VectorLinux

General Announcements => Distro Releases => Topic started by: vector on September 01, 2008, 11:38:20 pm

Title: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: vector on September 01, 2008, 11:38:20 pm
Vector-standard-6.0-alpha2 is up and ready to be tested. There are many changes since the first alpha release. The testers were pretty unanimous in stating that gnome was not the proper DE for standard and Xfce4 should remain with lxde as the smaller secondary choice. The overwhelming opinion was that gnome should remain in the repo as a choice for those that want it and that a gnome kde combination would be good for upcoming SOHO releases. So with this release there is no gnome and xfce4 has been reinstated as the primary desktop. We have spent a tremendous amount of time on the new gui installer and we really need you to test that part as 80% of our effort has been on improving the installer. The gui installer is not complete yet more features are to be added but we need your feedback as to the present state of development. We have set up two threads to report bugs and comments too, one installer specific the other for the installed product. Please give this a honest test and let us know what you think so far.

Thanks,
Vector and the dev team

alpha2 iso:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-current/iso-test/VL6.0-STD-A0.12.iso

gui installer bug thread:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=7186.0

installed distro bug thread:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=7187.0
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: wcs on September 02, 2008, 02:31:19 am
Thank you!
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: subgeniusd on September 02, 2008, 07:58:42 am
What a relief (Xfce choice)........ :).....I've been debating whether to just stick with this fine 5.9 install or move to Zenwalk. Now I don't have to wrestle with the guilt of abandoning this great distro.  Thank you and I'll d/l 6.0 alpha2 and help with the testing.

Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Pita on September 02, 2008, 07:37:34 pm
Too bad no more gnome. Good xfce4 is back. Anyhow there is that Italian site to get gnome for slackies.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Masta on September 02, 2008, 08:20:26 pm
Gnome is available , via repository, or will be . Anyway, it is not abandoned though it was majority wise, not the prime choice to use in STD as default, you still have the choice to install it from repository.
Actually thinking about it for a moment, that could be something to test, install Gnome from repo, lets see what breaks and report on it  ;D .
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: caitlyn on September 03, 2008, 07:14:03 pm
Please, please, please send the announcement into Distrowatch.  The thing with VL 5.9 Light being ignored happened while Ladislav was on vacation and Susan was running things.  I don't think you'll get the same reaction from Ladislav who has been posting all sorts of alha and beta releases.  I think there would be significant interest right now...
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Dweeberkitty on September 03, 2008, 08:29:45 pm
Please, please, please send the announcement into Distrowatch.  The thing with VL 5.9 Light being ignored happened while Ladislav was on vacation and Susan was running things.  I don't think you'll get the same reaction from Ladislav who has been posting all sorts of alha and beta releases.  I think there would be significant interest right now...

I second that. Even if people don't click on the link, they will certainly get used to seeing VL's name and will see that it is actively under development. People will get interested.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: DocTaz on September 04, 2008, 07:58:03 am
I'm d/ling this to my usb stick for testing tonight, thanks! :)
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Masta on September 04, 2008, 06:57:57 pm
Please, please, please send the announcement into Distrowatch.  The thing with VL 5.9 Light being ignored happened while Ladislav was on vacation and Susan was running things.  I don't think you'll get the same reaction from Ladislav who has been posting all sorts of alha and beta releases.  I think there would be significant interest right now...

I second that. Even if people don't click on the link, they will certainly get used to seeing VL's name and will see that it is actively under development. People will get interested.

And what's wrong with you guys sending DW the information that they'll want to use? Does it always have to be the founder or the developers that send DW the information? Doesn't about 50 billion emails from community do the same trick? Remember how BSD finally got on there? ... it was because of popular requests from fans and communities, not from the Leaders or Developers ;)
<cough> HINT <cough>
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: caitlyn on September 04, 2008, 09:57:44 pm
I, for one, don't feel like I have the right to speak for the VL developers since I'm not one.  If you are asking us to send announcements to Ladislav then yes, I'll be happy to do that, but remember that he posts the name of the person making the announcement.  If I'm seen as a spokesperson for the distro I won't be able to do things like write about it or review it for O'Reilly.   I prefer to be seen as on the outside in this case as I expect I can do more good for VL this way.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Masta on September 04, 2008, 10:35:22 pm
I didn't mean that as for anyone to be a spokesperson for the distro. What I meant was that the community has the freedom to submit requests to DW asking for announcements to show that there IS some amount of interests in the versions that VL is offering,, even if at the time they're beta's , alphas or whatever.

Pretty much all you really need to do is post DW the link to the forum / web announcement and they should be able to take it from there.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: caitlyn on September 06, 2008, 04:53:37 pm
OK, you win.  I sent a copy of Vector's announcement to Ladislav.  It will be seen as his (Robert/Vector's) announcement if Ladislav does anything with it.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: caitlyn on September 06, 2008, 08:20:01 pm
Vector's announcement is now front and center on Distrowatch.  It's a positive step, I hope.  More alpha testers is always a good thing.

Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: mogrady111 on September 06, 2008, 09:53:50 pm
I am running Mepis Linux, AMD 64, and your web site appears "hacked" or at least indistinguishable.  What Up ?
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: vector on September 06, 2008, 10:27:09 pm
looks ok here have reloaded several times in firefox.............please don't make me nervous

vec
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: caitlyn on September 06, 2008, 10:42:17 pm
The site looks fine here too.  I'm testing a new hv3 package and it looks good in this browser as well.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: andrewmin on September 07, 2008, 05:54:08 pm
Submitted (http://www.reddit.com/r/xfce/comments/706qz/vector_linux_60_alpha_2_released_with_xfce_back/ (http://www.reddit.com/r/xfce/comments/706qz/vector_linux_60_alpha_2_released_with_xfce_back/)) to the xfce reddit (http://www.reddit.com/r/xfce/ (http://www.reddit.com/r/xfce/)).
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: never_stop_learning on September 07, 2008, 11:27:22 pm
Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping XFCE as the default for 6.0..... I don't have anything against Gnome or KDE but both do have significant overhead by comparison.....

Again.....Thank you.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: mike99 on September 07, 2008, 11:30:54 pm
Hello! Nice comprehensive installer. However, it errors out at 92% . "Unexpected error and must abort.(1) out of memory md/install/sys.?.0" message.  On 2 seperate downloads & burns, on an AMD Athlon900 512ram 4GB disk. Used Gparted in the installer. Part.1= 2.37gb as / .  2=996.22mb as /home . 3=596.16mb as swap. Install choice was Full, not custom. no other distros on this drive. I guess i could try Custom install and see if i fare better!? mike
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: lagagnon on September 08, 2008, 07:59:49 am
Part.1= 2.37gb as / . 

I think that is too small for / , and hence the error. I believe it needs about 3GB minimum to install.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: waynev on September 08, 2008, 10:59:10 pm
Part.1= 2.37gb as / . 

I think that is too small for / , and hence the error. I believe it needs about 3GB minimum to install.

OK!  I'll give it ago at 3G+/  I was going to pass on this Alpha until later, but if you believe 3G+/ gets it on the hard drive, I'll give it ago.  What chance is there it would duel boot with W2K-Pro?  Will LilO handel an already installed W2K or XP?
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: wcs on September 09, 2008, 06:16:39 am
Quote
What chance is there it would duel boot with W2K-Pro?  Will LilO handel an already installed W2K or XP?

That shouldn't pose a problem. When you get to the lilo configuration screen, it should tell you if it found Windows or not.
In my experience, it has always worked.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: waynev on September 09, 2008, 10:32:57 am
I've a liitle problem with the 6.0 Alpha. 

Booted with the IDE/SATA Kernel. 

A blue screen notifying the installer was loading then black screen with dialog box which stated "out of range" it gave some Hz. Ctrl-Alt and tapped back space - blue screen back up and repeated the cycle. What do you suggest?
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: lagagnon on September 09, 2008, 11:48:39 am
I don't recommend installing an Alpha, nor even a Beta, especially of you are new to it. I suggest VL5.9 Standard Gold. Lilo will pick up your Windows partition no problem. Allow at least 4GB for / , preferably more if you want to add more software at a later date.
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: waynev on September 09, 2008, 12:36:04 pm
I don't recommend installing an Alpha, nor even a Beta, especially of you are new to it. I suggest VL5.9 Standard Gold. Lilo will pick up your Windows partition no problem. Allow at least 4GB for / , preferably more if you want to add more software at a later date.

Down loaded and burned VL5.9-light Final [[ Installed on Compaq 192MB Ram and 6GB HD ]] Compaq is hardly ever booted up. VL5.9-light Final gave a smooth install and it looks great.  VL5.9-SOHO Preview Live and VL5.9 Beta Live will be run on hp 500MB Ram,14GB HD.  I'm trying to get a full featured Linux with turn key wireless, and I'm hoping VL is the one.  How about VL5.9 Standard Gold; Can VL Gold wireless outofthebox with USB ZyDas Adapter  [[ ZyDas 1211rw driver required ]] 
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: M0E-lnx on September 09, 2008, 12:36:54 pm
I've a liitle problem with the 6.0 Alpha. 

Booted with the IDE/SATA Kernel. 

A blue screen notifying the installer was loading then black screen with dialog box which stated "out of range" it gave some Hz. Ctrl-Alt and tapped back space - blue screen back up and repeated the cycle. What do you suggest?

HINT
Try hitting CTRL+ALT+Num+ and CTRL+ALT+Num-
This cycles through the resolutions defined in xorg.conf.
You may not be able to work at the highest resolution, but you may still be able to see something at a smaller resolution

Enjoy ;)
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: shkval on October 07, 2008, 06:34:55 pm
prefers xfec than gnome or kde

thankn's in advancce
Title: Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
Post by: Masta on October 07, 2008, 07:37:26 pm
Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping XFCE as the default for 6.0..... I don't have anything against Gnome or KDE but both do have significant overhead by comparison.....

Again.....Thank you.

Oh we were just putting that in to tease your taste buds , before we switch back to Gnome  :D :D   .. J/K

Let us know how your test results turn out  :)