VectorLinux

Vectorbie Station => Vectorbie Questions => Topic started by: tmoney_wizfan on May 22, 2008, 12:24:49 pm

Title: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 22, 2008, 12:24:49 pm
Hi everyone,

I am a very fresh noob to vector, as well as linux in general.  I am trying to get my compaq presario 5000 with vector linux 5.8 to detect my wireless card (linksys wmp54g ver 4.1; RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI;).  I pretty much have no clue as to what I am doing, even after reading line after line of instructional material and how-to's.  Can anyone hold my hand and walk me through this mess??? I really need help in the worst way.  Here is my lspci if that is helpful: 

lspci: 

00:00.0 Host bridge Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel corporation 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801AA USB Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801AA SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:05.0 Multimedia Audio Controller: ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)
01:09.0 Modem: PCTel Inc HSP MicroModem 56 (rev 02)
01.0b.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI


just a quick question while I'm at it, but since all of these things show as being connected to my computer, why won't they show up/work?  I guess I need the drivers, right?  I don't know, I am soooo lost.  Please, someone, anyone, help me!!!!

Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and se
Post by: Dweeberkitty on May 22, 2008, 02:35:23 pm
Welcome to Vector Linux my friend! I am not a wireless expert but wireless in general on Linux may require you to use the Windows drivers that came with your card using a driver "wrapper".

Try something like this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswrapper -i /mnt/cdrom/Drivers/wmpci54g.inf
Just replace the path to the driver with the actual path to your .inf file for your wireless driver (usually on the cd that came with the card)

Then do this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswrapper -l
That will list the available drivers and tell you if yours is installed correctly and if the card is actually detected.

Theoretically all that would be left is this:
Code: [Select]
ndiswapper -m
There may be more to do, but hopefully someone with more wireless experience can help you.
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and se
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 22, 2008, 04:13:19 pm
thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!!! I'm finally online.  I didn't find that kinda help anywhere, but maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  Anywhoo, now I just need to get my sound card working.  I'll try on my own before asking for help.  Question though, will ndiswrapper work for other drivers such as a windows sound card driver?
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and setup
Post by: kc1di on May 22, 2008, 04:38:30 pm
Welcome to Vector  :)
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and se
Post by: Dweeberkitty on May 22, 2008, 04:49:22 pm
thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!!! I'm finally online.  I didn't find that kinda help anywhere, but maybe I wasn't looking in the right places.  Anywhoo, now I just need to get my sound card working.  I'll try on my own before asking for help.  Question though, will ndiswrapper work for other drivers such as a windows sound card driver?

Probably not. For the sound card, try using Vasm.
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and se
Post by: hata_ph on May 22, 2008, 05:46:45 pm
it seem like your sound card is using the meastro3 module

Quote
The Asus L8400 laptops come with an ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 audio controller. It is also called an Maestro-3

The maestro3 OSS driver is included in Linux 2.2 and Linux 2.4.

It works to the extent I have used it. I can play sounds from various programs, play audio CDs, listen to the radio, …

There is a page dedicated to the Maestro3/Allegro linux sound driver.

The volume control on CD-ROM drive on the right side of the laptop works as a master volume dial. It is not just for playing audio CDs. I use it a lot, as it allows you to control the volume of any sound playing program, such as realplayer and xmms.

http://linux.seindal.dk/2002/12/27/linux-on-asus-l8400-laptops/?num=2

can you provide your lsmod output?
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! detecting linksys wmp54g pci wireless card and se
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 22, 2008, 08:54:45 pm
sure here it is below:


