VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => Distro development => Topic started by: uelsk8s on March 25, 2008, 07:13:23 am

Title: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: uelsk8s on March 25, 2008, 07:13:23 am
Please post any bugs here.

Let us know how wishcd works for your burning needs.

Let us know how the CK kernel works for you.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nubcnubdo on March 25, 2008, 01:41:32 pm
Ugh, the SliTaz iso downloads at 13kB/s, 40 minutes to get 25MB. I tried to "Blank" the cdrw disk with WishCD, no go.
Code: [Select]
cdrecord: Bad option: dev=Contrary to reviews I have read about WishCD, the "Pick" button did provide a file browser. But when I browsed to the directory containing the ISO, it was not visible, as if the option to view a certain file type was deselected.

Having difficulty with multitasking with Opera, multiple instances of Opera running. If I have a video playing in one window (tab), the video gets shut off if I close another tab. Actions in one window (tab) carry over to other windows (tabs) that are running.

Are Opera fonts different? Fonts don't look so ugly this time around.

I guess I forgot how to access Fluxbox window manager. When I press F1 at login, I get a confirmation that the current session is JWM, but there is no option to select window managers. After pressing F1,  the mouse cursor becomes an "X" and thus becomes ineffectual, as far as I can tell. For login, user cannot  advance mouse cursor to next field by pressing Tab; only Enter advances cursor to next field (Password). If F1 is not the way to call window manager selection dialog, then the login interface should inform user how to call this dialog. The special commands at the login, particularly Exit, do not work per instructions, and it isn't clear that pressing Enter twice applies to all the above commands (?).

Hopefully, we can do better than this, but SliTaz uses Burnbox burning software.
http://burnbox.lazarusid.com/
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on March 26, 2008, 06:39:51 am
The SLIM login manager does have quirks and limitations. It is included because of it's small size. Use Enter to advance between fields. Press F1 twice to select Fluxbox. KDM is much more capable.

Opera has been upgraded and yes, it does look better.

Thank You for testing!
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: drbutcherm on March 26, 2008, 10:13:20 am
My armada 1750 keeps shutting down because of overheating.  It did it twice during the install, and does it now during normal use.  Is there any way to address that?  I don't know if the fan is not getting activate.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nubcnubdo on March 26, 2008, 04:48:51 pm
You need to monitor the cpu fan for activity when fixing this problem. On some older computers, the fan cuts off during boot because of competition between the BIOS and the kernel for power management control. The solution is to disable both APM and ACPI in BIOS and to append LILO for APM power management. As a first step, try disabling both APM and ACPI in BIOS. You probably won't be able to shut down properly, but at least the cpu fan won't cut off. Then append LILO for APM power management.

Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on March 27, 2008, 06:56:11 am
Nicely done on this one guys

First impressions
* Opera fonts have been fixed... looks much better
* Performance is getting much more stable

PROBLEMS
* I have 2 network cards here... (both wired) eth1 and eth0 keep swapping on me. Results in network access not auto-starting
* Bootsplash doesn't work here (never has in vl light)
* Boot console looks ugly, I'm unable to get vga=791 to work

Annoyances
* The default font size and window size for xterm is too big

Other than that, All fine here

Booting the ck1 kernel... Works nicely
Not sure what the difference is from that to the other kernel, but both seem to work
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: MikeCindi on April 01, 2008, 05:43:48 pm
So far everything I've tried works well (which is not too much yet as I just got it loaded). No problems with setup via vinstall-iso, hibernate works as it should on my machine. The fonts are looking okay for me. VLwifi setup the wireless adapter using ndiswrapper as it should (thus I am here now).
Pressing F1 multiple times to switch between WMs is not intuitive as one would expect a dropdown or some such dialog.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 01, 2008, 05:56:37 pm
I'm about to install it into my old box. anyone got any idea why i can't get good video during boot? bootsplash is not working here. i can only boot in vga=normal. which gives me a 400X600 screen during boot. 3 installs all on intel chips giving the same results.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: MikeCindi on April 01, 2008, 06:23:58 pm
I have an intel chip on my laptop and I've not had issues so I wouldn't know what to suggest.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: Vanger on April 02, 2008, 07:25:35 am
By the way, had anyone install intel drivers from intellinuxgraphics? I got https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=15278

slim doesn't remember last used window manager. Annoying.

Still _no_ cyrillic fonts.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 02, 2008, 05:39:48 pm
Eureka! This build installed and booted up flawlessly. Up until now, the only other distro that could handle my ancient thinkpad 380z was DeLi (and I've tried to install - literally - 32 distros on it). Well, actually it was 2. VL Soho also installed, but it was too much for the little machine to run. Meanwhile, the login bug I experienced with previous VL builds is fixed with this build. For more on that (now solved) bug, see: http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5738.0.

