VectorLinux

Cooking up the Treats => Distro development => Topic started by: nightflier on March 08, 2009, 07:03:17 am

Title: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 08, 2009, 07:03:17 am
Please post your experiences with Light Beta 3 here.

Thank you all for your time and effort.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: lagagnon on March 08, 2009, 05:11:56 pm
Looking really good. I cannot find any major bugs.

The weirdest thing was trying to launch gslapt from the menu. It didn't work first time, so I logged into a terminal as root and it worked, so closed it. Then I launched again from the menu and it worked. I closed gslapt but noted in my process list the first gslapt process which did not appear onscreen was still there. Anyone else notice this weirdness?

The IceWM theme is great but the difference between medium grey and dark grey in the menu is not really distinctive enough to show the highlighted application properly.

The following applications all throw errors when trying to launch their Help menu items: pathetic writer, siag, xedplus, xarchiver, gqview, mtpaint, gvu, xine...This has always been a problem with these lighterweight apps and it might be too difficult to worry about now, but though I would mention it.

Larry
 
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 09, 2009, 01:25:20 am
Hosted iso install went smooth. Wow, what a beautiful background.

Put music CD in drive, click on CD icon and xmms pops up and starts playing.

Dillo shows no black pages.

Opera is huge, cannot grab corners. Changed the theme to make opera smaller.
Succeeded and the keyboard & mouse froze.??? :(

Will test more later.
Title: Vector 6.0 Light B3 Update 1 available.
Post by: nightflier on March 09, 2009, 07:05:51 am
Larry, I think the gslapt issue is gksu related. To avoid huge gnome dependencies I used an older version. This seems to work fine as long as root doesn't try to call it. I updated the root menu generator and the custom wicd-client launcer to work around it.

Other changes that came up shortly after publishing the ISO: Added some cdtool symlinks which were missing. Added a 10 sec delay to the explorer_cd script so that if the user launches it immediately after inserting a disc, the drive gets a chance to settle down before trying to access it.

These updates can be applied by installing this package:
http://cincinnatix.com/vectorlinux/nightflier/vl6lb3update-1.0-noarch-1vl60.tlz

Edit - New package with more fixes:
http://cincinnatix.com/vectorlinux/nightflier/vl6lb3update-1.0-noarch-2vl60.tlz

After installing update, please log in as root, run "Update Menu" and select "Start from scratch". Then try launching gslapt and wicd-client from the menu.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 09, 2009, 07:08:26 am
Pita: For your Opera issue, can you hold down the left Alt button, then left-click and drag the Opera window so that you expose the corners?
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 09, 2009, 12:19:52 pm
The following applications all throw errors when trying to launch their Help menu items: pathetic writer, siag, xedplus, xarchiver, gqview, mtpaint, gvu, xine...This has always been a problem with these lighterweight apps and it might be too difficult to worry about now, but though I would mention it.

I'm glad you did mention it. I traced some problems down to fixable errors in the packages. Xarchiver seems to be looking for pieces which I could only find mention of in a "debianutils" .deb package file. Some selective extraction got it to the point where help will launch when you run xarchiver from a terminal prompt rather than the menu entry.

I added these fixes to the original update package, taking us to cumulative update 1v2:
http://cincinnatix.com/vectorlinux/nightflier/vl6lb3update-1.0-noarch-2vl60.tlz
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 09, 2009, 06:33:22 pm
Pita: For your Opera issue, can you hold down the left Alt button, then left-click and drag the Opera window so that you expose the corners?

I know that and you told me before, however, it does not work in this case with opera and VL-Light.
I can shade opera and still cannot move it. Only when I select another theme and then shade opera can I move it and make it smaller because I now can grab the corners.
My monitor is a Philips 19" LCD.

I just changed from fluxbox to icewm in my present VL-6 box which ancester is VL-LIGHT-A14.
And there is the exactly the same problem. Opera opens filling the entire screen and can't be moved. I have to find out in which theme I can move it when I have the time. In VL-LIGHT-B3 it was the yellowmotif. Does not work in my box now.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 09, 2009, 08:01:34 pm
Opera is a problem this time around, because it won't let me pre-configure it. Looks like they added code to force you to agree to the EULA first time a user opens it.

