VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Hardware & Drivers => Topic started by: Starscream on June 30, 2008, 11:43:01 pm

Title: How to make my NE2000 (Copex RL2000a ISA PnP) Network card work in Vector Linux?
Post by: Starscream on June 30, 2008, 11:43:01 pm
I have allready tryed to make it work changing rc.modules and using "modprobe ne" and have got nothing... :(

So, if there anyone, who has allready made this, or who exactly knows how to do this, please write detailed, step by step instruction(s).
(I am not very good in linux)
Title: Re: How to make my NE2000 (Copex RL2000a ISA PnP) Network card work in Vector Linux?
Post by: hata_ph on July 01, 2008, 05:03:19 am
what version of VL you are using?
and pls post your lspci and lsmod.....
Title: Re: How to make my NE2000 (Copex RL2000a ISA PnP) Network card work in Vector Li
Post by: bigpaws on July 01, 2008, 06:16:28 am
As root in a console type:

modprobe isapnp

Then check lsmod to see if that loaded. If it did the
you can try ifconfig eth0 up and then dhcpcd eth0

After that use ifconfig to look to see if there is an inet
address.

You do not need to post the output of lspci since that will
not show ISA cards.

If the above does not work please post the output of
pnpdump

Bigpaws
Title: Re: How to make my NE2000 (Copex RL2000a ISA PnP) Network card work in Vector Li
Post by: Starscream on July 01, 2008, 07:33:48 am
Thanks I think that t have allready found a sollution... The card works just after adding modprobe ne to the rc.modules...  :)

Linux just don't show it in GUI configure options and ifconfig don't show it before it is configured... So it works now (just need to be configured manually in console)...
Title: Re: How to make my NE2000 (Copex RL2000a ISA PnP) Network card work in Vector Li
Post by: bigpaws on July 01, 2008, 08:45:44 am
You can use netconfig to configure your card, there
is another way if needed.


Bigpaws