VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?  (Read 2746 times)

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« on: August 31, 2009, 01:14:37 pm »

Hi to all,
i'm a webdesigner and i use Bluefish that is already in VL 6. I need Tidy support, but i don't be able to install it.
Can you help me?

Thanks :-)
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4103
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 05:52:03 am »

A couple of options:

It can be built using the source here:
http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/

Post a request in the forum here: http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?board=35.0
Include the above link to the sources.
Logged

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 07:10:23 am »

I tried to fetch the source code, but only found cvs versions (and theese tend to be unstable)

Anyone knows of a stable version? Link please.

Cya

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 07:51:18 am »

Normally, you can safely build the one distributed by slackware.

It seems they dont distribute that in compressed source like everyone else (I hate that)

There is a 1.0 version floating around the www somewhere, but that dates back to 1996, I dont think that's the one you want.

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 01:42:44 pm »

Thank for your answers.
In the suggested link i found four others links:

 get-tidy-cvs.sh                                    02-Aug-2006 05:05  1.6K 
 tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2                         19-Feb-2008 11:23  360K 
 tidy.SlackBuild                                    19-Feb-2008 11:25  3.0K 
 tidy.build                                         19-Feb-2008 11:25  3.0K 

What must i do, now?

I'm sorry for my ignorance, but until last week i was a Synaptic user.

Thanks a lot :-)
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2009, 02:14:38 pm »

I would download the entire directory and simply run the tidy.SlackBuild script

That should build it effortlessly

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2009, 07:27:47 am »

Thanks for suggestion, but i don't understood what i must doing.
Could you help me step by step?

I'm sorry for my tedious asking about tidy, but if i will not be able to install it, i sadly will back to Ubuntu.

Ciao :-)
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2009, 07:33:20 am »

1) Open a terminal window and get ready to type the following commands
2) mkdir -p builds/tidy
3) cd builds/tidy
3) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/get-tidy-cvs.sh
4) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2
5) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy.SlackBuild
6) wget http://slackware.osuosl.org/slackware-12.1/source/kde/kdewebdev/tidy/tidy.build
7) su <enter> give it your root password
8 ) sh tidy.SlackBuild
9) cd ..

You should now have a .tlz in this directory
if it's not there, look in /tmp or check if the build process returned an error

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2009, 07:59:23 am »

Thanks again for your tutorial.
Now i have this directory in my /home:
/builds/tidy with follwing files:

 get-tidy-cvs.sh
 tidy-20080219T0523.tar.bz2
 tidy.SlackBuild
 tidy.build

What i must doing, now?

Ciao :-)
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 08:03:32 am »

Did you miss steps 7-9?

borgio3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 08:16:50 am »

All right.
Now i have tidy perfectly running. I've not enough words to show you my devotion.
Thanks, many thanks to you.
Now Vectorlinux is a perfect system for my conveniences.

How can i sent this package to VL repositories?

Thank you :-)
« Last Edit: September 02, 2009, 08:27:05 am by borgio3 »
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3227
Re: How to installing Tidy in VL 6 Standard?
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2009, 10:10:49 am »

perhaps that's better left for a more experienced packager.

You may post a request if you have not done so already.