and rbistolfi.  This isn't something that other people are seeing and I don't believe it's a Firefox or gecko or VL problem.

I do NOT believe you need separate hard drives for each OS. What a pain, especially on a laptop.  The laptop I am using now is quad boot (two instances of Vector, Xubuntu, and Mandriva One) and is humming along just fine.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: Rusty Guy on June 13, 2007, 06:02:17 pm
While Firefox crashing may not be common in VL, it's probably a more common problem across other distros. Recently installed PCLOS 2007 and after updating Firefox via Synaptic, I had the same crashes - actually crashed the system. (Had the same problem with PCLOS .93.) No problem with Konqueror. I wonder is the problem lies elsewhere i.e hardware or ???

Bryant
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 17, 2007, 06:56:44 pm
Thanks for the suggestions, folks, don't go away, I'm working on them.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 20, 2007, 04:29:59 pm
No joy so far.  Cait, my version was 2.003, the latest version, although I believe 2.004 is out now.  I haven't been able to find it in any repositories yet.  And, no, removable hard drives don't do it for me, either - I need to see the data on my other partitions.  Thanks for the tip to launch xkill, lagagnon, but these are SYSTEM crashes - the only thing I can do when they happen is move the mouse pointer around.

Here's what I've tried so far:

1)  Used Gslapt to look for updates.  Sorry, Cait, I didn't go command line, I'm not that adventurous yet.  Found one that was supposed to be an updated java script engine.  Thought that might have a shot, so I installed it.  No dice.

2)  Used laganon's command to re-set the default Firefox directory.  Crash on Statcounter when I accessed my stats.

3)  Tried Konqueror.  Hmm, that seems to work OK.  By the way, is it just me or does anyone else have to hold a click on the bookmarks button until you navigate to a page?  A single click launches the bookmark manager, not the expected drop down.

4)  Used Gslapt to uninstall both Firefox and Seamonkey.  Rebooted (old Windows habit).  Used Gslapt to reinstall Firefox 2.003.  Tried Statcounter.  Crash.

5)  Disabled VL firewall - I've done this many times on Windows to solve connectivity problems.  Rebooted (there I did it again).  Tried Statcounter.  Crash.

At least I'm posting from Konqueror, so I'm actually in VL, but I'd much rather use Firefox.  Does anyone have any more ideas?
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: rbistolfi on June 20, 2007, 05:10:53 pm
I was looking some info about this, the only precedent I found was related with the flash plugin, you may want to give it a try. I guess you can try to reinstall the flash player. But  you could upgrade ff first, because is more easy. You can upgrade Firefox from the help menu, I think there is a "find updates" option (I am using the spanish version, may be those are not the exact words).
Looks like this is a very weird bug, there is no much info in google.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: lagagnon on June 20, 2007, 08:07:23 pm
Please post the output to the following commands (run as root in a terminal):

fdisk -l
df

thanks...
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: GrannyGeek on June 20, 2007, 09:19:52 pm
You can upgrade Firefox from the help menu, I think there is a "find updates" option (I am using the spanish version, may be those are not the exact words).

You can update Firefox through the Help menu, Check for Updates. However, you must become root and launch Firefox as root in order to update it through the Help menu.

Open a terminal, su, type your root password, type firefox at the prompt. Do Help menu, Check for Updates. Firefox will install the updates automatically and restart, showing that the update was successful.

Close Firefox, type
exit
back at the terminal prompt to get back to your user account. Now start Firefox in your usual way as user and you should be running the updated version.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 21, 2007, 02:36:42 pm
Thank YOU, lagagnon.

Return from command fdisk -l:

Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10337 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1               1        7778    58801648+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdb2            7779       10337    19346040    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5            7779       10337    19346008+   7  HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60022480896 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7297 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        2550    20482843+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda2            2551        4508    15727635    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3            4509        7119    20972857+  83  Linux
/dev/sda4            7120        7297     1429785   82  Linux swap
vector:/~

Return from command df:

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             20641788   3283336  16309812  17% /
tmpfs                   255752         0    255752   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             20472816  11905056   8567760  59% /mnt/win1
/dev/hdb1             58787264     92736  58694528   1% /mnt/win2
vector:/~


Thanks again, hope this helps...
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: lagagnon on June 21, 2007, 03:09:51 pm
ESBguy: ok, you don't have a /home partition - so I assume all your /home directories or on /dev/sda3. Now in your posts above you stated that you are using the FAT32 partitions for some Linux data, Firefox in particular. Are you still doing that or not? Where exactly is your ~.mozilla directory now?
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on June 21, 2007, 05:16:17 pm
Hi, lagagnon.