My next task will be getting this build of VL to detect and configure my wifi and ethernet pcmcia cards. At the moment, they are both lifeless and cold.

I send my thanks and congratulations to the developers of VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3. Huzzah!
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 04, 2008, 09:41:54 am
A couple of follow-ups:

Networking: Both jwm and fluxbox automatically detect and configure my ethernet pcmcia. However, wifi is more complicated. Jwm detects and configures the card, but it will not permit me to change wireless networks, regardless of whether I use the gui utility or the command line. From the gui, jwm accepts all of my inputs, but it doesn't actually change the network. From the command line, my essid entry is not recognized, regardless of which available essid I enter. As a result, in jwm I am stuck with whichever wifi network is picked up first, and I cannot change it. In contrast, wifi works without flaw in fluxbox.

Audio: Here, both jwm and fluxbox function identically. Alsa detects my card and configures it, but still it will not play sound. This is true whether I accept the initial setup that Alsa offers after hardware detection, and it is also true if I ask Alsa to probe for legacy drivers. In both cases, Alsa configures the card, but I cannot play any media. The two media types I have tried are .mp3 files and streaming audio from internet radio. In these cases, xmms is properly called up and the browser plugin reports that it is functioning properly, but there is no sound. With .mp3s, a popup informs me that I should check to see if the card is configured properly and if there is another program blocking access to the card. In all cases, I am unable to run the Alsa mixer. When I try to call it up, a terminal pops open for about 1/10 of a second, and then it disappears.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 04, 2008, 12:39:57 pm
JWM vs. Fluxbox and WiFi: Weird that there should be any difference. Do you use the same programs/procedures in both environments? What happens if you configure wifi in fluxbox, then switch to JWM?

Alsa mixer: Try opening up a terminal, then run alsamixer and see if you get any helpful error messages.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 04, 2008, 02:50:51 pm
I am working on a solarpowered PC - I choose an Alix.1c with a 2 GB Transcend 44Pin Flash Modul as root and a 8 GB CF card as home - it needs only 7W

I tested antiX, Arch and Vector Light - and I like Vector Light most - it is the quickest - and I really like it very much. It gives my little computer the possibility to be a really quick desktop

Now my questions

1) Why Vector light is so big?

antix is 1 GB, fluxbuntu is 1,3 GB, Arch is 1,2 GB Vector light has 1,8 GB - I installed as less as possible and I am now with Openoffice on more than 2 GB. (And it must be Openoffice, because abiword has to much Prblems with MS Office documents)
For my installation root must fit on 1,7GB, because I need also a small swap partition  on the 2GB Transcend Flash Module.

are there installation files left? why all the whireless tools are installed by default?

2) Why you take Opera? it is not faster than Firefox - if you want a lightwight browser take Konqueror Embedded

3) could you add conky - it is a nice tool especially for fluxbox - generallly I have no idea, why you use jwm as default window manager - it is not quicker than fluxbox and I would say quite ugly - it reminds me to Win98 -  here is a screenshot of my adopted fluxbox:
http://www.kult-ex.org/sendnet/vector-alix.jpg  (http://www.kult-ex.org/sendnet/vector-alix.jpg)

4) skype 2.0 in the repositories is a) not working - b) too big. The Skype 1.4.0.118 package of http://www.slacky.eu (http://www.slacky.eu) works nice

5) openoffice in the repositories is not working too - it opens all the time the OO-start dialoge, whenever you start it

thanks for this release

kultex
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 04, 2008, 04:02:09 pm
1) VL Light is not small. It has the standard VL base that is quite full featured. In this first round, emphasis is on providing a UI suitable for lower power machines without sacrificing functionality.

2) Opera is fast and good on RAM usage. It also provides e-mail, IRC, news and bittorrent clients.

3) Conky is in repo. JWM works well with pcmanfm which enables vl-hot desktop icons.

4-5) Will look into it.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 05, 2008, 05:25:40 am
sorry - I just recognized, that I am working on Beta 2 - perhaps, there is a difference in the repositories - because in mine, there is no conky package - I am just donloading Beta 3 and will try it
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 05, 2008, 08:14:44 am
JWM vs. Fluxbox and WiFi: Weird that there should be any difference. Do you use the same programs/procedures in both environments? What happens if you configure wifi in fluxbox, then switch to JWM?

