Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: XFCE Problems.....  (Read 6006 times)

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2009, 08:34:17 am »
I will try to run xfce4-panel when I get home and report back.....

If this works, though, I will give all credit to Rodrigo as John becomes insufferable on those rare occasions when he is right.... ;)
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2009, 09:34:44 am »
never_stop_learning, I would not credit an Argentinean if I were you....after what they did to poor governor Mark Sanford.  An innocent man, a man of God, if ever there was one, ruined, by a beautiful Argentinean lady, a lady, who, Mark says used trickery to convert him to polygamy.  Her beauty, he says, rendered him completely defenseless.

John 
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2296
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2009, 10:52:52 am »
never_stop_learning, I would not credit an Argentinean if I were you....after what they did to poor governor Mark Sanford.  An innocent man, a man of God, if ever there was one, ruined, by a beautiful Argentinean lady, a lady, who, Mark says used trickery to convert him to polygamy.  Her beauty, he says, rendered him completely defenseless.

John 

LOL

I will try to run xfce4-panel when I get home and report back.....

If this works, though, I will give all credit to Rodrigo as John becomes insufferable on those rare occasions when he is right.... ;)

Dont tell that to the Nevada Court...
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2009, 08:47:29 pm »
OK......I tried running xfce4-panel and got the panel back but minus the vasmcc launcher AND the web browser launcher prompted me to choose my default browser (firefox) but then Firefox launched without any of my bookmarks or add-ons. I rebooted without saving the session - no panel again. Opened Firefox via the right click menu and my bookmarks and add-ons were back.

Here is the strange part - I tried running xfce4-panel with Firfox open and this time the panel had the vasmcc launcher. The web browser launcher prompted me to choose my default but this time a second Firefox opened with everything intact.

I rebooted, saving the session this time, and everything appears to be back to normal.....  8)
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2296
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2009, 09:15:10 am »
the web browser launcher prompted me to choose my default browser (firefox) but then Firefox launched without any of my bookmarks or add-ons.

Be sure you are running xfce4-panel as the same user running the session. I think Firefox was launched as root and therefore without your bookmarks or addons.
Glad you finally fixed it.
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2009, 11:59:53 am »
never_stop_learning,

I have no clue.  Did you type xfce4-panel as root?  That usually works for me.

John

That's it.....! I launched as root the first time - per sledgehammer's instructions - and as user the second time.

I knew it was John's fault..... ;)  ;D
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2009, 09:15:12 pm »
I refuse to answer on the grounds that it might tend to incriminate me.

John
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2009, 11:15:55 am »
With your help I got xfce 4.6.0 working on my HP Mini and have decided to keep it for now.

There are differences, though, and I am still getting used to 4.6.0.....
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2009, 11:22:03 am »
xfce-4.6.1 is now available.
I upgraded to this with no problems at all.

Just FYI

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2009, 03:16:06 pm »
xfce-4.6.1 is now available.
I upgraded to this with no problems at all.

Just FYI

Downloaded 4.6.1 and love it.....!

Highly recommended.
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2009, 10:39:01 pm »
Where is it?

John
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #26 on: August 04, 2009, 04:53:15 am »

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1451
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #27 on: August 04, 2009, 01:19:33 pm »
But never_stop_learning says I can't use the testing repo, until I get old, like him.

John
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #28 on: August 04, 2009, 01:22:00 pm »
I wouldn't use it to do a massive upgrade, but I would enable it, run slapt-get -u && slapt-get -i xfce4 and then disable it again.

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: XFCE Problems.....
« Reply #29 on: August 05, 2009, 12:23:38 pm »
sledgehammer likes pictures and usually uses Gslapt. ;)
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std