Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?  (Read 2709 times)

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« on: August 31, 2009, 12:14:37 pm »
Hi to all,
i'm a webdesigner and i use Bluefish that is already in VL 6. I need Tidy support, but i don't be able to install it.
Can you help me?

Thanks :-)

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 04:52:03 am »
A couple of options:

It can be built using the source here:
http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/

Post a request in the forum here: http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?board=35.0
Include the above link to the sources.

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 06:10:23 am »
I tried to fetch the source code, but only found cvs versions (and theese tend to be unstable)

Anyone knows of a stable version? Link please.

Cya

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 06:51:18 am »
Normally, you can safely build the one distributed by slackware.

It seems they dont distribute that in compressed source like everyone else (I hate that)

There is a 1.0 version floating around the www somewhere, but that dates back to 1996, I dont think that's the one you want.

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 12:42:44 pm »
Thank for your answers.
In the suggested link i found four others links:

 get-tidy-cvs.sh                                    02-Aug-2006 05:05  1.6K 
 tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2                         19-Feb-2008 11:23  360K 
 tidy.SlackBuild                                    19-Feb-2008 11:25  3.0K 
 tidy.build                                         19-Feb-2008 11:25  3.0K 

What must i do, now?

I'm sorry for my ignorance, but until last week i was a Synaptic user.

Thanks a lot :-)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2009, 01:14:38 pm »
I would download the entire directory and simply run the tidy.SlackBuild script

That should build it effortlessly

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 06:27:47 am »
Thanks for suggestion, but i don't understood what i must doing.
Could you help me step by step?

I'm sorry for my tedious asking about tidy, but if i will not be able to install it, i sadly will back to Ubuntu.

Ciao :-)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2009, 06:33:20 am »
1) Open a terminal window and get ready to type the following commands
2) mkdir -p builds/tidy
3) cd builds/tidy
3) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/get-tidy-cvs.sh
4) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2
5) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy.SlackBuild
6) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy.build
7) su <enter> give it your root password
8 ) sh tidy.SlackBuild
9) cd ..

You should now have a .tlz in this directory
if it's not there, look in /tmp or check if the build process returned an error

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2009, 06:59:23 am »
Thanks again for your tutorial.
Now i have this directory in my /home:
/builds/tidy with follwing files:

 get-tidy-cvs.sh
 tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2
 tidy.SlackBuild
 tidy.build

What i must doing, now?

Ciao :-)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 07:03:32 am »
Did you miss steps 7-9?

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 07:16:50 am »
All right.
Now i have tidy perfectly running. I've not enough words to show you my devotion.
Thanks, many thanks to you.
Now Vectorlinux is a perfect system for my conveniences.

How can i sent this package to VL repositories?

Thank you :-)
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 07:27:05 am by borgio3 »

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2009, 09:10:49 am »
perhaps that's better left for a more experienced packager.

You may post a request if you have not done so already.