VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => Distro development => Topic started by: Megamieuwsel on August 06, 2008, 08:03:52 am

Title: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 06, 2008, 08:03:52 am
First off:
Machine-specs:

Partitioning of the main harddrive:

Tested both the disc, send by snailmail AND the one I DL-ed later, since the first was a "bad burn"(can happen...)
The DL-ed disc: I burned it at 8-speed(to stay on the safe side),checked the MD5Sum and have the installation check the files.
The install went (mostly) smooth, but...(see lists below)

OK, first off: the installation
Code: [Select]
User 'nels' contains illegal characters (CAPITAL)
After install:

So; I logged in as root, edited the xorg.conf to adjust my keyboard-layout, so I could use these nifty things like "€, ß, µ," etc, went into X,fired up GSLAPT and removed the laptop-specific packages and installed the remaining font-packages and XFCE, found I couldn't create new user-accounts(see lists) and rebooted....
...
...
..
...to find the X-server went belly-up...
Code: [Select]
Could not open default font 'fixed'
giving up
Thus:
Code: [Select]
mcedit /etc/X11/xorg.confBut not referrence in there to any "default font", let alone one called 'fixed'...
How do I fix this?
And more importantly: What the hell caused it?
Was it the extra fonts, I installed?
If so: Why are these packages there at all?

As it is now, that install is pretty useless

My overall impression of this release is (as you may be able to understand, I hope...) less than stellar...
This should never have made it into the release-stadium.

Ladies and gentlemen developers: You have some work to do.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: caitlyn on August 06, 2008, 03:12:50 pm
OK... the font issue is weird.  I've added a ton of fonts to my system as well and it all works.  I suspect the problem was caused by one or more of the X.org font packages that weren't installed by default.  (They were all installed by default in Standard.)  Do you know which ones you installed after the fact?  Can you provide a list?  By comparing your installed list to mine we may be able to narrow this down.  It could be just one rather broken package.

Now... on to how to fix X.  The error you received comes about when one of two things happens:

1.  xfs (the X font server) isn't running
2.  the default font path points to something that isn't there

I expect your problem is the latter one.  What I *think* happened is that you installed a piece of X.org (a font package) but not all the missing X.org font packages.  (You didn't really need Ethiopic script, did you?  ;D)  Anyway, that offending package rewrote your default font path and included something that isn't present on your system.  Assumung that xfs is running and I'm right about the cause there are three ways to fix this:

1.  Install the missing bits that X.org now expects
2.  Alter the default font path to match reality on your system
3.  Rip out X and reinstall what comes with SOHO and then very carefully add fonts one package at a time.

I recommend #2 as the easiest approach.  The defailt font path is defined in /etc/fonts/fonts.conf with additional fonts defined in
/etc/fonts/conf.d  By default Vector Linux uses an unusually short font path (just TTF and OTF fonts) while most distros use a rather long one.  VL makes up for this by defining anything additional in /etc/fonts/conf.d/51-local.conf.  Nothing wrong with this approach, BTW, as it allows VL to exclude fonts that most people won't use, like the aforementioned Ethiopic glyphs.

So... if you look at /etc/fonts/fonts.conf you should see something that looks like this:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Font directory list -->

<dir>/usr/share/fonts/OTF</dir>
<dir>/usr/share/fonts/TTF</dir>
<dir>~/.fonts</dir>

<!--    Commented out font directories:
These are not indexed by default, as fontconfig then seems
        to prefer bitmapped fonts in some cases...

-->

I'd bet your list goes way beyond /usr/share/fonts/TTF and defines a whole bunch more including some you just don't have.  This happened when fontconfig regenerated the file above when the evil, borked font package was installed rather than simply rebuilding the font cache.  Edit the appropriate section of /etc/fonts.conf to look like what I quoted above and you should be able to start X. 

After you get X going again some of your recently installed fonts may be "missing".  They're still installed but no longer enabled.  That will happen if the offending package overwrote your /etc/fonts/conf.d/51-local.conf file.  If that is the case reinstall a package called fontfix from the repository and make sure it replaces all the files.

Code: [Select]
slapt-get --reinstall fontfix
That will reenable everything. 

