VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Hardware & Drivers => Topic started by: oui on December 11, 2007, 01:31:24 pm

Title: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 11, 2007, 01:31:24 pm
bonjour
it is possible to repeat partially the installation only of this point?
salut


using Vector Linux 5.1 STD on DELL Optiflex SX270 with Celeron and Intel Chip Set
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 11, 2007, 01:56:39 pm
Have you checked the mixer settings? Sound may simply be muted and/or volume turned down.
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 11, 2007, 03:51:41 pm
bonjour

I did try it but the mixer starts but don't stay open on the screen.

are the settings also to find in a file and to edit manually?

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 11, 2007, 04:01:38 pm
bonjour

I did try it but the mixer starts but don't stay open on the screen.

are the settings also to find in a file and to edit manually?

salut


Which mixer did you use? Try 'alsamixer' (at the command line). To unmute a channel, you simply press 'M' when it's selected. You can see whether a channel is muted by the two characters that appear at the bottom of the channel level: when a channel is muted, so will you see 'MM' in pale blue.

Any GUI mixer program would work though. Which one did you use? Did it simply disappear because you moved your mouse away from the window, and the window lost focus?
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 12, 2007, 03:38:05 pm
bonjour

I did reinstall a 3rd time to try the 2 offered options of sound card.

at boot time comes an error message:

after the comment
"initializing hardware"
comes
"setting up modules failed"

by starting the alsamixer in aterm comes the error message
"function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory"

i did look for an other newer version of Vector Linux 5.1 STD but it seems that this version is abandoned?

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 12, 2007, 06:38:55 pm
Hmmm...

What kind of sound card do you have?
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 13, 2007, 01:13:03 pm
bonjour

under m$-windows XP, the sound card announced by the system is legacy

but vl says at installation time "no legacy cards found" (and the other option, "intel08x0 82801EB/ER ICH5/ICH5R" don't work better)

all the other things of vl seem to work properly.

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 13, 2007, 01:34:17 pm
Crap, is that an old ISA PnP card you have?
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 13, 2007, 03:45:25 pm
bonjour

I don't know, and did never have problems with sound in linux but other problems (i have slackware 12, xubuntu, the newest version, knoppix, and puppy linux, and i did erase zen linux by installing vector)!

for this reason my knowledge concerning sound is really little: sound works always! I don't know where are the files with the parameters for sound or sound card or sound protocol!

my PC is not new but not absolutely old (celeron 2 gHz, ram 1 Mb, HD 80 Mb) but it is more the conception of a laptop (it is not a laptop but as the same size) as of a tower!

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 13, 2007, 04:00:29 pm
for this reason my knowledge concerning sound is really little: sound works always! I don't know where are the files with the parameters for sound or sound card or sound protocol!

Hmm...

What does /sbin/lspci say?
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 15, 2007, 08:07:05 am
bonjour

What does /sbin/lspci say?

lspci did find the equipment of the pc made of Intel stuff (82865/PE/P DRAM/Host-Hub Interf., 82801EB/ER USB, LPC Bridge, Ultra ATA 100 Storage, SMBus Contr., AC'97 Audio Contr., 82801BA/CA/DB/EB/ER PCI Bridge,  82540EM Ethernet

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: Triarius Fidelis on December 15, 2007, 09:40:31 pm
I have the same model of sound card. What happens when you type 'modprobe snd-via82xx' as root?
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 16, 2007, 07:19:37 am
bonjour

thank you for the formidable patience!

"init_module: No such device" "insmod failed"

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: oui on December 16, 2007, 02:44:06 pm
bonjour

bonjour
it is possible to repeat partially the installation only of this point?
salut


using Vector Linux 5.1 STD on DELL Optiflex SX270 with Celeron and Intel Chip Set

today I had time to download and install the Vector Linux 5.9RC3 STD and Vector Linux 5.8 STD

5.9 don't install at all  :'( , but 5.8 works very good including sound without any difficulty) so I will use it now. thank you for your help

surprise: it seems that the use of the seamonkey suite is obligatory! I don't understand why... but the other parts are beautiful!

salut

Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: easuter on December 17, 2007, 02:31:04 am
Quote
surprise: it seems that the use of the seamonkey suite is obligatory! I don't understand why... but the other parts are beautiful!

Firefox is also included with VL 5.8. You can use the GSlapt package manager to install Thunderbird as well, if thats your prefered email client ;)
Title: now sound works! and webcam + internet phone?
Post by: oui on December 17, 2007, 09:26:04 am
bonjour

certainly, but 5.1 STD did contain mainly firefox and it is enough. seamonkey is a big consument of room on the harddisk for one never using it as I. I would better desintall it it I find a way to do that (for me, the email client of seamonkey is not usuable at all: the keyboard configuration is not ok, and I find no easy way to change the keyboard, so I can't write "at" at all and so no one email address! the same keyboard works properly installed in 5.1 STD exactly in the same way. it is the CH_fr od CH_de keyboard because it is possible to write the most European languages with the swiss keyboard very properly)

ok, now sound works

I am not finish. I would like to use my webcam to phone or chat camera assisted in Vector because my friends can't see that I work in a restrictive linux system.

is Vector able to use the webcam directly?

is the installation of a programm like ekiga / kopete with webcam easy?

salut
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: nightflier on December 17, 2007, 09:51:18 am
Don't know about webcams, but you can uninstall Seamonkey using Gslapt.
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: rbistolfi on December 17, 2007, 10:04:24 am
I can use my Logitech Quickcam without troubles in 5.9, using the gspca driver. I tested it with aMsn, Kopete and the beta of Skype 2.something (previous versions has no video support). The driver was easy to compile, but in 5.9, I don't know if it will work in 5.1.

BTW, I think I remember some post mentioning seamonkey is required for the configuration scripts that needs  browsing, i.e. cups service.
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: wcs on January 01, 2008, 03:35:12 pm
I also set up my Logitech with the gspca driver, and works (mostly) fine with Skype Beta and amsn.
You just need to download the gspca driver and run gspca_build.
Title: Re: sound don't work at all
Post by: The Headacher on January 02, 2008, 03:01:34 am
BTW, I think I remember some post mentioning seamonkey is required for the configuration scripts that needs  browsing, i.e. cups service.
Actually, those scripts probably use the BROWSER environment variable. It can be changed in ~/.bashrc .