VectorLinux

The nuts and bolts => Installation & Updates => Topic started by: Cariboo on December 12, 2008, 04:07:04 pm

Title: Issue with vlliveinstaller ... [CLOSED]
Post by: Cariboo on December 12, 2008, 04:07:04 pm
I try a hard-drive installation of VL5.9-STD-LIVE-Final
on a PC... PIII/500Mhz/500MB.
I have two hard drives...hda (10 GB) with WindowsXP and hdb (10 GB), where I want to install VL.
"vlliveinstaller" starts with partitioner gparted and after finishing the partitions on hdb (/, swap, /home) it stops running/runs into a deadlock, showing the text..."Please wait...Remounting partitions"...
I only can get out of it by hardware reset.
What info can I gather to solve the issue?
Any ideas?
EDIT01:
Help please!
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 13, 2008, 06:59:13 pm
It seems the "vlliveinstaller" can't handle my hardware setup of two hard drives, 10 GB hda master (Windows) and 10 GB hdb slave (on which I want to install VL).

If I declare the slave drive to master (changing jumper, cable, BIOS setup),
then VL will be installed (I see changes to the partition using Gparted of the Live CD), although I do not get an explicit message that the installation is completed. I notice that the installation was not successful because after reboot I'm still asked for a System CD to boot from.  ???

If I use Puppy Live CD, it recognizes a Linux System other than itself.
I can access all directories and files of the VL installation.

I would be very thankful if somebody would have an idea on this issue and share it here.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 13, 2008, 07:17:51 pm
Can you chroot to the VL installation and run any programs there?
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 13, 2008, 09:23:21 pm
Thanks uelsk8s...
I can access but not execute!
(see screen shots)
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 13, 2008, 10:51:50 pm
you need to either supply a path and a single command to chroot, or just a path
the first will run the command in the chroot and exit the second will switch to the chroot.

So "chroot /mnt/sdb1 /sbin/vliloconf" will run vliloconf on the chroot,

and "chroot /mnt/sdb1" will change you to that root where you can run whatever commands you want.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 14, 2008, 09:23:16 am
Re.: Running commands
I'm not sure what all the programs in /sbin do, so I tried only 'vliloconf' as you mentioned.
It didn't start.
Then I tried 'liloconfig'. this time the program started and /etc/lilo.conf was generated.
As you can see, only "Windows" on sda1 is listed.
(see Screen shots and .txt)
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 14, 2008, 11:19:00 am
was the kernel copied over?
can you post the contents of /boot on the VL install?
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 14, 2008, 01:07:32 pm
I'm still working on it..have prepared two .zip files from VL/boot...
having difficulties to post them here...

EDIT01:
It seems to be a timeout problem because of my dial-up connection..
I try to upload it on my web page.

Edit02:
Upload to web page didn't work either...
I try it again here...one at a time...

EDIT03:
/boot/bitmap loaded...
now I try the /boot ("boot_message.txt', "initrd" and "vmlinuz" exclusive /bitmap...size about 4400 Kb)..

EDIT04:
VLboot.zip seems to be too big....I try again..

EDIT05:
I can't provide /boot/vmlinuz from VL install,
only boot-message.txt and initrd (see Error.gif)
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 16, 2008, 08:15:33 pm
"vlliveinstaller" of VL5.9-STD-LIVE-Final is definitively not installing on my second hard drive..
(deadlock at "Remounting Partitions", only way out is hardware reset).
Maybe it is not supposed to be installed on sdb hard drives?
Although I have no problem to install VL5.9-std-GOLD-2.6.22.14 on this computer's sdb hard drive.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 17, 2008, 07:41:37 am
Hello all,
I'm just wondering if there is somebody else who had this issue with "vlliveinstaller" ???
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 17, 2008, 08:00:39 am
I have had no issues with it, but there have been reports of similar problems.
They are almost always on lower end hardware.
The live installer simply copies the files it is using.
IMO this requires too many resources for some slower systems.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 17, 2008, 11:31:21 pm
I'll try again to describe what happens on my computer.
I have two hard drives, setup as Master (sda) and Slave (sdb).
On sda Windows XP is installed and on sdb I want to have VL5.9-STD-LIVE-Final installed.
When I run "vlliveinstaller" the partitoner Gparted opens and shows the device sda. I can select device sdb and I also can partition it in /, swap and /home partitions.
When I exit Gparted the vlliveinstaller window opens again and gives the message
"Please wait...Remounting Partitions" and nothing else happens.

Now, when I install VL5.9-std-GOLD-2.6.22.14 on this computer's sdb hard drive with the TUI installer everything works flawless.

Or, when I setup only the second hard drive as Master "vlliveinstaller" works also just fine.

