VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 01:14:41 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Toshiba Laptop  (Read 3044 times)
OU812
Vectorite

« on: July 25, 2009, 09:07:33 am »

Hello. I've been using VL on-and-off for many years. The off-again part is due to some technical problems I've had with various releases that I couldn't overcome. However, I decided that I'm now adept enough at linux that I should be able to solve any of the issues I've had in the past, or even any new issues. Besides, I wasn't exactly happy running antix or mandriva on this laptop.

Antix was a terrific little distro on this Toshiba Satellite, but I wanted a distro different from my desktop - something along the lines of slackware or fedora. Besides, I was getting a little burnt out helping with the development of the distro (i.e. having the distro installed on both computers meant I was constantly working on the project). So I tried Mandriva Spring 2009 dual (with lxde desktop). I really enjoyed using it, and loved the fact that it supported 64 bit architectures, but my heart just wasn't in it. I didn't get excited about using it: I just booted the os, listened to some shoutcast streams using aqualung, and browsed the 'net until I got bored.