VectorLinux

Vectorbie Station => Vectorbie Questions => Topic started by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 12:13:31 am

Title: [SOLVED] How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 12:13:31 am
In Zenwalk Linux, a close cousin of Vector Linux, there was a utility called "fusesmbtool." It would automatically connect the other computers on the LAN in the same workgroup to /home/{user}/smb. It was easy and fool proof.

What procedure must be followed in VL to allow me to access the other computers on my LAN?  I have a feeling it's going to be complicated. That's OK! I'll do it, whatever it takes.
Title: Re: How to mount network shares?
Post by: nightflier on June 23, 2007, 05:03:58 am
You have several options, depending on which version of VL that you are using.

I use KDE, and here is one quick and easy way:
Use Konqueror to browse to your network share (smb://address_of_remote_computer).
Click Bookmarks > Add bookmark

Now you can return there by using the bookmark, just like in your web browser.
Title: Re: How to mount network shares?
Post by: newt on June 23, 2007, 08:46:04 am
In standard (probably SOHO also) you can use VASM > (SUPER) > SERVICE > SAMBAWEB to easily mount/umount samba shares.

HTH
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 10:43:51 am
That's good. I see. In Zenwalk, one click and I'm browsing the LAN shared files. But in Vector, there is considerably more to be done. OK! I have changed the post title to more accurately reflect the topic.

How do I browse the LAN and see the other computers?

Should I edit all remote shares into /etc/fstab, or maybe into /etc/samba/smb.conf ?

Where in /mnt will these individual remote shares show up?

Title: Re: How to browse the LAN?
Post by: nightflier on June 23, 2007, 12:02:59 pm
Please state which version of VL you use.
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 12:35:13 pm
user:$ cat /etc/vector-version
Vector Linux 5.8 Standard   12-16-2006

Should I be using a different version? I don't need Open Office, Abiword and Gnumeric work just fine for me
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Joe1962 on June 23, 2007, 01:22:39 pm
fusesmb 0.8.5 is included in VL5.8 Std. More info in it's home page: http://www.ricardis.tudelft.nl/~vincent/fusesmb/
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 02:40:00 pm
rmack:$ fusesmb
fuse: missing mountpoint

vector:/~
rmack:$ ls .smb
fusesmb.cache  fusesmb.conf  fusesmbtool.conf
vector:/~
rmack:$ cat .smb/fusesmb.conf
### configuration file for fusesmb ###

###     Written by Fusesmbtool     ###


#global options

[global]

; List hidden shares
showhiddenshares=true

; General username
username=rmack

; General password
password=secret

; Connection timeout in seconds
timeout=10

;Interval for updating new shares in minutes
interval=10

#specific options

vector:/~
rmack:$ cat .smb/fusesmbtool.conf
### configuration file for Fusesmbtool ###

###     Written by Fusesmbtool     ###

#global options

[global]

; mountpoint for fusesmb
path=/home/rmack/smb

;set file permissions (octal)
umask=000

; allow access to other users
allow_other=yes

; cache timeout for deleted names (0.0s)
entry_timeout=10

#specific options

#Todo....

====================================================

What can I do about the error message? I created the home/rmack/smb directory
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: bigpaws on June 23, 2007, 05:04:02 pm
Please post output of:

ls -la /home/rmack/smb

Bigpaws
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 05:48:57 pm
It's done! It worked! Now how do I umount the comps attached to /home/rmack/smb ?

vector:/~
rmack:$ ls -la smb
total 2
drwxr-xr-x  3 rmack rmack   80 2007-06-23 20:11 ./
drwxr-xr-x 41 rmack rmack 2256 2007-06-23 20:37 ../
drwxr-xr-x  4 rmack rmack  112 2007-06-23 20:18 FERGUESON/
vector:/~
rmack:$

Bigpaws, I still have no idea whether it was pyNeighborhood or fusesmb which mounted the files in smb.
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Joe1962 on June 23, 2007, 05:52:23 pm
Now how do I umount the comps attached to /home/rmack/smb ?
IIRC: umount /home/rmack/smb
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 23, 2007, 06:59:39 pm
OK, except that now /home/rmack/smb is empty.

vector:/~
rmack:$ fusesmb
fuse: missing mountpoint
vector:/~
rmack:$ su
Password:
You are working as root

vector://home/rmack
root:# fusesmb
fuse: missing mountpoint
vector://home/rmack
root:# mount
/dev/hda1 on / type reiserfs (rw,noatime)
/dev/hda3 on /home type reiserfs (rw,noatime)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
vector://home/rmack
root:#

So why can't I mount anything with fusesmb on /home/rmack/smb ?
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: bigpaws on June 23, 2007, 07:56:28 pm
Google is your friend:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=225065 (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=225065)

HTH

Bigpaws
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: Verlager on June 24, 2007, 11:41:32 am
Google is my friend, but pyNeighborhood is the best applet for LAN browsing, imho. I can't get fuse to work:

root:# fusesmb /home/rmack/smb
fusermount: fuse device not found, try 'modprobe fuse' first
vector://home/rmack
root:# modprobe fuse
vector://home/rmack
root:#

I guess pyNeighborhood is Ok for me. Thanks for your help! I'm enjoying Vector Linux a lot.
Title: Re: How to browse the LAN ?
Post by: JohnB316 on June 25, 2007, 10:05:35 am
Google is my friend, but pyNeighborhood is the best applet for LAN browsing, imho. I can't get fuse to work:

root:# fusesmb /home/rmack/smb
fusermount: fuse device not found, try 'modprobe fuse' first
vector://home/rmack
root:# modprobe fuse
vector://home/rmack
root:#

I guess pyNeighborhood is Ok for me. Thanks for your help! I'm enjoying Vector Linux a lot.

Just FYI, when you get no message on executing a command in a Linux terminal, it means that the command executed successfully. Had there been a problem, you would have seen a message saying that the module couldn't be found, etc.

What would come next is to use fusesmb to mount the smb share after the fuse module was loaded.

HTH,
John