VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => General Development => Topic started by: M0E-lnx on December 05, 2007, 10:28:32 am

Title: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on December 05, 2007, 10:28:32 am
Many of you have already seen the new Configuration GUI for VL 5.9 called VasmCC.
The original idea came from a conversation uelsk8s and I had on IRC. He asked if this could be done, and I gave it a shot. That's the story of how VasmCC was born.
I think a propper introduction of this application is overdue, so here it goes

What it is
VasmCC is not meant to replace vasm. Instead, VasmCC is simply a small application written in Gambas2 that is extremely expandable. In fact, VasmCC uses the original VASM to do what it does. VasmCC simply dresses up the options (up to some level) and allows easy access to system settings using vasm.

How does it work?
VasmCC reads .desktop files and acts according to the information on these files. You can have as many .desktop files as you want / need for each category.

What's with the name?
VasmCC is for "VASM Control Center"

Now that we've got that cleared out, Please report any bugs / problems you encounter while using this application on VectorLinux 5.9 here on this thread. Please include as many details as you can.

My creativity is somewhat limited sometimes, so suggestions are also welcome
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on December 19, 2007, 07:40:32 am
Maybe this was already reported elsewhere, but I couldn't add a user using VasmCC (although it works using VASM) using VL 5.9 RC3 .
In the UID screen it gives me a message sating that UIDs need to be integers. It didn't accept the default 1001, and I tried typing it myself as well, with no luck.

Thanks.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on December 19, 2007, 08:11:24 am
I'm not sure what is causing this problem here... I've heard about, I'll take a look at the code when I get a chance
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 19, 2007, 08:28:33 am
I'm not sure what is causing this problem here... I've heard about, I'll take a look at the code when I get a chance

I have no idea how the hell vasmCC influences the execution of vuseradd, but it is fixed by replacing line 109 in vuseradd with

Code: [Select]
  elif [ "`echo $U_ID | perl -wnle 'print unless /^\d+$/'`" ]; then
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on December 19, 2007, 08:41:33 am
vasmCC does not influence the call to vuseradd. It just executes this line in the .desktop file
Code: [Select]
Exec=<this_is_what_vasmcc_executes>
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 19, 2007, 08:48:13 am
vasmCC does not influence the call to vuseradd. It just executes this line in the .desktop file
Code: [Select]
Exec=<this_is_what_vasmcc_executes>

Apparently it has some influence  ???
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: kidd on December 24, 2007, 03:08:46 am
The partitioning program (under Filesystem section) seems its not correctly linked to vasmCC.

VL5.9 std
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on December 26, 2007, 08:15:15 am
The partitioning program (under Filesystem section) seems its not correctly linked to vasmCC.

VL5.9 std

Look @ the .desktop file and try to execute the partitioning program by hand... if it does, then the .desktop file itself may need some tweaking
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 02, 2008, 05:46:12 am
The problem is definitely in the partitioning program (vfdisk) . At least here ( 5.9 deluxe), vfdisk does not work in VasmCC, "plain" vasm, or in the command line, and instead shows up Xdialog.
(As I reported, I think in RC3, it worked in normal vasm, but not in VasmCC; none of them work now).
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: uelsk8s on January 02, 2008, 07:18:35 am
The problem is definitely in the partitioning program (vfdisk) . At least here ( 5.9 deluxe), vfdisk does not work in VasmCC, "plain" vasm, or in the command line, and instead shows up Xdialog.
(As I reported, I think in RC3, it worked in normal vasm, but not in VasmCC; none of them work now).
vfdisk works here(5.9 deluxe) in all 3.
how many hard drives do you have?
 
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 02, 2008, 02:39:40 pm
Quote
vfdisk works here(5.9 deluxe) in all 3.
how many hard drives do you have?

Strnge  :o  I have only one hard drive... a SATA one.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 04, 2008, 09:10:19 am
Annoyance:
I still have not tried this myself (working together with the entire distro that is), but i read a review where some of the settings listed on vasmCC cannot be ran under X.
I would suggest removing these from vasmCC if they will only lead the user to a dead-end screen.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: rbistolfi on January 04, 2008, 10:28:04 am
A very minor one: I noticed that changing the window size or maximizing the app has no use and make vasm to look weird. Could the window have a non-modificable size?
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 04, 2008, 10:36:03 am
We could, but the reason I made it resizable is because of the different desktop sizes. if I make it small enough to fit in a 640x480 then it'll look way too small to the people with big screens. With that said, I think it should be left resizable, that way if you have a large display, you can resize it to whatever you like, dont need to maximize it if you dont want to
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 04, 2008, 10:50:05 am
Quote
you can resize it to whatever you like, dont need to maximize it if you dont want to

And any chance of having it remember the dimensions (and perhaps desktop position) of the previous run?
I find I have to resize it everytime I use it, using a 1440x900 display, or I get some of the icons not showing and, IIRC, no scroll bar.