I thought that was weird, too. Just for giggles, I wiped my hard drive and reinstalled vector fresh. My son has my wifi card at the moment, but as soon as he surrenders it, I'll try the configuration again from within both desktops and report my results.

Alsa mixer: Try opening up a terminal, then run alsamixer and see if you get any helpful error messages.

I've been doing a lot of googling. My chip is a CS4237B, which should be controlled by the Alsa cs4235-9 driver. But in reality, there's no joy. Apparently, the problem is that the interface for this chip is ISA and Alsa does not handle ISA interfaces natively. I have been finding a whole slew of seemingly random advice about how to configure Alsa to play nice with this interface and chip, but nothing conclusive. If anyone has any experience or advice in this area, please let me know.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 05, 2008, 09:03:23 am
kultex, the repositories are the same for both versions. You need to enable the "extra" source in gslapt. Click Edit > Preferences > Sources and check the box next to "extra". You may want "testing" as well.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 05, 2008, 09:06:33 am
VgnFrnd, ISA cards can be a challenge. Add "pnpdump" and "isapnp" to your searches.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 05, 2008, 11:27:42 am
I'm unable to resolv names hostnames from VL-Light

My setup:
One laptop (5.9 STD)
One old Desktop box (VL-Light b3)

my /etc/resolv.conf look exactly the same on both machines
Code: [Select]
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
nameserver 192.168.0.1

my laptop can resolve names, but the desktop (with vl-light) can't.

any ideas what else I can check to see what the problem might be?
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 05, 2008, 12:19:13 pm
I have activated both - extra and testing - it is not in.

I tried today to install Beta3 on my Compaq Ipaq (PIII-1000) with the integrated Grafic Chip - the linux driver for it is X86-video-i810 - itseems to be broken - I only get vertical strips - can not see anything.
Puppy works just fine - I also tried the xorg.conf from Puppy - same thing. Same thing with Vector Gold.

after this, I thought to try it with a the package from slackware.it (the only one I could find) - this is even more broken, because it is not recogniced ... Sad, because I really wanted to change to Vector light on my "normal" Computer.

Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 05, 2008, 12:27:57 pm
VgnFrnd, ISA cards can be a challenge. Add "pnpdump" and "isapnp" to your searches.

Thanks for the tip. Problem solved. It was actually quite simple. All I had to do was turn off "quick boot" in my bios, wipe my disk, reinstall vl fresh, tell alsa to configure the cs4235-9 legacy driver during the install, and add acpi=off in lilo when vl requested boot commands during installation.

Now to confirm (or disconfirm) the weird wifi config behavior I reported earlier. Stay tuned to this channel...
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 05, 2008, 12:29:34 pm
Oh, by the way. I love the fact that vl-lite auto-mounted my usb stick (in jwm). Nice!
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 05, 2008, 01:32:21 pm
JWM vs. Fluxbox and WiFi: Weird that there should be any difference. Do you use the same programs/procedures in both environments? What happens if you configure wifi in fluxbox, then switch to JWM?

OK. I seem to have confirmed my initial results. I first tried to set up my wifi in jwm (and remember, this was a fresh install of vl-lite on a freshly wiped hard drive with no wireless configuration during setup). I used the wireless configuration wizard in the jwm's control center to configure wifi. Vector detected and configured the card, but it connected to my neighbor's network instead of mine. No matter how many times I re-ran the wireless configuration in jwm and rebooted, my card would not connect to my network. Running ifconfig in xterm confirmed the situation.

In contrast, when I ran the wireless configuration from the control center in fluxbox and rebooted, the settings stuck and I am now connected to my home network. The settings also stick now in jwm, so I remain connected to my home network even from within jwm. Again, ifconfig in xterm provides the proof.

Weird, huh? But no matter. Now, for the first time since I kicked win98 off my little tank (380z laptop) several months ago, it is happier than ever and fully functional. ;D

Uh-oh, now I'll have to find something productive to do with it!
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 05, 2008, 01:54:37 pm
kultex, you're right. I was looking in the 5.8 repo. You may want to post a request for conky here:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?board=35.0
I guess your video works with the vesa driver?

VgnFrnd: Nice job figuring it out. This is why I am not a proponent of the "one app for each task" philosophy. There are too many variables, and having several choices greatly increases the chances of success.

M0E, What does "route" report on your box?
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 05, 2008, 01:56:39 pm
This is on the VL-Light box
Code: [Select]
root:# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 05, 2008, 02:01:44 pm
Networking looks like it should be working then. Have you tried a VL Live CD on the desktop to see if it does better?
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 05, 2008, 02:19:24 pm
M0E, What does "route" report on your box?

route gives me my own network.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 05, 2008, 02:25:22 pm
VL-5.9 works fine... but I can't explain why the difference

I'm using a DHCP setup. DHCP server running on the router. Although, the router configuration shows MAC Addresses for both boxes, the router itself shows no hostnames. Not sure if that has anything to do with the problem.

