VectorLinux
July 31, 2014, 09:11:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: SOLVED ********: CDROM is not available - HELP IS NEEDED  (Read 5392 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2009, 07:13:47 am »

sunny Denmark

Når jeg så brukernavnet Jakobsen så hadde jeg en mistanke, ja. Hilsen utflyttet Nordmann.   Grin
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2009, 09:38:13 am »

Dmesg does not have anything seen other than
/dev/sda (That is the SATA HDD).

I also noted an error on hda-intel, is your sound
working ok?

After looking at the manual for the MB I find perhaps a
couple things:

In the Storage configuration see if the CDROM is listed and
wether it is IDE1 MASTER or IDE2SLAVE.

Do use the CD/DVD rom setting, also there is a 32 bit
option that you can use.

That is where to start. If that does not get you going you
the try posting the output of:

cat /proc/mounts

Bigpaws
Logged
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2009, 01:10:38 am »

I have done a fresh install this morning, and I formatted everything
New dmesg attached - does the lines 251 - 255 have anything to do with this problem?

The CD-ROM is set as IDE1 MASTER - I am not sure where to find the 32-bit option

My sound is not working satisfactory, with normal volume I can hardly hear anything, with 100% volume its is possible to hear.

jakobsen:$ cat /proc/mounts
rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
/dev/root / reiserfs rw,noatime 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw 0 0
/dev/sda6 /home reiserfs rw,noatime 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw 0 0
l
Logged
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2009, 10:25:41 am »

My sound is not working satisfactory, with normal volume I can hardly hear anything, with 100% volume its is possible to hear.

Well Bigpaws, seems like I have got the sound working simply by running 'alsaconf' as root in the shell - the dialog was very familiar as it is the same as during alsa setup in the install. So Now I am wondering if I should run the part of the installation procedure that sets up the CD-ROM device as root in the shell. I just do not know the command.

Anybody - please advise.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #19 on: August 26, 2009, 05:06:07 pm »

I am running out of ideas.

How about post the output from this:

cat /proc/diskstats | grep hd

I still do not see any reference to the cdrom. I am thinking
that the Bios is a problem.

Bigpaws
Logged
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2009, 08:04:57 am »

Hi again,

I just had a look through the documentation files and I thought that running /sbin/vcdset might do the trick - it didn't

but apart from the gui dialogs presented to me I got this in the shell:

root:# /sbin/vcdset

Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library
cat: /proc/ide/hda/media: No such file or directory
cat: /proc/ide/hdb/media: No such file or directory
cat: /proc/ide/hdc/media: No such file or directory
cat: /proc/ide/hdd/media: No such file or directory

Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library
ln: target `cdrom' is not a directory

Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library
chmod: cannot access `Gdk-WARNING': No such file or directory

Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2009, 08:15:23 am »

can you post the results of
Code:
ls /proc/ide/hda/
Code:
ls /proc/ide/hdb/
Code:
ls /proc/ide/hdc/
Code:
ls /proc/ide/hdd/
Code:
ls /proc/ide/ide0/
Code:
ls /proc/ide/ide1/
Logged
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2009, 08:44:03 am »

Hi uelsk8s - thanks for checking in on my frustrating case....

ran the commands you suggested, though the results seem worthless:

root:# ls /proc/ide/hda/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/hda/: No such file or directory

root:# ls /proc/ide/hdb/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/hdb/: No such file or directory

root:# ls /proc/ide/hdc/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/hdc/: No such file or directory

root:# ls /proc/ide/hdd/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/hdd/: No such file or directory

root:# ls /proc/ide/ide0/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/ide0/: No such file or directory

root:# ls /proc/ide/ide1/
/bin/ls: cannot access /proc/ide/ide1/: No such file or directory

Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2009, 09:24:27 am »

nj_jak: try booting a computer up with a cd already in the drive. (doesn't matter what kind of cd, just make sure that your computer won't be able to boot off of it) I have a computer that (at the moment) won't recognize the cd drive unless a cd is in the drive at boot.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2009, 10:37:07 am »

thanks Daniel for new suggestion, but booting with a picture cd in the drive does not help either.

I can hear the cd spin, and the ligt on the front of the CD-drive flickers for a few seconds, and then the rest i silence.....
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2009, 10:44:48 am »

nj_jak,

I'm wondering if the issue is somehow related to the actual hardware configuration of your system.  I'm mostly interested in it's placement on the Primary IDE channel, it's jumper setting, and it's power connector.  My recommendation would be:

First, make sure the drive has exclusive power on it's connector (i.e. it is the only thing connected on it's power cable from the power supply).

Second, check the jumper setting on the drive itself and make sure it's set to 'master' and make sure the drive is connected to the mid connector on the IDE ribbon.  Also, make sure the IDE ribbon is correctly connected to the MB (i.e. the blue end is connected to MB). After checking this, boot to BIOS and confirm it's placement on the IDE channel in the bios.

See if this makes any difference in VL 5.9.1 SOHO.

If not, try changing the drive jumper to 'slave' and make sure the drive is connected to the end connector on the IDE ribbon. Again, boot to BIOS and confirm is placement on the IDE channel in the bios.

Again, see if this make any difference in VL 5.9.1 SOHO.

If not, try changing the drive jumper to 'cable select' and make sure the drive is connected to the end connector on the IDE ribbon. Again, boot to BIOS and confirm is placement on the IDE channel in the bios.

Again, see if this make any difference in VL 5.9.1 SOHO.

I know this all seems a bit redundant but I had read a post by a user who experienced problems with the drive sharing a power line.  Also, I recall from many years ago issues with system recognition of cdroms being on master vs slave, and vice-versa.

Hope this helps,
newt

edit: If testing the 'cable select position please try two ways: 1) set jumper to 'cable select' and test, 2) remove jumper all together and test
« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 10:51:14 am by newt » Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2009, 11:07:29 am »

You might also try (probably after newt's suggestions) replacing the cd drive to see if it's a problem with the cd drive itself.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #27 on: August 27, 2009, 11:38:57 am »

I dont think your new motherboards ide chipset is supported by the kernel in 5.9
you can update the kernel or the OS
you could try booting the new VL6.0-Light-LIVE cd to verify that the cdrom drive works with the latest VL kernel
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2009, 06:36:35 pm »

If you are setting jumpers for master or slave, the position on the cable makes no difference. However, you should *not* have an end dangling. Don't attach anything to the middle connector of an IDE cable unless you have something else attached to the end.

Position on the cable determines "master" and "slave" for cable select. Again, no dangling ends.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
nj_jak
Member
*
Posts: 47


« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2009, 01:28:53 am »

Hello I am back.

I have now tested my system with newer kernels. Linux Mint 7, OpenSuse 11.1 and (of course) VL 6.0 Std - they all detect the CD-ROM, so I think uelsk8s is right about the kernel support meaning that I will now try to update my kernel.

A huge thank you to all of you who put effort in this thread.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!