I'm not one of the devs but I have built some optional (non-X.org) font packages for Vector Linux as well as fontfix.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Dweeberkitty on August 06, 2008, 03:54:04 pm
Quote
    * User-accounts can be generated during install, but later on the dreaded


Code: [Select]
User 'nels' contains illegal characters (CAPITAL)
    prevents any form of creating new accounts. Has to do with some UTF-Lang-thingy... BIG BOO![/li]
[/quote]

Was this before or after the installation of the second disc? Or did you not install it in the above results?
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 06, 2008, 08:35:46 pm
I never got to installing Disc2 in this case.
First I wanted to make sure, the original install was ok.
But appearantly, I screwed up with the fonts...
Never new, such a simple thing as installing a font could wreak so much havoc....
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: caitlyn on August 06, 2008, 08:56:09 pm
The issue with the fonts came about because of two things:  First, the VL devs decided not to include a complete X.org to reduce the size of the SOHO iso.  They left out rather obscure bits to make room for more apps.  It's a sensible decision.  However, SOHO shares a repository with Standard and Standard did have a complete X.org.  Since the packages repository includes everything on the iso it included the bits not included in SOHO.  What wasn't tested and cause the breakage was adding those bits back in as you did.  It probably didn't occur to anyone that the custom font configuration for SOHO would be overwritten.

Again, just get your font path issue straightened out as I detailed above and I'm reasonably sure X will work properly again and all your new fonts will be available.  If not I'm also reasonably sure I can help you figure out what else could cause this.  WHat you describe isn't that hard to fix but it is certainly annoying.

On another issue...

I disagree with you about leaving out WiFi on SOHO.  Here in the States WiFi is commonly used on desktop systems as well as laptops.  It's cheaper to have a home or small office wireless network (properly secured, of course) than to have to run network cables through walls and over ceilings if they aren't already in place.  Family and small office wireless networks are common.  In some places WiMax successfully competes with DSL and cable for high speed internet service.  In some smaller towns WiMax is the only choice other than satellite.  WiFi doesn't always mean laptop and I do believe it belongs in SOHO.

Also here in the States a number of companies I've worked for don't use desktops at all.  They use laptops exclusively since it allows workers to do work off hours from home.  Some employers are giving employees one or two work from home days a week to save energy and help the environment.  Those companies pretty much have to use laptops exclusively.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: newt on August 07, 2008, 08:53:23 am
Cait, I disagree with you on the desktop wifi issue.  Of all the the desktop systems I (or people I know) have, none have wireless connections.  Off the top of my head it's in excess of 20 actual desktop boxes.  On the flip side, many of these same people have laptops as well and all are wireless.  I think to say "commonly used on desktop systems" is stretching it a bit.  Not surprisingly, all of the people I know have wireless routers whether they are used or not is another question.  Where I live Of the people I know wireless routers and laptops are common, but not wireless desktop systems.

edit: Damn, sounds like I'm speaking for my entire city - I don't mean to. I only mean of the people close to me it's not common for their desktop systems to be connected wirelessly.  Granted there are millions more folks around me for which I don't know their situation :shrug:
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: gacurt on August 07, 2008, 10:01:40 am
We have five computers in our house. One laptop- wireless, one desktop in middle floor- cable to wireless router, one desktop in middle floor for grandson-wireless when needed, two in basement- one primary one to test- wireless.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 07, 2008, 10:04:16 am
On another issue...

I disagree with you about leaving out WiFi on SOHO.  Here in the States WiFi is commonly used on desktop systems as well as laptops.  It's cheaper to have a home or small office wireless network (properly secured, of course) than to have to run network cables through walls and over ceilings if they aren't already in place.  Family and small office wireless networks are common.  In some places WiMax successfully competes with DSL and cable for high speed internet service.  In some smaller towns WiMax is the only choice other than satellite.  WiFi doesn't always mean laptop and I do believe it belongs in SOHO.

Also here in the States a number of companies I've worked for don't use desktops at all.  They use laptops exclusively since it allows workers to do work off hours from home.  Some employers are giving employees one or two work from home days a week to save energy and help the environment.  Those companies pretty much have to use laptops exclusively.
You misunderstood me; I didn't mean to leave WiFi out alltogether; I meant to offer it during install as a seprate package and not installing it by default.(ie.-lumping it in with the bulk of the basic packages, like it is now.)
How logical does this sound:
"You have the option to leave out a BASIC office-application(OOffice), which is pretty much crux of a SOHO-distro, but you have no choice to leave out stuff, you're only for some 20% likely to need(WiFi)?..."