It's on sda3, at home/me/.mozilla.  When you gave me the command to remove the directory, I did, and when I restarted Firefox it re-wrote it, including a new profiles.ini.  The profiles.ini is what you modify to direct it to use a profile other than default.  It's been using a default profiles.ini ever since I removed the .mozilla directory the first time - I haven't modified it to use the fat32 partition.  I still can't use it without a system crash.

As I said, Thunderbird is set up the same way, with 1 profile shared by 3 OS's on a fat32 partition, and it works just fine.

Just in case you're wondering, I have VL set to automount both fat32 partitions at boot.  I have had no problems accessing or writing to either partition from VL.

Browser conflict maybe???  I'm going to mess around a little with the settings for Konqueror and Firefox....
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: jimwill on June 23, 2007, 09:12:21 pm
Pardon another newbie butting in. I could be wrong in your case, but I've ran into problems with FireFox and Thunderbird when my /tmp directory fills up. I have been opening a terminal, switch to su, cd to /tmp and doing an rm -R * (dangerous, I know -  I tend to cringe every time!) to clear it.

If some of you guru's think that could be the problem he is having could you give an easier, and safer, way to clear that directory. Or even an automatic way? :D

Jim
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: wcs on June 24, 2007, 06:29:33 am
Quote
2)  I can't get Mplayer or Xine to play DVD's.  I can play them with VLC, but only after I direct it to the proper mount (?) point.  Is there a configuration file I need to edit manually to direct the other apps to the right directory?

Was this problem solved by checking the codecs?
Maybe a silly reason, but is "Device used for dvd playback" (in the media tab) set up properly in xine?
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: tomh38 on June 24, 2007, 08:22:26 am
jimwill

I've also had trouble with /tmp filling up.  For me this causes Firefox to freeze up, not my whole system.  Usually I have to kill Firefox, mostly after watching a hi-def trailer.  There's always an offending file I can delete, and then Firefox works fine.

I realize this could be off-topic, but it seems at least possible that a full /tmp directory could be related to ESBguy's difficulties.

If not, perhaps as jimwill suggested somebody could give a suggestion about how to deal with this /tmp directory problem.
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on July 17, 2007, 09:47:54 pm
Hi, all!  Bet you thought I'd given up.  HAH!

I did, however, reinstall VL Soho 5.8.  This was after investigating other possible causes (cheap optical mouse) and resetting KDE with Thunderbird and Firefox as default clients.  This last, by the way, seemed to improve things, but not enough.  I did a couple things different on this install:

1)  Created a separate home partition, and

2)  Used the open source Nvidia driver instead of the proprietary.

After a week of sheer hell (won't bore you with the details) of getting my Windows partitions to boot properly, I'm back and posting from VL!  One strange thing, though.  In my first install, I couldn't get Lilo to write to the mbr and I had to use Grub.  This time, Grub wouldn't work but Lilo installed just fine???  The Grub problem probably has more to do with my screwed up Windows bootloader, but I wonder why Lilo wouldn't work the first time.

Anyway, I removed Seamonkey with Gslapt and modified the profiles.ini for both Thunderbird and Firefox to use the profiles stored on my Win 98 partition, and set the default clients in KDE to Thunderbird and Firefox. .  Everything seems to work so far, I've been surfing happily without a crash.  All 3 OS's see the same emails, bookmarks, and settings.

Just one more app to go - Kbarcode.  This is a killer app for me, gotta have it.  If it doesn't screw up Firefox, I will BE Vector Linux!

I'll let you know how it goes...
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: ESBguy on July 20, 2007, 06:13:39 pm
Yeehah!

Everything works fine, MUCH joy, thank you very much to all who tried to help!

Nevermind the mplayer thing, as long as I have a workaround with VLC I'm happy.

This, folks, is a GREAT distro!  I've played with lots of them and VL is the best, even for a noob like me.  Never seen KDE move so fast.

The word needs to go forth - this could be the Vista killer the world deserves.

I'd like to mark this thread as solved, but I don't know how....
Title: Re: Firefox, Mplayer
Post by: Joe1962 on July 20, 2007, 06:55:26 pm
I'd like to mark this thread as solved, but I don't know how....
I could do it for you, but you might as well give a try... ;D
Find your opening post that started the thread, click on Modify and add to the title.