VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Technical General => Topic started by: overthere on April 14, 2008, 11:11:30 am

Title: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 14, 2008, 11:11:30 am
not sure where to post this

I am eager to download vl5.9-light..It will take a couple of days and I am short on time just now

Question: What are the minimum specs for best results.

..I have a p1-166 with 64 or 128 megs ram and a p2-333 with 96 or 128megs ram both have 4gigs..128 megs would naturally be better but is it designed to function on less? should I bother with the p166
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 14, 2008, 11:52:17 am
I dont think you should bother with the P1... (unless you feel like experimenting, but I'm sure most apps will be unusable)

The slowest machine I have ran this on is a PIII 500mhz with 64mb ram
results = fairly usable
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 14, 2008, 12:22:22 pm
Thanks for the reply...that's interesting..I find vl5.9 std works very well on my p3-600 with 256 and today with 128 although I did not push it yet..I thought vl-light would be designed for lesser..so guessed the p2 w/128 a good option and had hope for the p166..so far the p166 has only had success with dsl on 128megs with swap, I attempted deli mulinux and puppy but failed  feather was a little more work so I tested dsl more completely. I think I seen somewhere about a mini vl maby that would be an option. but time allows one so will try on the p2 /128 and see what works....thanks
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: M0E-lnx on April 14, 2008, 12:36:57 pm
You might just want to try it, just out of curiosity.. I'd be interested to know how vl-light does on such old hardware.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 14, 2008, 12:51:08 pm
well it all awaits the download...and I will post what may be of interest in the thread already started for bug? although bug is not the same as just will not work on my spec I guess.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: VgnFrnd on April 14, 2008, 12:52:45 pm
I'm running vl5.8-lightb3 on a p2-233 with 96mb ram. It's as peppy as win98 ever was on that machine.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 14, 2008, 01:03:41 pm
well thats positive..the p2-333 currently has 96megs and 4gig so all I have to do is install...I think the agp pg80 vid will have to go though, I recall it not being so linux friendly.

these boxes were slated for the dump but they do work fine..so I am glad to find a new use for at least one regardless the end result
cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 05:50:06 am
vl-light appears to have no dialer. so anyone with a dialup account can skip it if they had hope.

 cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 18, 2008, 06:01:22 am
I see some dialers in the repo. Is there one that you have used and would recommend?
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 06:37:43 am
well..

I managed to get the chestnut dialer included in vlstd to work and had looked for it in the repository thinking I may add it to light myself but did not know how to get it.

.it shows up in gslapt but is already installed on the machine I was useing, and the site seemed down so I did not know how to access the repository for a more direct download..

.if I did get it I was unsure if its installation is all that would be required to fuction as I needed vsuper to get the std to work plus it may have required  files not in light to make it light..

was more confuseing than interesting so I thought to  pass it by.

I am thankfull vl std works for dialup and do not want to make waves. I did go to the slack12 repository but got no result for chestnut..I did get a result for kppp but it appeared there are several files...thus my post..just to save others the time and complaint

thanks
cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: lagagnon on April 18, 2008, 07:53:33 am
I did not know how to access the repository for a more direct download..
Use gftp and navigate to the /pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages directory. Download it from there. But if the server is down the server is down!
Quote
.if I did get it I was unsure if its installation is all that would be required to fuction as I needed vsuper to get the std to work plus it may have required  files not in light to make it light..
Once you have the package on your system, login to a terminal as root (su), then type: "installpkg nameofpackage". It's that easy.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 02:16:42 pm
Quote
..navigate to the /pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages directory. Download it from there...

Hi..sorry..Which package are you refering to..is there a package called chestnut-dialer or is it named something else which includes it and config files?

I see ppp and tcpip but can not find chestnut-dialer..what packages would I need?

thanks ???

adding: I was looking here
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/vectorlinux/

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages/net/

and here also
http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/packages/

I do see it here in 64 but not for vl-5.9 std or light correct?
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/vectorlinux/VL64-5.9/packages/net/

adding: I see now that ppp is in etc rather than opt,,,so as you say may be I just need to install a dialer..just not sure where chestnut pack is yet..will see if I can find vwdial then, although chestnut is nicer.

the package seems to be missing
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/vectorlinux/veclinux-current/packages/net/

Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: Cariboo on April 18, 2008, 02:22:38 pm
Once you have the package on your system, login to a terminal as root (su), then type: "installpkg nameofpackage". It's that easy.