Thanks a lot!
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: rbistolfi on January 04, 2008, 10:55:57 am
We could, but the reason I made it resizable is because of the different desktop sizes. if I make it small enough to fit in a 640x480 then it'll look way too small to the people with big screens. With that said, I think it should be left resizable, that way if you have a large display, you can resize it to whatever you like, dont need to maximize it if you dont want to

I see. I dont need to maximize the window, but while resizing I lost the proportions and aligns. That's why I though shouldn't be resizable. I was not aware of the resolution problem, sorry.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 04, 2008, 11:59:49 am
Quote
and, IIRC, no scroll bar

My mistake, the scroll bar IS there. Sorry.
The icons display fine, it's just that they don't all fit in that space...

But it's not a big deal. I'm just a big fan of position and dimensions remembering...
That's why I used to love fluxbox, and probably the only thing I miss in xfce.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 04, 2008, 01:36:00 pm
i guess with a little more work i can make it remember size and position
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: GrannyGeek on January 04, 2008, 09:59:36 pm
Annoyance:
I still have not tried this myself (working together with the entire distro that is), but i read a review where some of the settings listed on vasmCC cannot be ran under X.
I would suggest removing these from vasmCC if they will only lead the user to a dead-end screen.

That was my initial reaction, but as I thought about it more I decided it was wise to keep it there even though you can't run it from the GUI. The reason is that a new user may not even think of VASM until he/she tries it in the GUI. So if there's nothing in VASMCC, a new user may not realize the option is available. Maybe we need a more detailed description of what to do, such as "You cannot run Hardware Config while you're in the graphical desktop. You need to exit to a console and run VASM there."

Of course, this will bring the newbie face-to-face with the difficulty of getting out of X when you log in with run level 4 or 5. And how do you explain in a simple way how to start a text console? It's not hard, but it sure is wordy. That's one reason I use run level 2--I can't stand how that blasted X server never quits if you log out of the graphical desktop.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 04, 2008, 10:01:24 pm
that is true...
maybe a better explanation should do the trick
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 04, 2008, 10:57:32 pm
I also think that the option should stay there regardless, because the user wouldn't know that the option exists.

Quote
That's one reason I use run level 2--I can't stand how that blasted X server never quits if you log out of the graphical desktop.

You can always write "init 2" in a console. Perhaps the text in VasmCC should say that. Or maybe VasmCC itself (and VASM) could launch init 2, by just asking for the root password. Of course, the problem here is that the user should be aware that whatever is in X is going to disappear for good. Or perhaps explain the Ctrl-Alt-F2 procedure... but yes, it is a bit complicated.
Or maybe a text in the window itself (above the icons, for example) that explains this, instead of the user having to click on it and getting a message....
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 04, 2008, 10:58:47 pm
Now that I think about it, I think when doing Ctrl-Alt-F2, it would still not launch from the console, because there is an instance of X running.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: uelsk8s on January 04, 2008, 11:37:55 pm
we can script it to switch to init 2 and run from there.
but we would have to make an "are you sure" type warning for that as well
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 05, 2008, 07:15:38 am
we can script it to switch to init 2 and run from there.
but we would have to make an "are you sure" type warning for that as well
A lot of people will prolly get scared if they see their graphics gone with a click though...
but I think the scripting should be good
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: wcs on January 05, 2008, 08:11:07 am
Quote
A lot of people will prolly get scared if they see their graphics gone with a click though...

True... Maybe a single sentence together with the "Are you sure?" question, explaining that to get back to the graphical environment you just need to type startx or init 4.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: Joe1962 on January 05, 2008, 12:49:13 pm
i guess with a little more work i can make it remember size and position

M0E-lnx: remember this thread?: http://www.linuxbasic.net/index.php?topic=288
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: M0E-lnx on January 05, 2008, 01:14:08 pm
yes i do. I will get this coded into vasmCC as soon as I get gambas installed
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: idflux on July 06, 2008, 12:02:39 pm
Hello,

        I'm running VL5.9 Lite RC2
      
        There appears to be a bug here...
      
        After GUI login to Fluxbox, I logout and get dropped to the command line, and have to logout again. In order to get the GUI login screen back I have to reboot.
      
       rbistolfi (#vectorlinux) recommended login from another console [without rebooting] I was still
greeted with the command line login.
      
       VLbSplash-switch is stuck on Vector Bluewave login.

       "Login Failed" for Vector Bluewave is not centered between the password:field and
<session system enter> menu; it is overlaying on top of the menu.
Title: Re: VasmCC Bug Report Thread & Introduction
Post by: lagagnon on September 05, 2009, 06:48:14 pm
Just noticed this bug in VASMCC, VL 6.0 Standard (it has been reported in one other thread but not responded to as far as I know):

vasmcc, click "Utilities" - this throws the error:

[-1] Unable to load image. Mfiles.?.0

EDIT: SOLVED:

I had removed vpackager as a not required item for this install on a friend's machine and that breaks the code in vasmCC as it needs to find vpackager.png to function properly....