It seems to default to a maximized window. Double-clicking the titlebar restores it, but the "restored" size is same as maximized, so you don't see any change. However, the difference is that now the window can be moved. Some times it takes me a few times of double-clicking the title bar until I hit upon the "restored" state so I can move it. Have you tried this?
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 09, 2009, 11:36:56 pm
Opera is a problem this time around, because it won't let me pre-configure it. Looks like they added code to force you to agree to the EULA first time a user opens it.

It seems to default to a maximized window. Double-clicking the titlebar restores it, but the "restored" size is same as maximized, so you don't see any change. However, the difference is that now the window can be moved. Some times it takes me a few times of double-clicking the title bar until I hit upon the "restored" state so I can move it. Have you tried this?

I was able to have mine cut to size as explained be changing the theme. BTW in my working box it needed win95 to achieve it. Now when I double click the title bar it maximizes and can't be moved as you say hitting restore it goes back to my size.

It seems this problem is only in icewm. May be the ice freezes it :P

I will now reboot and see if the size holds, logging out and back in does. Will check as well on jwm.

Rebooted and the resize holds.

skype is working.

In jwm mplayer will not fully open and still freezes mouse as discussed before which seems unique to my setup.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Lyn on March 10, 2009, 01:15:25 am
The main problem I had with B2 was Gspapt freezing when adding multiple items, this is now working fine :-)  Though the repro still has some issues, such as Nvidia. 
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: caitlyn on March 10, 2009, 05:08:41 am
Lyn:  I'm a repo maintainer.  If you don't spell out the issues nothing can be fixed.  What is the problem with the NVidia drivers?  What other problems have you seen?

nightflier:  I'll have a new SIAG package to correct the help issue shortly.


Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Lyn on March 10, 2009, 10:29:43 am
Sorry Caitlyn, was rushing I should have said I will give a fuller report tonight when I have more time... its a dependency issue, will do the report properly.  Think I will reinstall and then do some installation as there has been a major revision of the repositories and its only fair that I do this based on where we are now.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 10, 2009, 06:30:22 pm
Toooo bad again I can't configure my printer. ???

What could be the problem? In one test release I can configure in the next now not. In cups add printer in Device usb:unknown is again not there.

I booted now with the printer switched on and it did not change.

My printer is an Epson LQ300 24 pin impact printer connected to an USB port with an adapter cable, parallel to USB.

Now I did rc.cups stop then start just to see if anything happens. Opened localhost:631/admin with opera typed the name of the printer click continue and the system froze. :'(

This is now the second freeze in B3 working with opera. That scares me. On reboot then it got stuck on loading modules, next reboot attempt succeeded.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 11, 2009, 08:33:07 pm
Hi
Installed VL-Light-bata3 today to the p3-600 w/256meg on 10gig. no swap @ 1024x768

wow...nice work...vector quality speed and simplicity in a bata

cheers

notes

vasm auto detected modem,  I added account (thanks for the dialer), now online
modem is isa internal serial w/rockwell chipset

vasm auto detected the second optical drive..required root login to add to /etc/fstab  and rename /mnt/cdrecorder>/mnt/cdwriter..now mountable via explore-cd icon....added a dvd temp to test and watched a couple of commercial  music videos from a concert no issues

added  icons to desktop as per excellent welcome notes

added gnuchess-5.07-i486-3.tlz package (on hand) via su installpkg.. auto added game item to menu with update menu..I lost the match

test media plays fine in gqview, xpdf,  xmms, xine and mplayer...nice skin

gqview edits with mtpaint

screenshot with shutterbug

http://files.myopera.com/dsl-o/albums/550557/b3image.jpg

changed wallpaper via welcome notes

a master volume would be nice...not sure how to add a launcher for nice little mixer

vburn option single folder to cd-r...success

update gslapt with testing..download install audacity....installs and opens...

audacity issues will post to audacity thread when found

opera requires that you click the maximize button prior to alt drag or resize..kinda makes sence...when max no move when unmax size and move at will...but thought someone mentioned it while reading,

a larger start button would be nice..: )

will continue to play with this..post thanks

will pull a stick and try 128 megs ram at 800x600

edit: log in as tui and set monitor for 800x600crt...and rebooted with 128megs ram

same results with basic tests

thanks..hope it is of use

edit...not that any one cares but just added a classic 51/4 floppy to vll and added to fstab..some old docs on these floppys..opening nicely in the default text editor
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 12, 2009, 02:29:27 am
I noticed that the program look is present, however, not /usr/share/dict/words
where look is looking for words.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 12, 2009, 07:03:01 am
@ overthere: Great feedback, you really put it through the paces. Very much appreciated. About volume control, do you have a "Sound Mixer" in the menu under "Multimedia"?