Hi,
I'm joining this discussion to figure out if 'lagagnon's' instruction would be the answer to my question.
Because of THIS (http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=6017.msg41260#msg41260) I was told to try to install VL 5.9 Light.
The hardware is capable to run VL 5.9 Standard, (which I have already installed on a much older computer and which I like very much).
I was wondering, when VL 5.9 Light is installed, if I could upgrade the system to VL 5.9 standard? ???
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 05:52:12 pm
am I looking in all the wrong places? should I just leave it alone, :) play on my own?  ;D  yes? no? is fine ???
cheers

adding:
hehe..well the answer is YES..
although I did download chestnut from sourceforge as expected files are missing for .configure make..ifconfig I think was one..

so like I said and should have left alone is.. vl-light has no dialer..yet anyway.. so one may want to skip it if they had dialup in mind

on a positive note things seem to work otherwise on this minimal spec although I would default fluxbox, add wmdrawer with mount/umounts etc and fix the fonts in the terminal and change the wallpaper and choose a better style..but thats the fun then is it not. I posted how to for std which would likely be the same except the font. I knowtice a right click fixs the existing bar...enough said

I think I will try std on the box
cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: Cariboo on April 18, 2008, 07:02:12 pm
am I looking in all the wrong places? should I just leave it alone, :) play on my own?  ;D  yes? no? is fine ???
cheers

I found THIS (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=95091&package_id=101282&release_id=490381).   
Not sure if that's it what you are looking for....
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 07:14:44 pm
Ya thanks cariboo I already downloaded the bz2 and the 64-5.9 chestnut but what I was looking for was the tlz package for 5,9 which seems to be missing...I have cleared light to try vl std on this box as it is of no importance to anyone...
cheers...hope you got the xmms working
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: rbistolfi on April 18, 2008, 08:03:28 pm
Hey overthere, a bit of patience will no hurt ;). Indeed, the chestnut dialer package is missing from the repos.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 08:28:43 pm
yes it is true.. which is why I decided to try std as it is easy to install both and I need a distraction...if a dialer is chosen or found to work or the package turns up where I did not look.. I am interested and will watch this and the bug thread while getting inspired to reinstall light and play some more...sorry to appear negative and post to much about nothing...thanks though for the opportunity to make it more clear...if I did...
cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 18, 2008, 08:46:27 pm
I see ppp-2.4.4-i486-1.tlz in the repo. No problem including it in next release.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 18, 2008, 09:56:56 pm
I thought ppp was already installed...in/etc..chap secrets and peers and all that?
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: Cariboo on April 18, 2008, 11:02:46 pm
cheers...hope you got the xmms working

Not yet, it seems I'm missing something. I posted some screenshots HERE (http://cariboo.1938.googlepages.com/vectorlinux2).
Maybe you have a minute to look at it. I think the problem is that I want to play *.ogg files and I don't know how to configure XMMS for that.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: rbistolfi on April 19, 2008, 05:19:41 am
I see some dialers in the repo. Is there one that you have used and would recommend?

My fav dialer is wvdial, it does a great job. I think there is some guis for it around.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 19, 2008, 05:23:59 am
I want to play *.ogg files and I don't know how to configure XMMS for that.

Have you tried changing the Output Pluging from OSS to ALSA?
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 19, 2008, 05:56:51 pm
well I did attempt to install wvdial, gppp, and chestnut from the gz packs available via google from there sites..but was not successfull at installing..vl-light seemed to work well on the box but I am uninspired by the lack of dial-up access as I have to share a monitor at the moment ...so have to shut down and reboot the other to get online..maby later....I forgot to try the burner on light.

I decided to try std but it does not like this p2 w/128 much .k3b crashes the xserver on std on this box when I attempt to open the setup to add user.so I reinstall 98 which likes it fine...but it grinds along ..so vl-light is the best option if it is not going to the dump.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: lagagnon on April 19, 2008, 06:15:47 pm
... but I am uninspired by the lack of dial-up access

Need more info to help you. Please post output of following commands:

dmesg | grep serial
dmesg | grep tty
ls -al /etc/rc.d/rc.serial
lspci
lsmod
cat /etc/wvdial.conf

thanks...
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 19, 2008, 07:02:06 pm
Thanks for the offer, thats very kind... but it had been my intention to chuck these p1, p2 in the dump and my curiosity regarding vl-light on the p2 is satisfied..It works but does not offer dial-up..

if offering dialup on vl-light is of interest to the creators I am sure they will include it in the final release...and I will redownload...but at beta4 without dial-up I am guessing no one had intended it to be added...