Oh, And the USA isn't the only market and things are handled quite differently elswhere; Here in Europe, networks are more and more gearing towards thin-client desktops. Laptops are for mobile work.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 08, 2008, 11:54:55 pm
So... if you look at /etc/fonts/fonts.conf you should see something that looks like this:

Code: [Select]
<!-- Font directory list -->

<dir>/usr/share/fonts/OTF</dir>
<dir>/usr/share/fonts/TTF</dir>
<dir>~/.fonts</dir>

<!--    Commented out font directories:
These are not indexed by default, as fontconfig then seems
        to prefer bitmapped fonts in some cases...

-->

I'd bet your list goes way beyond /usr/share/fonts/TTF and defines a whole bunch more including some you just don't have.  This happened when fontconfig regenerated the file above when the evil, borked font package was installed rather than simply rebuilding the font cache.  Edit the appropriate section of /etc/fonts.conf to look like what I quoted above and you should be able to start X. 
Uhm...
No.
Mine looks EXACTLY as what you posted there.
But I followed through nonetheless.

After you get X going again some of your recently installed fonts may be "missing".  They're still installed but no longer enabled.  That will happen if the offending package overwrote your /etc/fonts/conf.d/51-local.conf file.  If that is the case reinstall a package called fontfix from the repository and make sure it replaces all the files.

Code: [Select]
slapt-get --reinstall fontfix
That will reenable everything. 
That is: IF I manage to find fontfix...
Code: [Select]
slapt-get --install --reinstallTold me there was no such package , called "fontfix" available.
I guess, I need to find the full name of the package.

Now, while digging in that system a little further, I noticed that "/etc/fonts/conf.avail" and "/etc/fonts/conf.d" do not match entirely; conf.d doesn not contain links to all that's in conf.avail. In fact, it's missing links the first eight or ten items or such.
Could that have anything to do with it? 
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: uelsk8s on August 09, 2008, 07:03:45 am
running the commands below as root will fix your fonts
Code: [Select]
cd / && sh /var/log/scripts/x11-fonts*
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: caitlyn on August 09, 2008, 09:32:11 am
Thanks, uelsk8s.  That's a much easier solution I wasn't aware of :)

fontfix, despite being included in both SOHO and Light, is still in the testing repository but it is there.  Why is something that is part of two isos in testing?  I don't understand that myself.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 09, 2008, 10:01:11 am
running the commands below as root will fix your fonts
Code: [Select]
cd / && sh /var/log/scripts/x11-fonts*
Worked like a charm!
Now I can test that MMBD-installation.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Dweeberkitty on August 09, 2008, 02:56:14 pm
running the commands below as root will fix your fonts
Code: [Select]
cd / && sh /var/log/scripts/x11-fonts*
Worked like a charm!
Now I can test that MMBD-installation.

Cool, but first, can you add a user using vasm?
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: Megamieuwsel on August 10, 2008, 03:22:31 am
Cool, but first, can you add a user using vasm?

Nope.
Same *&*% again...
I can by the command-line though, so it's definately a bug in VASM.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: sullysat on September 15, 2008, 05:00:14 pm
Well folks, I have enjoyed using a variety of Vector distributions on several low to modern computers and decided to show my support by purchasing the Deluxe gold CDs... and I find myself in the same boat as the initiator of this thread.

I haven't had any issues with fonts yet, but I do share two other issues that I'd like to get some help with.

1.  Wireless connects and sets up just fine, but it won't SAVE.  I have to reset it every time I reboot the computer.

2.  USB drives are seen and mounted by VL-Hot just fine, but I can't get the CD mounted.  It comes up with an error telling me HAL must do it.

How do I get HAL to do this?  Will it screw up what's already working?

I can't use the 2nd disc I purchased either and I agree that these sort of issues are totally not cool in a GOLD/purchased release.

My system is a Dell Inspiron 1100

2.2 GHz Celeron
1.0GB RAM
30GB HD w/ Vector running on a 10GB partition

I chose VL-hot because its worked great on every other version of Vector and system I've loaded it on.

I'm trying to choose a distro to replace WinXP in my office.  This is not a good omen.

Help Please.

Thanks,
SullySAT
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: vector on September 15, 2008, 10:44:01 pm
First my apologies we did test this release for many months prior to release and certainly would not have released a paid for version with any known bugs that we encountered. However, what we found and what has been found after release are sometimes two different things. For problem 1) check and see if /etc/rc.d/rc.inet3 exists that is where your wireless settings are stored and should be processed with each boot.
Problem 2) VL-hot is not designed for cd media it's goal was mainly usb storage devices such as pendrives external hard drives etc. If during the install you choose hal instead of vl-hot all of the mentioned work as well as cd style media. VL-hot is intended as a low memory replacement for hal as it does not run as a daemon as does hal but is not as complete as hal in functionality. You will have to explain how the second cd is unusable that I don't understand simply mount and run install.sh should work.

