VectorLinux
July 26, 2014, 02:57:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Vector Linux 6.0 Light LIVE Feedback  (Read 18873 times)
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2009, 10:48:21 am »

@M0E-lnx
Here are the comments from the top of liloinst.sh:
Code:
# This script will make almost ANY partition bootable, regardless the filesystem
# used on it. bootinst.sh/.bat is only for FAT filesystems, while this one should
# work everywhere. Moreover it setups a 'slaxchanges' directory to be used for
# persistent changes.

Does the usb drive still have to be formatted FAT32 so it will be bootable after running liloinst.sh even though it is supposed to "make almost ANY partition bootable, regardless the filesystem"?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2009, 11:02:29 am »

I might be wrong.. but I have only tested with FAT32 and it worked for me.
Never tried anything else
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2009, 06:58:15 pm »

Yea I remember, I was still using a PS1 computer and could no longer
upgrade to the then new version of RedHat. I lot of help was offered from a list w/o
much helping. Until finally a guy asked: What kind of computer are you using.
I answered a PS1. No wonder, he came back, those new programs will not work
anymore on those machines, I have not seen one (a PS1) for a long time. So I had to get
myself a PS2.

I guess that's the problem with thos old laptop.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 07:05:08 pm by Pita » Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2009, 06:30:35 pm »

I've just tried running the liloinst.sh script to make my usb stick bootable. It works! VL 6.0 Light LIVE is excellent and seems to work well except that the "Setting up apm..." step failed during boot. (I booted a laptop from the usb stick). It also shut down strangely. It showed a bunch of messages and said it couldn't find the poweroff command and that there were no more processes left in that runlevel. These things might be due to it running off of the usb stick but I don't know.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
lighans
Member
*
Posts: 43


www.fali.nl


WWW
« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2009, 11:32:46 am »

I've just tried running the liloinst.sh script to make my usb stick bootable.
I runned the bootinst.sh toboot from USB and my netbook flied. After XFCE and KDE4 on other distro's, this is faster. Much faster. And I am waiting for some time to install it, to compare bootspeed and usability with the "others" (ic Pardus-linux and Kuki-linux). It's also funny to mention that Kuki is a netbook specialized ubuntu distro, which doing nothing better than this vl. It means that with an acer aspire one (150) everything works out of the box (wlan with wpa also).

Thanks.
Logged

AMD Turion 64, 1Gb RAM, 60Gb (pardus 2008 and VL6.0 STD)
AAO d150 25Gb /,135 Gb mnt/archive, no swap 1024Mb Ram (VL6.0 STD)
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2009, 11:50:25 am »

Funny story.
Last night, after realizing this could be pulled off, I decided to run this script on an external USB drive that I own.

So I downloaded one of the 6.0 SOHO alpha ISO's, extracted it to a 2gb partition in the drive (first partition on it) and ran the script.
Plug it in to my lapop, and voi la!. I can boot off it.
This provides a great development environment for me, since I'm constantly having to burn CD-rw's to debug the gui installer... This is much... much easier.
I had forgotten about that external usb drive.
Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 23, 2009, 06:40:33 pm »

Plug it in to my lapop, and voi la!. I can boot off it.

So you can boot into the desktop or just the installer?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2009, 04:46:58 am »

the 6.0 SOHO is still in development... you must install it to get to the desktop.
Logged

never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #23 on: November 11, 2009, 09:26:26 am »

Sony PCG-TR2AP, Pentium M 1ghz, 1gb RAM, NO HARD DRIVE. This laptop will NOT boot from USB - no BIOS support.

Boot from VL 6.0 Light LiveCD.
Add 'toram' and 'changes=/dev/sda1/slaxchanges' prompts.
Changes are saved to a 1gb USB stick.

Seems that 1gb of RAM will support the 'toram' option. The max RAM for this machine is listed as 1gb but I am going to try to bump it up to 2gb. Hopefully it will support the increase because it seems like 1gb is probably the bare minimum to get the 'toram' option to work.

This set-up really works well. I also use Puppy on this machine and find the responsiveness (using 'toram') to be very comparable. Hopefully I will be able to bump the RAM to 2gb so I can add OpenOffice and Firestarter. This is the one area that Puppy has a clear advantage for this application - size.

Bottom line - VL 6.0 Light Live is an outstanding tool and very well done.....!

Thank you.
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #24 on: November 11, 2009, 11:12:01 am »

Seems that 1gb of RAM will support the 'toram' option.

The ISO is quite fat. I didn't think much about using "toram", so I threw in kernel sources and nvidia driver.

The image can be trimmed down significally. I'm working on a personal version for use as a live tool. It's smaller, with empty root password, no auto-mounting of volumes and defaulting to cli, vga=normal. That something you would be interested in trying?
Logged
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2009, 11:52:33 am »

Seems that 1gb of RAM will support the 'toram' option.

The ISO is quite fat. I didn't think much about using "toram", so I threw in kernel sources and nvidia driver.

The image can be trimmed down significally. I'm working on a personal version for use as a live tool. It's smaller, with empty root password, no auto-mounting of volumes and defaulting to cli, vga=normal. That something you would be interested in trying?

Absolutely.....!  Cool
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4018



« Reply #26 on: November 12, 2009, 09:39:15 am »

Absolutely.....!  Cool

Check PM.
Logged
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 12, 2009, 11:02:34 am »


Reply sent.....  Cool
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
never_stop_learning
Vectorite
***
Posts: 263


WWW
« Reply #28 on: November 15, 2009, 09:35:24 pm »

Been having a blast running VL 6.0 Light Live on the Sony referenced earlier in this thread.

The next step will be to strip everything out that I can, re-master and then add programs via gslapt. I hope that the added programs will be run via the USB stick I have changes saved to.....  Cool
Logged

Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2010, 10:44:40 pm »

I tried to install to my harddrive with vliveinstall. It opens gparted which then is
looking forever for the partitions until I abort it. I then opened gparted separately
which very quickly found all the partitions and disabled the command gparted
in vliveinstall. After that the installation proceeded. I stopped it since it went very slow
and the partition I installed to had not been formated previously.

Just wonder why the hang with gparted.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!