VectorLinux
October 02, 2014, 02:22:00 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 20090804 firefox-3.5.2 [VL6.0]  (Read 2360 times)
toothandnail
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2527


« on: August 04, 2009, 09:02:31 am »

toothandnail has built a new Firefox package for VectorLinux 6.0.
   
      
   
Code:
firefox: Firefox (Mozilla Firefox Web Browser)
firefox:
firefox: Firefox 3 is the next generation release of the award-winning
firefox: Firefox web browser from Mozilla.
firefox: To comply with Mozilla trademarks, and to assure quality control,
firefox: this is the official Mozilla build, packaged for VectorLinux.
firefox:
firefox:
firefox: License: MPL 1.1/GPL 2.0/LGPL 2.1
firefox: Author:  Mozilla Foundation <drivers@mozilla.org>
firefox: Website: http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
   
This release fixes a number of security problems. See here for details:

http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilities/firefox35.html#firefox3.5.2

I'm very short of time at the moment, but I hope to have time to build a version for Vectorlinux 5.9 in the next couple of days.

After testing this package please stop back here and let us know how it works for you.
   
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 09:05:24 am by toothandnail » Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2009, 03:03:58 pm »

Works fine here.
Did it got faster compred to 3.5.1, or is it just my imagination?

ADDED:
Sorry, completely forgot:
Thank you very much for the package.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2009, 03:23:49 pm by budulay » Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2009, 11:33:45 pm »

Also works fine here...
Logged
zhymm
Packager
Member
****
Posts: 20


« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2009, 07:22:51 am »

All Firefox-3.5.2 goodness & love here.  Cheesy
Logged

If I were organized I'd be dangerous.
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2009, 11:24:08 am »

Now if I could only get spell checking working on it... any clues... no prob with seamonkey, which unfortunately seems really shaky on my machine and crashes multiple times a day - not the right place I suspect... but any clues...
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2009, 07:40:28 pm »

Firefox 3.5.2 has been working fine here on three computers.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2009, 06:09:27 pm »

Works fine, except as with all previous versions running a flash video and
clicking on fullscreen freezes firefox. Have to kill it with killall -9 firefox-bin.

Is this unique to my machine?

No such problem with epiphany.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2009, 06:54:07 pm »

Works fine, except as with all previous versions running a flash video and
clicking on fullscreen freezes firefox. Have to kill it with killall -9 firefox-bin.

Is this unique to my machine?

I just tried it on my laptop and Firefox didn't freeze. I'm using the latest version of Flash (just downloaded it from Adobe and installed it a couple of days ago).
--GrannyGeek
« Last Edit: August 08, 2009, 03:51:18 pm by GrannyGeek » Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2009, 02:43:13 am »

Its picky about the screen freeze thing, though no problems with the BBC Iplayer here...
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2009, 06:45:47 pm »

Works fine, except as with all previous versions running a flash video and
clicking on fullscreen freezes firefox. Have to kill it with killall -9 firefox-bin.

Is this unique to my machine?

No such problem with epiphany.

I just opened different websites for flash playing in fullscreen. It seems the freeze in firefox
is unique to this site  http://www.ardmediathek.de/ard/servlet/ and I show a sample URL:

http://www.ardmediathek.de/ard/servlet/content/2822446;jsessionid=43161B403EACFF3B45197D6F45F29B3E

It is in German, however, clicking on Fullscreen does not need any language skills. Wink

Regards
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2009, 06:59:18 pm »

Your sample URL ran fine fullscreen for me on Firefox 3.5.2 with the very latest Flash. I tried this on my 2 GHz Celeron laptop with VL 6 Light.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2009, 09:16:34 pm »

Your sample URL ran fine fullscreen for me on Firefox 3.5.2 with the very latest Flash. I tried this on my 2 GHz Celeron laptop with VL 6 Light.
--GrannyGeek

Thanks GrannyGeek!

Interesting. I do have the latest flash as well. Must be in my box of  my very, very old .mozilla home directory.
Will check on that.
Logged
caitlyn
Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2009, 07:48:24 am »

Working fine for me including spellchecking and language packs.

Lyn:  If you are running with American English rather than British English for your default language you have to install the American English dictionary and then it will work. 
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2009, 11:27:54 am »

Running British English as my default language...
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2009, 08:07:38 pm »

Your sample URL ran fine fullscreen for me on Firefox 3.5.2 with the very latest Flash. I tried this on my 2 GHz Celeron laptop with VL 6 Light.
--GrannyGeek

Thanks GrannyGeek!

Interesting. I do have the latest flash as well. Must be in my box of  my very, very old .mozilla home directory.
Will check on that.

Went to the test VL-6-STD box on my second HD. Logged-in as root. Opened firefox and the problem is the same. Firefox freezes when clicking on Fullscreen in the mentioned website.
Strange, strange.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!