I am not clever enough to add dial-up myself. It is not currently included and not functioning. it is not there. So these are going to the dump... I have already started robbing the parts...it is just to late for these particular boxs...vl-light has potential but I will put it in the no dial-up pile for now

cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: Cariboo on April 20, 2008, 07:47:04 am
I want to play *.ogg files and I don't know how to configure XMMS for that.
Have you tried changing the Output Pluging from OSS to ALSA?
Thanks for asking....No I didn't, and I don't know exactly how to do that. Maby you send me a private message because I know, this issue has nothing to do with the theme of this topic, and it may be confusing for other readers...
Thanks again!
Cariboo
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 20, 2008, 09:20:06 am
Hi cariboo..just right click and then choose options/preferances

you may have better success with a new thread for your xmms issue.....as it is not an original question in your struggles post...


My question...will dial-up be added to vl-light final? yes, no  :)   ...just curious
cheers
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 20, 2008, 12:07:44 pm
No I didn't, and I don't know exactly how to do that.

I was looking at the screenshots you posted. On the first one (configure xmms), I can see the preferences page with libOSS.so selected. Click there and you should get a drop-down menu to choose from.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 20, 2008, 12:12:45 pm
...will dial-up be added to vl-light final? yes, no  :)

Maybe  :P

I was asking for recommendations since I have no experience using dialers under Linux. I'll see what I can find. I may have a modem somewhere in my parts collection to test on.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: budulay on April 20, 2008, 12:57:39 pm
Hi
I have a little off-top question:
Now I have VL5.9 std gold installed on my pretty old laptop(pII - 350MHZ, 128 MB RAM, 6 GB Hard Drive)
It works a little slower than win98 that was installed on this mashine before.
so here is the question:
If I will install VL5.9 Light, will it work significantly faster, or it doesn't worth ruining existing system?
Thanks.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 20, 2008, 01:18:13 pm
thanks ...in response I ask why chestnut was not used from vl5.9 std...is the extraction of xfce4 deleteing files required? I mentioned what I attempted but did not find the vl package if it is different

 I have an external serial and isa fm8818 hardware with rockwell chips from mexico working on std. I have others ...whatever.. i'm in no rush and what ever you chose fine..maby works for me...I would help if I could.
cheers

with regard to the above post..std did not like my p2 333 w/128 at all and light seemed fine with few issues already noted in the bug thread..it is a beta still...did not test long.,so up to you




Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 20, 2008, 02:53:26 pm
Budulay,

If you have VL 5.9 Gold Standard installed and working, I'd suggest leaving it on there. You can make it much like Light by using JWM or Fluxbox instead of XFCE.

It will probably run a little slower than Win98, or at least slower than you remember it. Much of that comes from running a modern browser, which is a much different beast than it was 10 years ago.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light and dialers
Post by: YeOldeFarte on April 20, 2008, 05:56:14 pm
     Greetings!  I. was going to download vl5.9-light when it came out of beta, since I am on dialup and do not want to repeat the task many times.
     I was surprised to find no mention of the Slackware based ppp dialer, that Vector usually has, and which is terminal based.  If you log in as root and type "pppsetup" in the terminal, do you get the usual series of questions that ends with the ability to use "ppp-go" and  "ppp-stop" to activate and deactivate the dialer? 
    I always use this means.  It is simple, effective, and I ASSUMED it would be present in vl5.9-light.
    Thanks for considering this.
                                                           YeOldeFarte 
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 20, 2008, 07:38:31 pm
I think it is included
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: budulay on April 21, 2008, 05:47:58 pm
Quote
You can make it much like Light by using JWM or Fluxbox instead of XFCE.
Thanks, I tried both of them.
At this point I have only two questions:
1) is there a way to adjust panel and desktop?  - add some icons for example or change wallper(It's really easy with XFCE - right click and here it is...)

2) why 'free' shows that 117000mb of my memory is in use, when I am working in JWM? Logicaly, it should be lower...

Xfce is a bit prettier than this two, but they work significantly faster, and if there is a way to make some adjustments, I think I will switch to one of them, probably to the JWM(It seems more familiar to me. I couldn't imagine, how to work with fluxbox...)

Thanks a lot.

ps.
sorry for off-top.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 21, 2008, 06:45:35 pm
you may use wbar in jwm for icon type launches..it is on the menu...and I like wmdrawer in fluxbox...I posted screenshots in the lounge and posted how to if you want to try it
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 21, 2008, 06:49:01 pm
1) is there a way to adjust panel and desktop?
For JWM customizations: http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml
To change the wallpaper, open pcmanfm, click edit > preferences > Desktop and use the wallpaper option there.
The icons on the desktop are in ~/Desktop. You can copy files from /usr/share/applications or create your own.

