VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => Distro development => Topic started by: Witek Mozga on February 04, 2008, 07:34:13 am

Title: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: Witek Mozga on February 04, 2008, 07:34:13 am
VL light is supposed to work on older hardware for desktop usage. I wonder what kind of machines people use with graphical interface nowadays (not for server/router purposes).
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop?
Post by: Sivatheja on February 04, 2008, 08:39:03 am
I'm under impression that AMD processors do not have enough cache and use RAM instead, that make them economical, and slow as well when compared to the ones in Intel.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop?
Post by: tomh38 on February 04, 2008, 10:42:47 am
The only one I have that's not in pieces in the basement.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop?
Post by: caitlyn on February 04, 2008, 12:08:10 pm
I don't have a desktop per se.  I use laptops exclusively at the moment.  A Nano-ITX box may change that soon.

Just because I own a faster machine which I use most of the time doesn't mean I don't want VL-Light or VL-Mini.  I still own two Toshiba Libretto SS1010s, each about the side of a paperback book.  I am considering an Asus Eee PC as a replacement for one or both, but... the Libretti still can do a lot of work.  Their specs:  Pentium 233MHz processor, 96MB or RAM in one, 64MB in the other.  I'm not about to throw them away.  Trimming down VL to run on them is a pain but it works well in the end.  A newcomer to Linux couldn't do it.  Having a ready-to-go slim VL is a wonderful thing.  Kudos to the developers of the light versions.

VL has a long history of catering to low end machines.  It's how this distro got it's start.  Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the new 64-bit version as well.  I just think having this variety of versions, all based on the same code, is a good thing.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop?
Post by: Witek Mozga on February 04, 2008, 12:59:46 pm
I don't have a desktop per se.  I use laptops exclusively at the moment. 

I meant "desktop" for graphical interface usage - ergo: laptops included. I`ve just modified the poll title .
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: BlueMage on February 04, 2008, 04:08:50 pm
I'm actually thinking that, with the release of VL64, I may retire my old ex-work machine.  It's served me well and all, but now I can run a Vector on my beast that's going to take advantage of the hardware in it.  I couldn't ask for more.

Funnily enough, even on my beast, Ubububu lags.  That amuses me no end.

And despite the ridiculous power of my desktop, I'm considering a Eee to replace my now-four-years-old Acer Travelmate.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: rbistolfi on February 04, 2008, 04:23:33 pm
BlueMage: VL in a quad-core must be amazing  :o, it really flies on my new 4200+ and I am planning to put my old Pentium-S up for experiments, btw.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: nubcnubdo on February 04, 2008, 05:04:06 pm
My test box is a 450 MHz Pentium 3, 192 MB ram, 10.2 GB hdd. I have put VL on a 350 MHz P2 computer and sold it as a DVD player, more or less.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: nightflier on February 04, 2008, 06:04:01 pm
My main box is a P4-2.4. I bought it specifically because it is the slowest P4 with the "800 MHz" FSB. As such it is a very cool running chip, typically running around 25 C.

I don't know if it's considered "very fast" compared to the newer chips which achieve better speed at much lower operating frequencies.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: BlueMage on February 04, 2008, 07:48:15 pm
BlueMage: VL in a quad-core must be amazing  :o, it really flies on my new 4200+ and I am planning to put my old Pentium-S up for experiments, btw.

Funnily enough, Vista still boots faster, and is usable in less time than Vector is.  But damn, once Vector IS up and running ... man does that baby FLY!
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: GrannyGeek on February 04, 2008, 09:29:00 pm
I was going to suggest to people that they should put Vector on their *fastest* computer, not the old slug they're trying to figure out what to do with. Running VL on a fast computer is a tremendous pleasure.

I had been too busy of late to install VL 5.9 Standard Deluxe on my Athlon 64 desktop (it's on the other three computers). Yesterday I finally did it. I had actually been considering making my 1.3 GHz computer my main Linux computer because VL runs very well on it. One thing that was discouraging me was the noise the computer makes due to loud fans. I removed the case fan and have found that it was the worst noise source and isn't needed, as the heatsink fan moves a lot of air very fast and temperatures inside the computer are not hot. So that computer is now quiet enough for extensive use instead of primarily as a test bad and beta testing machine.