@ pita: I really wish I had some idea about what makes your printer work or not. If you figure it out, be sure to let us know. With reference to the "look" command, you're right; it looks for words as in an obscure package named "words". I found one for Fedora which should work, as it is basically just one big text file. Stay tuned.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 12, 2009, 09:18:42 pm
@ overthere: Great feedback, you really put it through the paces. Very much appreciated. About volume control, do you have a "Sound Mixer" in the menu under "Multimedia"?

@ pita: I really wish I had some idea about what makes your printer work or not. If you figure it out, be sure to let us know. With reference to the "look" command, you're right; it looks for words as in an obscure package named "words". I found one for Fedora which should work, as it is basically just one big text file. Stay tuned.

Will try to figure what makes my printer work or not. For one thing copying the working /etc/cups from one box to the other usually works. Which is naturally not the right way a newcomer could do.

Look is looking in /usr/share/dict/words. It is right there in slackware since times immemorial.
One needs only to enter the first letters of  a word and it rattles down all the rest.
I just copied it into the B3 test box.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 13, 2009, 04:08:02 pm
well I try hard but usually not very helpfull...anyway

when I was testing the players I opened xine first and played several files then opened mplayer and did the same..later I clicked files in the file manager and they opened with xine...today when I clicked xine in the menu it opened and then disappeared..reboot same..still playes files fine via file manager..this is the terminal responce

This is xine (X11 gui) - a free video player v0.99.5.
(c) 2000-2007 The xine Team.
X Error of failed request:  BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (XVideo)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  19 ()
  Serial number of failed request:  2132
  Current serial number in output stream:  2133

I have not had the error with 5.9 which was on the box prior to vl6s so thought it may be an issue related to the xine skin for mplayer..like that helps..thought someone may have an old box and experienced the same

cheers
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 13, 2009, 04:18:17 pm
Your efforts helpful. With the low exposure that VL Light gets, we don't receive much feedback. So please keep the reports coming.

I believe mplayer can be finicky with skins, window managers and X drivers. If you could try right-clicking the mplayer window, select "Skin browser" and try the other skin, that may cause a change. There are also more skins available for download here: http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 13, 2009, 04:20:23 pm
Another update: http://cincinnatix.com/vectorlinux/nightflier/vl6lb3update-2.0-noarch-1vl60.tlz

This is not a continuation of the first cumulative update. I'm experimenting with a sort of "service pack". This one does some version checking, makes backups and gives the user more feedback and options. The changes included are not that many, but I am interested to hear what you think of this delivery mechanism.

Update highlights:
- New menu when you execute the "CD/DVD" launcher on your desktop, giving you some options to choose from.
- The "Play DVD" and "Play Audio CD" entries on the default multimedia menu have been replaced with a single "CD/DVD" icon.
- Help for apps like gqview and xarchiver should now work.
- On first launch of IceWM as root you are now given the option of updating the search database
- Added a "deep search" option to the menu updater. This in response to testing KDE4, and finding that the sheer number of applications overwhelmed the simple menu structure of Light. Leaving this new option unchecked keeps these entries off the menu.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: caitlyn on March 13, 2009, 04:21:02 pm
There are new packages for gqview (built by kc1di) and siag (built by myself) in the testing repo.  Both correct the reported problems with the help menu.  Help now works correctly.  I'm running the repo maintenance scripts right now.  They should show up in gslapt and on the various repo mirror servers shortly.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 13, 2009, 08:14:42 pm
thanks...yes I changed the mplayer skin to alternate ( did not add others but do have some )..it was the same even after reboot...all I added was gnu chess and audacity..uninstalled audacity but same...