In my opinion this is not a question of 'lower end hardware' but vlliveinstaller is having a problem with a Master/Slave hard drive configuration which the installer in VL5.9-std-GOLD does not have.  ::)
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 19, 2008, 08:26:36 am
Has anybody experienced difficulties of this kind... :o
Any ideas, thoughts.... ::)
Help, please...

 ???

Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 19, 2008, 09:09:38 am
I have installed with live installer on primary master, primary slave, secondary master and secondary slave with zero problems.
It may help to reboot after partitioning with gparted and resume the installation.


HTH,
Uelsk8s
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 20, 2008, 02:25:36 am
It may help to reboot after partitioning with gparted and resume the installation.
HTH,
Uelsk8s
Doesn't help, because after partitioning of primary Slave sdb ( sdb1 /, sdb2 swap, sdb3 /home) and file systems (ext3, swap, ext3) the system goes into state "Please wait...Remounting partitions" and I have to use hardware Reset to get out of this. After restart vlliveinstaller starts with Gparted again and so forth...
Can it be a corrupt Live CD although the md5sum check was OK?
Cariboo
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 20, 2008, 07:50:03 am
The ISO can not be corrupt if the md5sum check was OK, but you could have a bad burn or an incompatibility between the cd-r media and the reader.

After a hard reset have you tried to exit gparted and use the partitions made on the previous attempt?
It is also possible to comment out the lines in the installer that start gparted.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 20, 2008, 03:42:46 pm
After a hard reset have you tried to exit gparted and use the partitions made on the previous attempt?
I can't exit Gparted without falling in this dead lock saying "Please wait...Remounting partitions".
If I choose "No" in the opening window the installe rdoes not continue?

It is also possible to comment out the lines in the installer that start gparted.
Yes, this would be an option if you could tell me how to find the vlliveinstaller sript and what to do?
I think it's not an easy task because installer is running from CD-read only.

Would you recommend to download the iso again? Where is the newest version to get?
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: uelsk8s on December 20, 2008, 07:14:10 pm
open /sbin/vliveinstall in a text editor as root.
comment out all uncommented lines starting with line #48 and ending with line #71
then run the installer as you normally would
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: Cariboo on December 22, 2008, 06:25:01 am
I did so and the installer asked a few questions but at the end it didn't install...


I am at the end of the rope now and I throw the white towel.....
It seems my hardware causes all kind of problems....
I'm migrating to Puppy which, I noticed, is more suited for these old machines..

I thank all of you at this great forum who where so helpful and supportive to me,
and my special thanks go to uelsk8s for his patience..
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ... [CLOSED]
Post by: Colonel Panic on February 20, 2009, 05:21:49 am
I'm a Puppy user (2.17 at present) and it's a great distro but I wouldn't use it as my only one. There's VL Light for people with older hardware.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ...
Post by: caitlyn on February 20, 2009, 05:33:15 am
I am at the end of the rope now and I throw the white towel.....
It seems my hardware causes all kind of problems....
I'm migrating to Puppy which, I noticed, is more suited for these old machines..

I never was able to get Puppy Linux to work on my older equipment.  When I pointed that out in my blog after being hounded for a review I was made the target of personal attacks by members of the Puppy Linux community.  One idiot even issued a death threat.  Thanks, but no thanks.  No Puppy for me, now or ever, unless the personal attacks are removed from their forum and an apology is issued.  I think it's likely hell will freeze over before that happens.

I think a lot of your issues stem from gparted and the live installer.  If you downloaded the conventional (installable but non-live) iso for VL Light it would probably work for you.  I've found VL Light 6.0 beta 2 to be remarkably stable despite being beta code.  You may want to give that a whirl.
Title: Re: Issue with vlliveinstaller ... [CLOSED]
Post by: Colonel Panic on March 01, 2009, 03:57:37 am
I've been lucky I suppose, Puppy installed first time for me.

May I comment on the rest? I see Puppy as my distro at least as much as Vector is.

Very sorry about the death threat on DistroWatch. I don't think the person who issued the death threat was a member of the Puppy forum btw. Unfortunately there are such people online.

AlienJeff stuck up for you in that thread on the Puppy forum (which I've seen). Personal attacks? Mostly people were just defending their distro. I did see one or two sexist comments, unfortunately Linux is a male and geeky world for the most part. I'd like to see more female devs and tech writers like yourself.

That Belgian guy ShakaZ who kept posting the same attack isn't someone I've seen on the Puppy forum at all (and I visit it a lot). It hurts to be attacked online, I know that only too well.

Puppy does allow criticism on its forum, someone today posted a thread saying he'd had problems with its stability.

Best,

Colonel Panic.

P.S. I normally enjoy your journalism (I didn't realise at first that you were Caitlyn Martin) and hope one day you'll rethink your position on not trying or reviewing Puppy. Puppy 4 is growing into a pretty decent distro IMO, though I think most of its issues got ironed out by Puppy 3.