Well, that scheme changed when I installed VL on the Athlon desktop. It runs like a dream there and is noticeably faster than VL on the 1.3 GHz. VL is great on all my computers (specs below), but on the Athlon 64 desktop it's by far the best. Having a vast amount of disk space doesn't hurt, either.

I'd love to have an eee but absolutely don't need one, so until both of my laptops and my PDA flip their last bit, I'll be eee-less. By then I hope installing VL on an eee will be commonplace.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: BlueMage on February 04, 2008, 09:53:02 pm
I'd love to have an eee but absolutely don't need one, so until both of my laptops and my PDA flip their last bit, I'll be eee-less. By then I hope installing VL on an eee will be commonplace.
--GrannyGeek

That's exactly my problem - an Eee would be little more than an expensive toy for me, as I've really got no need of one.  That doesn't change the fact that I want one :)
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: caitlyn on February 04, 2008, 10:01:41 pm
GrannyGeek:  You might want to try the beta of VL64 on your Athlon.  It's looking quite good already...  Some bugs (see the relevant thread) but not bad at all for a beta. 
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: GrannyGeek on February 04, 2008, 10:13:58 pm
GrannyGeek:  You might want to try the beta of VL64 on your Athlon.  It's looking quite good already...  Some bugs (see the relevant thread) but not bad at all for a beta. 

Already in my plans! I have a major project that I hope to get wrapped up by early next week and then I'll install the 64-bit VL. When I installed 5.9 Standard Deluxe yesterday I repartitioned the space for Linux and left 13 gigs empty for testing VL64. That will be the first 64-bit software I've tried on this machine and you can imagine how curious I am to see whether I notice a difference.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: caitlyn on February 04, 2008, 10:18:32 pm
GrannyGeek:  For most everyday tasks you won't notice any real difference at all.  For tasks that hit the CPU very hard is where you see the advantages.  For example my housemate is a gamer and quite the artist.  She does a lot of multimedia work including some very intensive 3D rendering.  She definitely sees the improvement in running a 64-bit OS, both for multimedia work and some games.

I'm told if you have >4GB of RAM the difference is even more pronounced but I don't have a machine here with anywhere near that... yet.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: bigpaws on February 05, 2008, 05:23:42 am
My Network includes at least one
of each category, except slow.

The defined "slow" machines are firewalls
and other types of servers.

Bigpaws
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: Freston on February 07, 2008, 03:36:30 am
I've got a 2.0 dual core, so I voted fast, although one might argue that 2x2.0 is different from a 1x2.0Ghz.

Anyway, I'm of the mind that a fast machine needs a fast OS. I mean, nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?  :P
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: The Headacher on February 07, 2008, 08:17:52 am
Quote
nobody buys a Porsche to pull a heavy trailer now do they?
Guess again:
(http://static.autoblog.nl/images/porsche_cayenne_trekhaak.jpg)
(http://www.metrompg.com/posts/photos/hybrid-944-pusher.jpg)

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:_wvwF3iH9tCASM:http://www.autoblog.nl/images/wp2007/Porsche%2520997%2520caravan%252002.jpg) (http://www.autoblog.nl/images/wp2007/Porsche%20997%20caravan%2002.jpg)
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:http://gallery.rennlist.com/cayennealbums/Kevins-04-S/adt.sized.jpg) (http://gallery.rennlist.com/cayennealbums/Kevins-04-S/adt.sized.jpg)

