VectorLinux
November 28, 2014, 01:18:12 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: decompress .iso files  (Read 2959 times)
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« on: August 31, 2009, 06:29:54 pm »

How do you decompress a .iso file?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2009, 06:56:44 pm »

You can simply mount it and copy its files from the mount point

Code:
mount -o loop /path/to/your/file.iso /mnt/loop
cp /mnt/loop/* /your/target/directory/
Logged

nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 04:23:27 am »

Another quickie way is to use "mc". Highlight ISO using the arrow keys and press Enter.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 04:32:12 am »

Did not know mc could do that Wink
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 05:04:48 pm »

Did not know mc could do that Wink


You have to be root to do it. And yes there were instances one could not do it in VL. As of late it does work.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2009, 05:58:20 pm »

VL 5.9 did not have that feature enabled, but 6.0 does. On my machine it works as any user with read access to the file in question.
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2009, 06:18:16 pm »

I'm running VL 5.9.1 SOHO and it works for me as a normal user.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2009, 10:40:14 pm »

Just double checked, for whatever reason in my case I have to be root,
even sudo will not do, with user read/write access.

When I had once a bad X mess in my box I used this feature of mc to practically update
all files and my box and got it working again. Once there is a new VL version
I will try this to upgrade w/o reinstall. That will be fun. Cheesy
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2009, 07:36:40 pm »

Pita: If you do try to upgrade w/o reinstalling, please let us know how it goes. (You could try upgrading from a VL 5.9 install if you have one just to see if it works)

Anyone who knows: What makes VL 6.0 different from 5.9 (at the core) is it the kernel? the kernel and some other files?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4031



« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 08:23:30 pm »

@Pita: If you manage to upgrade in that way, I'll buy you a beer!

VL 5.9 and 6.0 are based on different Slackware versions. Almost all packages, including kernel, are different. Even if programs have same version numbers, most are re-built for each release.
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2009, 10:18:31 am »

nightflier: so if I replaced the kernel on a VL 5.9 installation with the kernel from VL6.0, would the 5.9 installation effectively become 6.0 or is there more to it than that? (more system files, etc...)
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2009, 10:48:54 am »

there is actually a lot more to it than that.
The entire system base, kernels, glib, glibc build tools, and pretty much all other packages that depend on them
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2009, 05:52:10 pm »

It seems I have again an Internet connection. Cheesy

Nightflier I will take that beer.

I once upgraded from 5.8 to 5.9 using my technique with mc.
I got all going correctly except xterm which now I know was due to the
settings in .Xdefaults.

As for upgrading kernels I just was forced to do it after my sound modules would
not load any longer with 2.6.27.29 and with no help on the horizon.Wink So now I am using kernel-2.6.29.6-smp
and had only to upgrade gcc and gcc++ in order that .configure will work
when installing programs. Otherwise all runs fine.

That reminds me: any chance that we can unpack soon .txz files with VL-6?
Logged
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2009, 05:22:50 pm »

I once upgraded from 5.8 to 5.9 using my technique with mc.

Hmm... Maybe an update script or something could be written. (mounting the .iso and copying the files and stuff)
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!