The router is a D-Link DI-524
Here is what the DHCP Config and log looks like
(http://upload.snelhest.org/images/080405dhcp1.jpg)
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 05, 2008, 03:23:02 pm
You could try setting the network up manually:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.102 up
echo nameserver 192.168.0.1 > /etc/resolv.conf
route add default gw 192.168.0.1

If that works, you can add those lines (except the first one) to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local

This is how I set up my network card. It eliminates ifplugd and the dhcpc daemon. Works every time for me.
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: Mihail121-tera on April 06, 2008, 05:00:16 am
Just a small question before I install it. Which version of XOrg or XFree86 is used? thx
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 06, 2008, 05:45:39 am
Here is the output from "X -version"
Code: [Select]
X.Org X Server 1.4.0
Release Date: 5 September 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Slackware 12.0 Slackware Linux Project
Current Operating System: Linux vector.linux.net 2.6.22.14 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Nov 25 19:27:11 MST 2007 i686
Build Date: 18 October 2007  06:06:36PM
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 06, 2008, 02:37:32 pm
nightflier - I posted the i810 problem here http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5990.0 (http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5990.0) - everything I was reading today - it seems to be a problem of the new xorg-server - all the older intel chipsets seem to have problem with it.
VL 5.8 should work - I will test VL 5.8 with my compaq  next week.  - I just post my idea - I think, it would be a tragedy to exclude all the older intel chipsets from VL (speaking a a new enthusiast of VL) - would it be possible to have an older x on the cd - and all those, who have no  problems with it could upgrade later through the net?
I will see, if the problem will be also in ArchLinux (because it has also the latest packages)
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 06, 2008, 02:50:00 pm
Anyone know a way to enable 3D on vl-light?
glxinfo | grep render returns this
Code: [Select]
direct rendering: No (if you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=berbose)
OpenGL render string: Mesa GLX Indirect
[code]
[/code]
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 12, 2008, 06:32:59 am
I tried some things - it is a bug in xorg 7.3 - would it be possible to get VL-Light with xorg 7.2. xorg 7.2 works perfect - explainations in the thread http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5990.0 (http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5990.0).

The Intel chipset 810 is in a lot of computers - e.g. the ipaq is available in hundreds and quite cheap - see here http://computers.search.ebay.com/ipaq_Desktop-PCs_W0QQa10244ZQ2d24QQa12ZQ2d24QQa14ZQ2d24QQa25710ZQ2d24QQa26444ZQ2d24QQalistZa14Q2ca26092Q2ca26444Q2ca12Q2ca25710Q2ca10244QQcatrefZC6QQdfspZ32QQfclZ3QQflocZ1QQfposZQ5AIPQ2fPostalQQfromZR2QQfsooZ2QQfsopZ32QQftrtZ1QQftrvZ1QQgcsZ1504QQpf_queryZipaqQQpfidZ1810QQpfmodeZ1QQsabfmtsZ1QQsacatZ179QQsadisZ200QQsaobfmtsZinsifQQsargnZQ2d1QQsaslcZ2QQsbrftogZ1QQsoZShowQ20ItemsQQsofocusZunknown (http://computers.search.ebay.com/ipaq_Desktop-PCs_W0QQa10244ZQ2d24QQa12ZQ2d24QQa14ZQ2d24QQa25710ZQ2d24QQa26444ZQ2d24QQalistZa14Q2ca26092Q2ca26444Q2ca12Q2ca25710Q2ca10244QQcatrefZC6QQdfspZ32QQfclZ3QQflocZ1QQfposZQ5AIPQ2fPostalQQfromZR2QQfsooZ2QQfsopZ32QQftrtZ1QQftrvZ1QQgcsZ1504QQpf_queryZipaqQQpfidZ1810QQpfmodeZ1QQsabfmtsZ1QQsacatZ179QQsadisZ200QQsaobfmtsZinsifQQsargnZQ2d1QQsaslcZ2QQsbrftogZ1QQsoZShowQ20ItemsQQsofocusZunknown)
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: kultex on April 14, 2008, 02:40:28 am
the problem is solved
Title: Re: VL-Light (5.9) Beta 3 Bug thread
Post by: nightflier on April 14, 2008, 04:28:22 am
Just to tidy up the thread, solution here:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5990.0;topicseen