VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Office & Printing => Topic started by: ghartl1 on December 05, 2007, 07:30:34 am

Title: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 05, 2007, 07:30:34 am
hi ,

in the near future i will configure a printer with vl 5.8 soho.hp psc 1100 all-in-one is its name
so the device has a  scanner included.

which would be the right way to install it.

1. configure the printer via cups-webinterface..
2.how can i add the scanner (is there a howto?)..imho it will perform only with hplip..i only found the previous package (hpijs)

are there any special steps to do in hplip to include the scanner?
any experiences so far with this device?

greets günter
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: Freston on December 08, 2007, 04:10:23 am
Hi Günter,

An all-in-one is actually several devices put together in a single housing. So the printer driver wont drive the scanner. This is also true for the native Windows driver. It's just a printerdriver and a scanner driver bundled together.
For the scanner you need SANE (Scanner Access Now Easy). Just run xsane from the Graphics menu and see where that takes you. You have a good chance that that will work, because I've found SANE to live up to it's name. I have a HP all-in-one myself and it works great in all respects.

On a related note, I found my printer unsupported by the HPLIP driver in the default install. I had to update through the repo.


So yeah, just configure your printer through localhost:631 in your browser, and run xsane to get your scanner to work.
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: GrannyGeek on December 08, 2007, 02:20:29 pm
For the scanner you need SANE (Scanner Access Now Easy). Just run xsane from the Graphics menu and see where that takes you. You have a good chance that that will work, because I've found SANE to live up to it's name. I have a HP all-in-one myself and it works great in all respects.

I've always had to run sane-find-scanner first as root, then change the permissions on the device (/dev/sg0 in my case), and only then run xsane as user.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: Freston on December 08, 2007, 02:49:39 pm
Quote from: GrannyGeek
I've always had to run sane-find-scanner first as root, then change the permissions on the device (/dev/sg0 in my case), and only then run xsane as user.
--GrannyGeek
Yeah, I hear these things. I don't know why but I have never needed to chmod any of the /dev... No matter how many howto's and helpful people say that I should have. Are you in the scanner group?
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: GrannyGeek on December 08, 2007, 05:37:14 pm
I don't know why but I have never needed to chmod any of the /dev... No matter how many howto's and helpful people say that I should have. Are you in the scanner group?

I am now. I'll try to put myself in the scanner group before I try to install the scanner the next time I install VL and see if that makes a difference. I don't think it will, though, because when I check /dev/sg0 for permissions, everything belongs to root and the scanner group has no permissions.

This is the only scanner I've installed in Linux. The cheapo Lexmark all-in-one that's attached by USB to one computer prints okay in Linux, but the scanner is not supported in Linux--no way, no how. I have a Canon MFP attached to USB on another computer and the scanner supposedly works with Linux after some finagling. I've never tried to install it in Linux, but will do so once 5.9 goes Final.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 10, 2007, 02:48:41 am
so..all done

just a feedback

yesterday i migrated my fathers box from xp to soho 5.8.
the box is 8 years old (1.8 ghz with 256 ram)..btw..sufficient power..kde runs smooth

first issue: the swap partition wasnt able to install as first partition(installprog hang up at "create swap-partition..")..i struggled nearly 1 hour with that.(used gparted..partitionimage...cfdisk to manipulate the hd..no avail)
so i created / as my first partition..second swap..and third home..and all went well.weird..however.

the rest was plain sailing...

cups:psc 1100 hp is my printer...first i struggled with the webinterface: localhost:631 didnt work at the start (so i tweaked the firewall..restarted cups..workded and used a hpijs ppd..works.scanner with kooka too(excellent)

only issue is the 600 dpi resolution..but i have read about another dpp that supports higher resolutions..maybe i will try later

in my opinion the hplip toolbox is not necessary to control the printer and scanner..anyway..i have it too installed.nice feature.

btw. is there a way to change the language from other apps (like gwenview) to german..the kde-languagepack only change the kde enviroment..

to put it in a nutshell..my father was really impressed with the new os.no doubleclick..no ie...calender in panel..a home directoy only for him..kmail does the job ok too..its all new to him and my father is no geek...is a retired locksmith
vl is running smooth on this old box..and i mean it."xp was so sluggish lately.." was my fathers well used comment.

so ..a little off the topic..thanks guys for this superb distri..
(meanwhile my 2 brothers and now my father use vl on a daily basis)

greets günter


Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: Freston on December 10, 2007, 04:10:16 am
If you plug in another 256MB of RAM, your father has a better box than I have (1.5Ghz 512MB), and I'm very satisfied with performance as is. Can you imagine? An 8 year old machine still on par with the most modern systems? That is excellent!