I like the new mplayer skin..it add some functionality and I am ok with the issue but xine would be better on a faster box as it still offers function not in mplayer..like show controls and couple of others...

mplayer is better in that it adds command line extractions...which I used to create test media on 5.9

xine still plays the vid clips in home but dissappears after play

at first I thought this may be a function but no toggle was found and it should stay open when clicked from menu

the term errors mention resource..this is a low end box with 5 or 6 gig free and 256 meg ram the old swap drive failed so I removed it and installed with no swap as test...could reinstall with swap and see if it is solved

cheers

@caitlyn...I allowed the office to install with bata3...I updated then added all fonts one at a time from the repository (via gslapt)..I am not getting results...do I have to also add them to a font path? or something....stardict although it works well with the light notepads does not work correctly with PW...not sure if the fonts are related...I did get one font...courier I think...sorry ...to bold and italic and it looked different than the default....packages are in the ftp and the install posted success...was this addressed in the new package you mention? if so I will try it...would I need to reinstall the fonts after a reinstall of siag should this be the case...thanks for any

cheers
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: caitlyn on March 13, 2009, 08:21:48 pm
No, there is nothing to do with the fonts other than installing them.   I have to assume you missed some because it works perfectly for me, as did the previous version other than the help issue.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 13, 2009, 08:51:26 pm
well I will solve MY problem by not adding it as I think it is an option and I am reinstalling when I finish posting....glad it works for you..siag is a classic office suit and is often overlooked..I mentioned useing it befor on a lite distro..dali I think...but it is not like I remember and is not needed here

cheers
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 14, 2009, 06:08:29 pm
reinstalled less siag office...updated gslapt and added osmo with spell checked notes and font options then added stardict which works well with osmo and geany additions...osmo and stardict work well from tray

xine and mplayer are as they should be..not sure what caused xine to vanish

added, gnuchess, xmahjongg and wine1116 to play backgammon..all work fine

only oddity during the once over was that gslapt would not open second time but reboot seems to have solved

looking very nice...thanks

cheers
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Pita on March 14, 2009, 08:26:17 pm
http://cincinnatix.com/vectorlinux/nightflier/vl6lb3update-2.0-noarch-1vl60.tlz

I made this update and now my printer is working since the Device usb://unknown was now there in the Device window of cups.  ;D

Dillo is showing black pages and therefore of not much use. It has something to do with the settings in dillorc.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Lyn on March 15, 2009, 02:23:15 am
Sorry for the delay, real life got in the way :-)

When I try to install the nVidia package I get the following message with Gslapt
vlnvidia: Depends:   vxconf >= 5.9
If I ignore then I can't install. 

Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Apeman on March 16, 2009, 08:21:17 am
Hi, It seems there is still problem with changing default windows manager in VASM for root, for other users it works.

When I choose JWM as a default window manager in VASM, startx still runs IceWM.
I looked into /sbin/vxwmset and in /etc/X11/xinit but I didn't notice any problem.

I can copy /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.jwm to /root/.xinitrc to force JWM to start but this isn't the proper way how to fix this problem.

I'm glad there is XFM in VL60 Light B3, it is a good and lightweight file manager. I use it instead of more resource hungry pcmanfm.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 16, 2009, 02:09:35 pm
You're right, there is a bug in there somewhere. I don't see it right off the bat, and suspect it will be lumped in with a number of other "legacy scripts" that are in need of updating. This is not on the roadmap for the immediate future. Maybe I'll include your workaround in the welcome document as a "known issue". Thanks again for testing.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: never_stop_learning on March 16, 2009, 06:55:02 pm
Innstalled VL6.0-Light B3 on my trusty IBM TP 240 (Celeron 400mhz/320mb RAM).

Left off Siag Office, added Abiwird and Gnumeric. Added Firestarter.....

So far I have tried Firefox, Abiword, Gnumeric, XMMS, aumix, Wicd, Pidgin, Xpdf and both IceWM and JWM WM's. Wireless is through a Netgear WG511T (Atheros).

The only minor anoyance is a scratchy sound coming through the laptop speaker when I open a program.

How do I silence the 'initiating startup/shut down sequence'.....?

