VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?  (Read 1633 times)

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« on: September 04, 2009, 11:30:32 pm »

I recently had to restart my system due to a total hard drive failure.
Every time I do, I forget this. I will write it down this time and save it so I don't need to bug you guys here next time.
I'd like to automount the cd-rom drive and floppy drive, and add desktop icons to access them.
I'd also like to create and automount a ramdrive, and add a desktop icon as well.

New system is up and running great with vl 6.0, I just miss my old icons and I can't for the life of me remember how to add these things.

I'm using xfce, and trying out compiz-fuzion with emerald. Not sure if that makes any difference?

Steven
Logged

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 12:25:46 am »

Sorry to throw a couple more screencasts at you but it sounds like you are deciding between using hal vs vl-hot as a mounter here.    So here is a couple screencasts to show you a little about both.
The case for hal.
The case for vl-hot
Not sure how to answer the ramdrive question, maybe someone else.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 12:29:20 am by stretchedthin »
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 05:43:50 am »

You may already be using a form of ramdrive. Check output of "df -h", look for a line with "tmpfs". An advantage of tmpfs over a fixed size ramdrive is that it scales dynamically, spilling over into swap if necessary.

I mount my /tmp directory in RAM using this line in /etc/fstab:
tmpfs   /tmp        tmpfs rw,suid,dev,exec,auto,nouser,async,noatime 0  0

Logged

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2009, 07:19:54 am »

I found out how to mount and add a floppy icon, and cd-rom drive icon...still not sure on the hard drive icon. I can use the file system one, but now I have just the one drive. I plan on adding 3 more hd's to this
pc, and I'd just like an icon for each one. 

Still not sure how to create a ram drive and have an icon on the screen to access it...

I see tmpfs when I use the df -h command.

Can I just thunar dev/shm to access this ram drive? Resizeable like that would be awesome. Maybe this is what I had before, I don't think so, before it was a set size... I'd actually rather it be resizable...

Thanks for everyones thoughts, except for these few thinks, vector is rocking like crazy on this pc...
Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Steven
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009, 09:19:31 am »

There are a lot of icons in /usr/share/icons that you can use.

Don't mess with /dev/shm
Try a little experimenting, in a terminal, as root:
Code: [Select]
mkdir /tempdir
mount -t tmpfs tmpfs /tempdir
You should now have /tempdir mounted in memory, with a size that is half of your RAM.

To make this permanent, use a line in fstab as outlined earlier.
Logged

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2009, 05:30:39 am »

Nightflier,

That will be fine for what I need, can you please describe for me how to get to fstab or edit fstab? I don't believe I've done this before...

Steven
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2009, 06:38:49 am »

As root, in a terminal, use the following command (you can copy and paste into the terminal):
mcedit /etc/fstab

Copy this line:
tmpfs   /tempdir    tmpfs rw,suid,dev,exec,auto,nouser,async,noatime 0  0

In the terminal, scroll down to the section that looks like this:
Code: [Select]
# Shared memory filesystem:
tmpfs   /dev/shm    tmpfs rw,suid,dev,exec,auto,nouser,async,noatime 0  0
Paste new line below the one above, using key combination "Shift+Insert", so it looks like this:
Code: [Select]
# Shared memory filesystem:
tmpfs   /dev/shm    tmpfs rw,suid,dev,exec,auto,nouser,async,noatime 0  0
tmpfs   /tempdir    tmpfs rw,suid,dev,exec,auto,nouser,async,noatime 0  0
Press F2 to save, F10 to exit.
Issue command "mount -a"

Done. On subsequent boots it will mount automatically.
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 438
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2009, 08:51:51 pm »

Quote from: nightflier
You should now have /tempdir mounted in memory, with a size that is half of your RAM.
Quote
root:# mcedit /etc/fstab
root:# mount /tempdir
root:# df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
...
tmpfs                 186M     0  186M   0% /dev/shm
shm                   186M     0  186M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                 186M     0  186M   0% /tempdir
Apparently we have to limit ourselves to only using half the memory?
Just realized 186M IS half my RAM!

Thanks Nightflier.  Have wondered for a long time why those two files were there and didn't seem to do anything.  At least, now I can use some of that memory.
Logged
Dell GX280: 7.1-Gold 32 bit
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Gateway LT200 Win XP dead!

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
Re: Automount cd-rom/floppy and add desktop icons?
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2009, 06:05:34 am »

It is somewhat confusing. The "half of your RAM" is the upper limit of what tmpfs will use, not the actual usage. I agree it's a good way of putting more of your memory to use.
Logged