I believe you'll need to change the language of each non-KDE application manually. Zum Beispiel Gwenview (http://ftp.qilinux.it/devel/SPECS/gwenview-i18n.spec)
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: rbistolfi on December 10, 2007, 05:36:34 am
Good conversion günter :)

Did you edited the /etc/profile.d/lang.csh and /etc/profile.d/lang.sh?
If not, edit them and replace 'en_US' with 'de' in both of them. That should give you some more German.
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 10, 2007, 01:48:02 pm
hi @freston..

thanks for the hint with gwenview..works :-)
any suggestions for xpdf and openoffice?

@rbistolfi
sorry neither of the 2 hints worked :-(

nevertheless thanks

greets günter
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: Freston on December 11, 2007, 07:58:00 am
Well, about Openoffice.org. I don't know what you want. It's easy to just install the latest German version of OOo, rather than installing a language pack as an add-on.

OOo comes as .rpm, which sometimes leads to trouble on a Slack based system such as Vector, although I never did install OOo on Vector... but I expect the same troublesas in Slackware. Truckloads of unmet dependencies. Quatsch. Install with the --nodeps flag, or do as I do and <rpm2tgz *rpm> all the needed files (you don't need every file in the download and then <installpkg *tgz> and you'll be fine.

If you choose to install only a language pack, then I wish you luck ;-) I couldn't find a language pack for the same version as is in the default Vector install. But if you feel lucky, you might try this one (http://ftp-1.gwdg.de/pub/openoffice/extended/2.2.0rc4/OOo_2.2.0rc4_20070321_LinuxIntel_langpack_de.tar.gz) (<= Link to download)(Link to German OOo =>) Link (http://de.openoffice.org/)

I don't know if xpdf has a localized version. No mention of it on the home page or ftp server, as far as I could see. But I'll confess that I did not look as thorough as I could have. Look here (http://www.foolabs.com/xpdf/) if you want to delve into this deeper. Happy hunting ;-)
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 11, 2007, 11:14:52 am
damn..
on the homepage www.de.openoffice is only a tar.gz file available...although i selected the rpm-file :-(((
maybe a bug..will try tomorrow..

anyway thanks for the links
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: Freston on December 11, 2007, 02:47:48 pm
Heheh... the .tar.gz is a compressed archive of quite a couple of rpm's and accompanying documentation.
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 12, 2007, 03:43:32 am
arghhh...

thanks for the hint :-)

greets günter
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 12, 2007, 01:27:18 pm
hi @freston

many thanks for the hint with open office
i transformed the rpms via rpm2tgz to tgz packages and installed it..worke like a charm

i did this for the first time(rpm2tg) and encountered no really obstacle

once more thanks..also in the name of my dad..he will really enjoy now his german office package

greets günter
ps: you mentioned bfore that you can install the rpm-package with "--nodeps flag"
whats the reason behind this syntax..no dependencies checking?  did it work too?

Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: Freston on December 12, 2007, 02:30:20 pm
Quote from: ghartl1
once more thanks..also in the name of my dad..he will really enjoy now his german office package
:D Sure!

Quote from: ghartl1
ps: you mentioned bfore that you can install the rpm-package with "--nodeps flag"
whats the reason behind this syntax..no dependencies checking?  did it work too?
Yeah. RPM complains about broken dependencies. For example /bin/sh doesn't exist as an executable but as a symlink to /bin/bash. Nothing to complain about. But without the --nodeps flag rpm doesn't install. There are many more broken dependencies, but none of them is fatal.
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on December 12, 2007, 02:59:57 pm
thanks for the info

greets günter
Title: Re: hplip
Post by: waynev on February 29, 2008, 02:03:32 pm
Hi Günter,

An all-in-one is actually several devices put together in a single housing. So the printer driver wont drive the scanner. This is also true for the native Windows driver. It's just a printerdriver and a scanner driver bundled together.
For the scanner you need SANE (Scanner Access Now Easy). Just run xsane from the Graphics menu and see where that takes you. You have a good chance that that will work, because I've found SANE to live up to it's name. I have a HP all-in-one myself and it works great in all respects.