Quote
2) why 'free' shows that 117000mb of my memory is in use

Try htop instead
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 21, 2008, 06:57:56 pm
Quote
To change the wallpaper, open pcmanfm, click edit > preferences > Desktop and use the wallpaper option there.
The icons on the desktop are in ~/Desktop. You can copy files from /usr/share/applications or create your own.

This is for vl-light correct? thanks I can use it...I think budulay is useing standard
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 22, 2008, 05:36:16 am
That's for the JWM/pcmanfm combination.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: budulay on April 22, 2008, 10:44:39 am
Thanks I wil give it a try.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 22, 2008, 04:21:29 pm
on light I like the pcmanfm as it posts the free hd space..the other that pops up when you mount does not seem to show that. or I did not find it yet..note to self...I need a monitor

the burner takes a little getting use to I burned 200 odd meg in folders and individual files and accidentally included the home folder with the others but it worked fine twice in a row..I find light works better on my p3-600..on the p2 I got choppy mp3 playback off the  second drive which stores swap and media..plays fine on p3..also the  vid trailers mostly played but those that were seemingly corrupted played on p3....have another p2 now so may try it with the cards, drives and ram to compare.
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 27, 2008, 12:17:43 pm
for those who may be interested

I installed chestnut dialer and am posting from vl-light via dial-up on p3-600 w/256

I see the addition adds 15 odd meg in packages python being 8 or 9 meg, may have been extracted for this reason

added from repository
 chestnut-dialer
 python
 pygtk2 (includes glade?)
 pygobject2
 libxml2
 gtk+2

type in term as root:
mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0
( above noted in chestnut log.. resovled risk error when attempting dial)

vasmcc  modem auto detect seen ttys0 (set dialer device ttyso)
add number to dial, user name and password
not sure this is set correctly for risk but seems to work fine

if it is of value
cheers

Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: nightflier on April 27, 2008, 02:50:21 pm
if it is of value

Yes it is. That's what community editions are about. Chestnut dialer is included in next release of Light.  :)
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 27, 2008, 04:29:05 pm
It should be noted that I am useing the same rooted method as in std. via vsuper. I dialed from terminal and Fluxbox menu item and from added menu item in JWM

edit: the error when dialing reoccurs after reboot. the suggested fix works fine but I do not know where to place for more perminant solution.
here is the dialer log:
pppd: pppd is unable to open the /dev/ppp device.
You need to create the /dev/ppp device node by
executing the following command as root:
   mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0
after executing the command all is well...log out of flux and into jwm and dials but lost after reboot.

.have not had time to work on the wvdial I downloaded.

I found that useing vsuper with  pcmanfm prompts password then turns fluxbox background red, adds desktop icons and NO file manager. xfe seems to root and may be a good menu item

edit: haveing some issue with backup files that seem to want to be read only or turned into exectables on light but are as was on std....will have to formulate a question

when I open a file manager and then open a text file...I am ask what to open with..when choice is made (ie adie) the file opens and then hides behind...does not stay on top until poped back via tray listing.

when I play a .wav file with aplay either from terminal, menu or wmdrawer. The file is short...ie "one moment please" is "noment please" the files play fine in xmms..curiosity all

I do not know if these are bugs or stupidity...so posting here..the two file managers are confusing..I like pcmanfm for the free drive space listed and xfe has the trash and seems to have better functionality. can I find remaining drive space other than pcmanfm

will have to find some consistancy in all this...sorry
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 28, 2008, 04:54:20 am
Quote
You need to create the /dev/ppp device node by
executing the following command as root:
   mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0

after executing the command all is well...log out of flux and into jwm and dials but lost after reboot.

I added the command "mknod /dev/ppp c 108 0" to  /etc/rc.d/rc.local , at the bottom, this seems to work and I can dial after reboot
Title: Re: vl5.9-light
Post by: overthere on April 28, 2008, 06:01:43 pm
Cool snap shot thingy on the vl light menu, so here is light flux with the current drawer open. I have the slit on auto hide as usual. mixer volume works great and mount/umounts seem fine. on this box mount cd will mount and open the file manager to cdrom. vlhot auto mounts so the button opens to vlhot..in the event more than one are pluged. or I can skip it if I just want to open xmms and load aplay list. the black buttons at the bottom open root file manager, terminal and wmdrawerrc for edits. the ones in the center are xrip, vburn, dialer and xine

(http://files.myopera.com/dsl-o/albums/478693/image2.png)

sorry...still have to figure out how to do a thumbnail for a pic