Vec
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: sullysat on September 16, 2008, 07:58:52 am
Thanks for the clarification, Vector!  That will help a bunch.

Now that I have a clearer understanding of the issue, I'll just reinstall and select HAL (unless there's a way to do it differently???).  Then I'll deal with the wireless issue.

My goal, ultimately, is to replace MS in my office with Linux.  Right now, Vector is my front runner, so I really appreciate your help.  This is the 'best' machine I've installed Vector on, but I like what I see so far.

I'll let you know about the wireless.

Sincerely,
SullySAT

Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: rbistolfi on September 16, 2008, 09:16:52 am
You can switch to HAL from vasm, super, hardware, mounter.
I think your wireless issue is easy to fix, maybe just adding a few commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, the problem is the gui program probably found a exceptional case in your hardware and couldn't initialize it properly at boot time, there is no way to test all the software against all the available hardware, and problems like this one are -IMHO- normal.
Please post any other issue you may have an we will try to solve it.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: sullysat on September 16, 2008, 09:50:45 am
I agree, I just never had to deal with it in Vector before, so it was a bit disconcerting, given the other issues.

I'll try the fix you outlined here, but I was also able to mount the CD via kdisk, or whatever that little KDE app is called under utilities.

Do I need to be root to run install.sh off the CD?
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: caitlyn on September 16, 2008, 10:15:58 am
Yes, you need to be root to install any software in VL.  The installation script is no different than gslapt.  In fact, it runs gslapt.
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: GrannyGeek on September 16, 2008, 08:18:02 pm
It's pretty easy to start a CD without HAL. Just open a terminal and type
mount /mnt/cdrom
and there you go. You can do this as user if there is a line like this in /etc/fstab:
/dev/cdrom    /mnt/cdrom        iso9660 defaults,noauto,ro,user 0 0

Some file managers have mount and unmount commands. XFE that either comes with 5.9 Deluxe or can be installed with GSlapt lets you simply right-click on /mnt/cdrom in the file list and select mount. You can unmount either through the devices icon on the XFce panel or through right-clicking on /mnt/cdrom in XFE and selecting Unmount.

In addition to what Vec said about the /etc/rc.d/rc.inet3 file, make sure it is executable.
--GrannyGeek
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: sullysat on September 21, 2008, 08:43:31 pm
OKay, progress is being made.. thanks for all the suggestions!

I did the VASM thing and chose HAL.. rebooted and everything worked great!

Then I shut down and did a cold boot.. and it was back to vl-hot.  Now it won't make the connection at all.

More suggestions?

Sully
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: wcs on September 22, 2008, 01:07:21 am
Quote
Then I shut down and did a cold boot.. and it was back to vl-hot

How do you know it was back to vl-hot?
If HAL is running, you should see a bunch of hald processes, when you type
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep hal
I don't think HAL has anything to do with your wireless connection. HAL handles removable media.

Did you check if /etc/rc.d/rc.inet3 exists and its contents, like vector suggested?
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: sullysat on September 22, 2008, 07:45:21 am
The wireless is a whole different issue that I'm not focused on right now at all, since I can get on, I just have to set it up every time I boot.

You're right though, I don't know its back to anything where the hardware is concerned.  I DO know that its not activating HAL through VASM as it is supposed to and as it did the first time I attempted it.

SullySAT
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: rbistolfi on September 23, 2008, 08:12:56 am
The wireless is a whole different issue that I'm not focused on right now at all, since I can get on, I just have to set it up every time I boot.

You're right though, I don't know its back to anything where the hardware is concerned.  I DO know that its not activating HAL through VASM as it is supposed to and as it did the first time I attempted it.

SullySAT

Hi sullysat, please post the output of ls -l /etc/rc.d/rc.hald
Title: Re: All's not well in 5.9SOHO (on my machine, at least..)
Post by: dlannan on January 13, 2009, 04:18:49 am
running the commands below as root will fix your fonts
Code: [Select]
cd / && sh /var/log/scripts/x11-fonts*

I know this is quite pointless, but I had to thank uelsk8s for this brilliant tip - saved me TUNS of headache. Thanks, you rok!! I signed up to this forum because it helped so much!! thanks again..