VectorLinux
December 21, 2014, 06:06:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to create desktop icon & find "Network Manager"  (Read 2734 times)
rcjohnson

« on: August 26, 2009, 12:45:43 am »

I'm a newbie with Vector Linux, so forgive me for using Windows nomenclature, but I don't know what they are called in Linux ye.  Can someone help me with creating desktop icons for existing programs, and I can't seem to find the network manager that allows me to see the other computers on a network.  Where do I find this?  Thanks.
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 04:30:50 am »

Linux gives you a lot more options than Windows. The answer to your question depends on what version you are running, and what choices you made during install. Is it 5.9 SOHO, 6.0 Standard, 6.0 Light? It would also be helpful to know the specs of your computer (processor, memory, hard drive space).
rcjohnson

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 05:09:52 am »

Thanks for your response.  I've installed 6.0 Standard, on a Pentium 4, with 256 RAM, and 19 gb HD.  Does this help?
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2009, 06:38:24 am »

Hi welcome to VL,

These may help...

Here is a screencast on creating a desktop launcher.
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/02.Beginners-guide/Desk-launcher-system-apps/Desk-launcher-system-apps.htm

Here is a screencast that should point out how you can view windows shares...
(eventhough it is more of a trouble shooting tutorial for a problem I had)