Or, if you can't choose which Porsche you want to take today:
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:a0ADz6XFUy2fZM:http://www.edmunds.com/media/ownership/safety/safer.utility.vehicles/trailer.test.500.jpg) (http://a332.g.akamai.net/f/332/936/12h/www.edmunds.com/media/ownership/safety/safer.utility.vehicles/trailer.test.500.jpg)
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: Freston on February 08, 2008, 01:52:59 am
Yeah I know... I see a lot of Porsche Cayenne's in these parts. It irritates me. I feel people need to make decisions, either you drive an off the road vehicle, or you drive a sports car. If you want to have something that is both, you'll end up with a device that is neither...
(http://www.hofele.com/design/en/Accessories/Largo_RS_20/img/hofele-design_largo_rs_20_porsche_cayenne.jpg)
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: BlueMage on February 08, 2008, 04:41:24 am
THANK YOU!!  I'm not the only one who finds those things to be hideous monstrosities of poor design, low imagination and a belief that customers will shut up and pay when SURELY their common sense tells them they're driving a death trap!  Gods those things make me want to puke a fat one!

It is PRECISELY because of that model (and BMWs X5 and whatever the hells Mercedes is offering smiliar) that I have boycotted Porsche, BMW and Mercedes.  I will not buy a car from them.  Ever.

These damn things are deathtraps waiting to happen - take a corner as though you're in a sports car, SHIT sorry skippy, you're top-heavy and you ROLLED it!  Too bad about your kids, eh?  They were in the back y'know, that part that's now crushed.

Yeah, I get a tad worked up over this.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: tncanuck on February 20, 2008, 03:39:51 pm
My main machine: Slow (300-800MHz) Athlon 650MHz, 320Mb RAM, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard Gold exclusively. I did put Vector on my *fastest* computer, not sure what sivatheja meant by the reference to AMD. I think this thing will fly compared to what it will do under MS-Win. Open Office starts faster than with my wife's Celeron 2.66GHz running XP.

My Frankenstein machine: Very slow (below 300MHz) Pentium 133MHz, 128Mb RAM running DSL. It will play MP3s while I read the news online. Is this a candidate for VL Light? I would like to know, and it would need a boot floppy.

What is a "quad-core"? Any duct tape involved?...Just kidding :)

tncanuck

Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: BlueMage on February 20, 2008, 04:24:56 pm
The duct-tape would make it more hardcore :D  But no.  The quad-core in question be this (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_2_Duo#Kentsfield) and I must say, it works a treat.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: SmartDuck on March 17, 2008, 01:10:34 am
My main machine is a HP Pavilion dv6000, AMD Sepron 3400+, 1 GB mem, 128 mb nVidia 6150. VL 5.9 STD fits perfectly, snappy, fast.
I use it mainly for internet/mail/programming and artwork (and 3D modelling with Art Of Illusion).
For testing on old hardware I have a little :) Dell CPi running at 266 Mhz with 64 MB ram.
My previous laptop, a Dell D505, 1.2 GHz, 512 MB mem, went to my oldest doughter, running Sabayon 3.4e.
And there is a Win XP machine a Compaq Armada E700, 900 Mhz and 512 MB, mainly used by my wife for Might And Magic and internet etc.
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: kc1di on March 23, 2008, 05:52:05 am
My main system is a Gateway 1.2 GHZ 1gig Ram
other machines include  Dell 1.2 Ghz 384 MB ram
mongrel -- 950MHZ AMD  512 MB Ram
old Toshiba Sattile Laptop 600 MHZ 384 MB Ram
Use Vector with good sucess on all of them.

 :)
Title: Re: What computer do you use as desktop/laptop?
Post by: Tommy599 on May 25, 2008, 12:30:27 pm
My main system: 2.66 GHz Intel, 160GB, 1GB with XP pro SP3
My secondary system I use for Unix-related homework:
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 500Mhz, 20GB, 128MB -VL light B2 as main configured os, VL light RC1 and DSL as trials.
 In the summer I'll move  on to RC1 or 2 whatever will be the newest VL light then. I love configuring it, doing things manually but I rarely have the time. (and I have lots of configuring to do, etc. make the lid button shutdown the machine cause I'm lazy to do it by hand, customize everything I can and so on :P)

p.s.: the Cayenne thing, it really dilluted the Porsche brand but it also brought it a huge amount of money for Porsche. It's thinking about buying WV, it would have done so long ago if it wasn't for the german authorities nosing in...