On a related note, I found my printer unsupported by the HPLIP driver in the default install. I had to update through the repo.


So yeah, just configure your printer through localhost:631 in your browser, and run xsane to get your scanner to work.

I have an hp PSC 1410v All-in-One printer set up is with cups [127.0.0.1:631/printers].

Xsane is installed, but won't run as user or root.  I'm in the scanner group.  This same hp prints and scans with ubuntu 7.1.   Any suggestion would be appreciated. 
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: ghartl1 on February 29, 2008, 02:49:41 pm
did kooka recognice your scanner?

first of all you have to verify that the scanner is recogniced...

try this in konsole  :   scanimage -L

your scanner should be recogniced..that would be a good sign

 afterwards configure in cups the printer (scanner)..look below
Also scanning works fine up to 600 dpi with the SANE driver from hplip, using "HP PSC 1400 series".

did you try this driver?
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: GrannyGeek on February 29, 2008, 09:12:22 pm
For SANE, the first thing you need to do is run
sane-find-scanner
as root. That will tell you where sane thinks the scanner is. You can then find the scanner location in /dev and change the permissions so you as user (or the scanner group) is permitted to read-write-execute the device.

Then you can try running xsane as user.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: waynev on March 01, 2008, 09:58:58 am
For SANE, the first thing you need to do is run
sane-find-scanner
as root. That will tell you where sane thinks the scanner is. You can then find the scanner location in /dev and change the permissions so you as user (or the scanner group) is permitted to read-write-execute the device.

Then you can try running xsane as user.
--GrannyGeek

As Root ran "sane-find-scanner," and the response was:

Vendor=0x0x03f0 [HP]
Product=0x4d11 [PSC 1400 Series] at libusb:1;3

/usr/lib/libusb.so
/usr/lib/libusb.la
/usr/lib/libusb.a

# usb scanner (probably) detected.  It may not be suported by Sane.
    Try Scanimage -L and read the backends manpage.

"Scanimage -L" was run with the result:  No scanners were identified.

I took this information, and using the command "ls -la" at terminal discovered these current permissions:

wxrw-r--r--   1 root root   32726 2007-02-15 22:43 libusb.a
-rwxr-xr-x   1 root root     789 2007-02-15 22:43 libusb.la*
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root      19 2008-02-12 17:38 libusb.so -> libusb-0.1.so.4.4.4*

Are these the same permissions your system show?

BTW ran xsane and no scanner found.....


Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: GrannyGeek on March 01, 2008, 08:39:08 pm
I won't be at the computer with the USB scanner until Monday. I'll check then. Remind me if I forget.

Where you need to change permissions is in /dev, not in those files you listed. See if you hae a USB1 third device in /dev.

But...
Do you have a Linux driver for your scanner? If it isn't seen by sane, you need a driver from the manufacturer or some other driver that works with the scanner. Do some googling on your scanner model and Linux and see if anyone has gotten it to work and what driver they used.

Good luck! These things can be beasts to get going if they don't have sane support or a driver from the manufacturer and sometimes there's just no way to get them to work.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: solved:hplip
Post by: waynev on March 02, 2008, 07:23:36 pm
I won't be at the computer with the USB scanner until Monday. I'll check then. Remind me if I forget.

Where you need to change permissions is in /dev, not in those files you listed. See if you hae a USB1 third device in /dev.

But...
Do you have a Linux driver for your scanner? If it isn't seen by sane, you need a driver from the manufacturer or some other driver that works with the scanner. Do some googling on your scanner model and Linux and see if anyone has gotten it to work and what driver they used.

Good luck! These things can be beasts to get going if they don't have sane support or a driver from the manufacturer and sometimes there's just no way to get them to work.
--GrannyGeek



Appreciate your continued support and input on this.  I'll follow up on your suggestions.