fam:$ lsmod

Module                  Size  Used by
freq_table              4768  0
snd_opl3sa2            17644  0
snd_opl3_lib            9600  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_hwdep               7812  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_cs4231_lib         22016  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_mpu401_uart         7808  1 snd_opl3sa2
snd_rawmidi            20128  1 snd_mpu401_uart
lp                     10888  0
parport_pc             37092  1
parport                32072  2 lp,parport_pc
ndiswrapper           186372  0
i915                   23296  0
drm                    74388  1 i915
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            32128  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7168  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48720  5
snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7692  5
snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            38048  0
snd_mixer_oss          15232  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_maestro3           21540  2
snd_ac97_codec         98084  1 snd_maestro3
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69764  4
snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19972  4
snd_opl3_lib,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd                    45796  20
snd_opl3sa2,snd_opl3_lib,snd_hwdep,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
iTCO_wdt                9640  0
shpchp                 30228  0
serio_raw               6276  0
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
intel_agp              22164  1
agpgart                28108  3 drm,intel_agp
i2c_i801                8592  0
i2c_i810                5380  0
i2c_algo_bit            6532  1 i2c_i810
i2c_core               20992  3
i2c_i801,i2c_i810,i2c_algo_bit
evdev                   8704  0
vector:/~

i tried to configure the sound with vasm, but i still have no sound at all. 
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
Post by: hata_ph on May 22, 2008, 09:39:22 pm
does VASM detect your sound card?
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
Post by: bigpaws on May 23, 2008, 04:09:36 am
Open a terminal and issue the command alsamixer.

Then use the m key to unmute the channels. You can use the
arrow keys to increase or decrease the volumne.

HTH

Bigpaws
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 23, 2008, 02:03:46 pm
when i run vasm, it detects 3 sound cards:

maestro3          ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)
mpu401             snd-mpu401
legacy               Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) chips


when I configure the first one (maestro3) I get the message "Ok, sound driver is configured....."  it is supposedly configured, but am I supposed to hear something right then?  I don't get any sound after this either.  I did try the alsamixer command in the terminal, but no luck. 
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! sound card is the problem.
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 23, 2008, 03:35:14 pm
wooo! got it working.  thanks for the help though!
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: hata_ph on May 23, 2008, 04:50:57 pm
what you did?
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: tmoney_wizfan on May 23, 2008, 10:23:18 pm
aww man, I was hoping no one would ask but, since you did, promise you won't laugh.  I did the autodetect and configure in VASM like three times, then I was like "duh, um, maybe its the connection".  So uh, yeah, pretty stupid, but I had one of the speaker wires in the back switched.  I did have to do that first step of going through vasm, but from there, it was just a dumb mistake lol. 
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: hata_ph on May 23, 2008, 10:44:04 pm
:)
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: kc1di on May 24, 2008, 03:02:56 am
aww man, I was hoping no one would ask but, since you did, promise you won't laugh.  I did the autodetect and configure in VASM like three times, then I was like "duh, um, maybe its the connection".  So uh, yeah, pretty stupid, but I had one of the speaker wires in the back switched.  I did have to do that first step of going through vasm, but from there, it was just a dumb mistake lol. 

We all do it.. I searched for hours one day for the reason my DSL modem would not work only to find out it was disconnected from the Phone line.  Duh  :)
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: rbistolfi on May 24, 2008, 05:23:44 am
heee... Everybody has one of those... plugged the monitor on the on board video card, which was disabled in bios. God I almost burn the nvidia card, I thought it was faulty :)
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: exeterdad on May 24, 2008, 05:27:07 am
Glad to hear I'm not the only one that does stuff like that.  Thanks for having the courage to share :)
Title: Re: super n00b, need HELP!!!! problems solved!! yay!
Post by: nightflier on May 24, 2008, 06:26:51 am
To avoid any ..um, educational experiences.. we all would have to totally give up our freedom to play, experiment and make the computers do our bidding. If we all just bought what the manufacturers offered, never shopped around, did exactly what they told us to do, upgraded when instructed to do so, and never, ever did anything not specifically approved, our lives would be a lot poorer. Of course, there would still be breaks in the boredom introduced by shoddy coding, malware and faulty hardware.

That said, I still wish I had not rested that hard drive on the chassis with the circuit board down. Once the magic smoke escapes, it's dead, Jim.