VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: XFCE Problems.....  (Read 6242 times)

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
XFCE Problems.....
« on: July 28, 2009, 10:39:29 am »

Logged into my HP Mini this morning and XFCE had significant issues.

No right click menu - and no XFCE panel menu.

Lost all of the quick launch items from the XFCE panel.

No wallpaper.

Logged out and back in with LXDE - LXDE works fine.

Downgraded XFCE  and logged back in - same issues.

Upgraded XFCE and logged back in - same issues.

No option in GLSAPT to re-install.....

Any thoughts as to why XFCE would just 'freak out' like this?
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3230
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009, 10:47:00 am »

Did you do a massive upgrade?
try deleting (or renaming) your ~/.config directory

it should create the default configuration.

As an alternative to that, to avoid losing configuration for other apps, you may consider simply looking in ~/.config and deleting (or moving) only the xfce related directories

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 11:11:48 am »

Just the auto update via gslaptd.....

Thank you for the guidance. I will move the XFCE related directories and report back.....
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2009, 11:29:13 am »

Basic XFCE is back without any of the Vector customization.....

Now to compare the original XFCE files with the new ones.

On a bright note, LXDE is working just great.....  ;D
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2009, 12:11:11 pm »

Try copying the files from /etc/skel/.config/xfce into your $HOME/.config/xfce
You have to do it as regular user, not root. Also be sure all the files in .config and the dir itself are owned by your user and not root. For checking permissions and ownership you can use the ls command with the -al options or right click in thunar, select the permissions tabs iirc.

HTH
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2009, 03:04:20 pm »

This gets me a lot closer.....

Still can't change the wallpaper from a solid color.

I am beginning to think that a clean install may be the best path forward?
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2009, 03:42:08 pm »

This gets me a lot closer.....

Still can't change the wallpaper from a solid color.

I am beginning to think that a clean install may be the best path forward?

Well I think a clean install is too radical at least for now. The most common cause for this problem is that the permissions in your .config got messed and Xfce4 cant read them. By restoring the default config from /etc/skel you fixed that problem. Now, the desktop is not being managed by Xfce. Its likely xfdesktop daemon is not running, you can fix this simply by running xfdesktop through the run dialog, you get it with Alt+F2 or from the menu.

Let us know how it goes.

EDIT: you can also check if xfdesktop is running using htop. If after running the command with the run dialog you still get problems, try running it from a terminal as regular user to catch any error message.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2009, 03:44:22 pm by rbistolfi »
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2009, 07:32:36 am »

There is definitely a problem with the XFCE 4.6 package that the glapt-d auto update is pulling from the extras repository.

My IBM X22 updated this morning and exactly the same issues happened with XFCE when I rebooted.....

rbistolfi - I will try your suggestions and report back.
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2009, 08:16:44 am »

Well I think a clean install is too radical at least for now. The most common cause for this problem is that the permissions in your .config got messed and Xfce4 cant read them. By restoring the default config from /etc/skel you fixed that problem. Now, the desktop is not being managed by Xfce. Its likely xfdesktop daemon is not running, you can fix this simply by running xfdesktop through the run dialog, you get it with Alt+F2 or from the menu.

Let us know how it goes.

EDIT: you can also check if xfdesktop is running using htop. If after running the command with the run dialog you still get problems, try running it from a terminal as regular user to catch any error message.

Running xfdesktop appears to have done the trick.....

Thank you.

IMHO, since the same issues happened on two dissimilar machines, the XFCE 4.6 package in extras should be moved back to testing to prevent numerous users from having to perform these additional steps after updating.
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2009, 08:36:04 am »

Well I think a clean install is too radical at least for now. The most common cause for this problem is that the permissions in your .config got messed and Xfce4 cant read them. By restoring the default config from /etc/skel you fixed that problem. Now, the desktop is not being managed by Xfce. Its likely xfdesktop daemon is not running, you can fix this simply by running xfdesktop through the run dialog, you get it with Alt+F2 or from the menu.

Let us know how it goes.

EDIT: you can also check if xfdesktop is running using htop. If after running the command with the run dialog you still get problems, try running it from a terminal as regular user to catch any error message.

Running xfdesktop appears to have done the trick.....

Thank you.

IMHO, since the same issues happened on two dissimilar machines, the XFCE 4.6 package in extras should be moved back to testing to prevent numerous users from having to perform these additional steps after updating.

You are correct Dave, those 4.6.0 packages shouldnt be in extra as they have a known issue. Sorry about the inconvenience.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2009, 09:51:55 am »

No worries..... That's why you have folks like me around who never sleep and are on the computer all night.....  ;D
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 10:01:21 am by never_stop_learning »
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2009, 09:46:11 pm »

Rodrigo,

Never, never give positive feedback to never_stop_learning.  He is sufficiently difficult to deal with already.

John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2009, 10:19:52 pm »

Rodrigo,

Never, never give positive feedback to never_stop_learning.  He is sufficiently difficult to deal with already.

John

Thank you, Counselor. Coming from an attorney, I take that as a distinct complement..... ;)  ;D

Took the following steps on the X22 when I got home tonight:

1. Deleted the XFCE related directories from $HOME/.config
2. Downgraded XFCE 4.6.0 to 4.4.3
3. Copied XFCE directories from /etc/skel/.config into $HOME/.config
4. Rebooted - got a blank desktop
5. Ran xfdesktop

Got my old XFCE desktop back EXCEPT the XFCE Panel. Tried to access Panel in the Settings Manager - nothing. Right click on the desktop gets the menu so I can access programs, etc. Everything is back to normal except I no longer have the XFCE Panel.

Any thoughts and/or suggestions regarding how to get my XFCE Panel back?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2009, 10:32:00 pm by never_stop_learning »
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1463
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2009, 05:46:53 am »

never_stop_learning,

I have no clue.  Did you type xfce4-panel as root?  That usually works for me.

John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2009, 07:20:28 am »

Rodrigo,

Never, never give positive feedback to never_stop_learning.  He is sufficiently difficult to deal with already.

John

I will keep it in mind ;D

Rodrigo,

Never, never give positive feedback to never_stop_learning.  He is sufficiently difficult to deal with already.

John

Thank you, Counselor. Coming from an attorney, I take that as a distinct complement..... ;)  ;D

Took the following steps on the X22 when I got home tonight:

1. Deleted the XFCE related directories from $HOME/.config
2. Downgraded XFCE 4.6.0 to 4.4.3
3. Copied XFCE directories from /etc/skel/.config into $HOME/.config
4. Rebooted - got a blank desktop
5. Ran xfdesktop

Got my old XFCE desktop back EXCEPT the XFCE Panel. Tried to access Panel in the Settings Manager - nothing. Right click on the desktop gets the menu so I can access programs, etc. Everything is back to normal except I no longer have the XFCE Panel.

Any thoughts and/or suggestions regarding how to get my XFCE Panel back?

Point for John. Running xfce4-panel should fix it.
The problem whith the Panel and the Desktop is more like the procecess died, and Xfce4 saves your session when you quit. In that way the problem sticks.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pages: [1] 2