VectorLinux
July 24, 2014, 08:31:29 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation problem with VL  (Read 1235 times)
drrdf

« on: September 10, 2009, 12:54:04 pm »

Hi, I am a newbie with Vector Linux. I have been attempting to install Vector Linux on an older PC. I have tried VL 5.9 Light, 5.9 standard, 6.0 Light and 6.0 standard, all without success.  The situation is the same every time. I have set the partitions correctly using cfdisk with a swap partition of just over twice the size of RAM. When the installation starts it all looks good, and a message "Installation of veclinux.tlz is complete" appears. Then suddenly shortly after that an error message is displayed "Cannot extract required veclinux.tlz. Maybee the file is corrupt, or the partition is full. The current installation is in an unknown state." The partitions are completely empty in fact.

I have used the same ISO CDs to install VL on another more modern PC and that works without any problems, so I know the CDs are not corrupted. I have also been able to install Puppy Linux, Slackware and Zenwalk on this older PC without any installation problems, so I know the PC hardware is OK, except that there may be compatibility issues with it?

The PC has a K6 AMD/2/500Mhz cpu, a FIC motherboard, 256 Mb RAM, Nvidia 32 Mb G Force MX graphics card, 30 Gb master ide hard drive for Vector Linux only (no other OS), a 30 Gb slave hd (empty), a DVD RW drive and a CD RW drive. Can anyone please suggest what this installation problem is and why V L will not install?
lagagnon