All in all, 6.0 Light B3 works on this old, resource challanged laptop just fine.....!
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 16, 2009, 07:13:10 pm
The startup/logout sounds are in your home directory, under .icewm/sounds. For silence, just delete them.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: never_stop_learning on March 16, 2009, 08:36:46 pm
Thank you, nightflyer.....!
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: overthere on March 24, 2009, 09:09:19 pm
Hi
I have not had time to download the rc yet.. but wanted to say THANK YOU ..although I find no one shares my enthusiasm, this puts the fun back into computing for me and it was easy as pie on VLLbata3...thanks for this
http://files.myopera.com/dsl-o/albums/550557/Vlight4.jpg
getting daily use.
cheers :)
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: quotaholic on March 25, 2009, 07:16:38 pm
cant run lite 6.0, its too big. way too big. are you sure 612mb classifies as light?

I am downloading 5.9 crossing my fingers that it will fit on my tiny internal flash storage drive. Hi my name is daryl. I run a forum site based around a wifi web tablet. I'm not here to spam. I am here to shop for a distro that will work on it.

My google video on the computer in question:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=4459995737871873106&ei=5OLKSabcGI-WrwLruMTcDQ&q=webdt366&hl=en&client=firefox-a

Its an lx800 geode cpu and geode gpu. 534 mb of internal flash and 256 of ram. Cisco pcmcia wifi built in and a CF card slot that I cant boot to. I am hoping I can fstab a home folder over to it, we will see.

So far the slackware lzma distro's like slax and nimlex work but I cant change the configs as they are live distros.

My question on Zenwalk 6 light is this: Can one trim it up at all?

I know its light to the developers but I have a much lighter idea of light. Like jwm, mplayer, wifi, xvkbd, that hakasakakakeake web browser or what ever its called and not much else. Penmount makes the touchscreen so the xorg-xserver-input-penmount package too but thats it.

There are far too many small distributions out there for me to think this is not possible. If there is a minimal text only iso I could start with and build from there I could not find it. Has vector ever considered a web based build service? The US govt JUST surplused hundreds of these tablets. I would love to post on my forum that Vector works on the WebDT366.

Best regards and kudos on a great distro, I have used it in the past.

quotaholic
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: rbistolfi on March 25, 2009, 07:50:51 pm
Hi quotaholic

cant run lite 6.0, its too big. way too big. are you sure 612mb classifies as light?

The goal is to provide a small memory footprint and light weight applications. As you noted, light is not small.

Quote
My question on Zenwalk 6 light is this: Can one trim it up at all?

Hehe too much distro search for you :). I guess Vector Light can be slimed removing the development packages, the kernel sources and some other stuff you may not need.

Quote
There are far too many small distributions out there for me to think this is not possible. If there is a minimal text only iso I could start with and build from there I could not find it. Has vector ever considered a web based build service? The US govt JUST surplused hundreds of these tablets. I would love to post on my forum that Vector works on the WebDT366.

A web based build system sounds good. Unfortunately, VL has not many developers, some one should step in and do the job. There are some other distros that can do a network based install, maybe one of them will suit better your needs. If you can tweak the ISO to allow the installer to run in your device, you could do a minimal install and use the package manager to add what you need. I am not sure how that process would be but if you decide to do it we will try to help. In the other hand, something like ArchLinux could be the solution for your problem, with a small iso and a package manager to complete the install. VL working in the WebDT366 would be cool  though ;).

HTH, Rodrigo
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on March 25, 2009, 11:02:44 pm
Minimum for Light is 1.1 GB. As rbistolfi said, "Light" and "Small" is not the same thing. 5.9 will not fit on a 534 MB storage device either. You want something like Puppy, DSL or TinyCore Linux.
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: Lyn on March 26, 2009, 05:10:45 am
Glad to report the Nvidia issue has been solved.  Loaded the package via gslapt and then logged into text mode and ran vasm, installed the video correctly, no problem.   Looking good so far.  Nice to have the whole customised bits in the main repo when this goes gold, probably run IceWM using standard/delux then :-) 
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: finaldata on April 03, 2009, 10:26:39 am
I'm burning the iso right now... i'm installing it on a compaq armada m300 - 64mb ram, p3 600 CPU, 12GB HDD, broken LCD (hahahah!), DELL USB 1450 Wifi card...

Any thoughts?
Title: Re: Vector 6.0 Light B3 feedback and bug reports.
Post by: nightflier on April 03, 2009, 11:21:48 am
Light Final is released. Use that one instead of the Beta.

With 64 MB of RAM, you may want to use JWM instead of IceWM, and not use Pcmanfm to manage the desktop. Unchecking the "icewm" package during install will make it so.