VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 04:02:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL 6.0 delux and KDE 4.2 - checker board screen (solved)  (Read 974 times)
franklin1k
Member
*
Posts: 55


« on: September 23, 2009, 03:14:25 pm »

After using XFCE4 for awhile I used;

"How to video tutorial: Installing the KDE4.2 desktop environment on VL 6.0 slightly modified from above"

from

http://www.opensourcebistro.com/Tutorial/VL60/02.Beginners-guide/page

to install KDE4.2.  My screen is a gray and white checkerboard upon starting the KDE session.

Where's my graphics? 

« Last Edit: September 23, 2009, 11:38:40 pm by franklin1k » Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 03:45:18 pm »

Hi,
First of all thanks, for finding and trying the tutorials.
I made the tutorial using VL6.0 standard.  I'm assuming from the subject line in your post that you are using VL 6.0 deluxe.   
The deluxe version I believe already had KDE 4.2 set-up and ready to go I believe.  I'll need another deluxe user to verify, but unfortunately using the tutorial on the Deluxe version probably did more harm than good.

I didn't buy the deluxe version this year, or I would try to duplicate your troubles and offer a fix.  Could someone who has VL deluxe confirm for me what KDE set-up is already available?  I'll review the tutorial, see what I can find out that may be the cause.


Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2009, 04:05:09 pm »

Are you using the KDM or GDM display manager? 
Is it the display manager (where you sign in an choose your session) that is showing up poorly, or is it actually the KDE desktop envonment that looks terrible.

Also, have you changed your session back to XFCE and what does that look like?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
franklin1k
Member
*
Posts: 55


« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2009, 05:49:08 pm »

Yes, I am using VL 6.0 standard with the deluxe CD.
Yes, the GDM is used
XFCE looks fine when switched back

The KDE desktop does not appear!  It is like when you use Paint Shop Pro, or such, and are making a transparency.  In order to show a clear background they give you a checkerboard to show no color or image is there.  It is not distorted.  It seems like what the GUI should be laid upon. 

I installed myslq, then kde4-meta
everything goes like your tut
when it switches over
checkerboard from border to border
Logged
franklin1k
Member
*
Posts: 55


« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2009, 05:50:38 pm »

nice job on the tuts, by the way.
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2009, 07:06:17 pm »

I thought I remembered going through a discussion like this before and I found it here it is...
kde4 almost there....

Some points that may apply from that thread.
1. For the tutorial you need to use the kde-meta package from the repos, not from the cd.

2. You have to go in and select kde as the session by default it will want to start the kde fail safe session and that just won't work.

3. Kde for some reason does not like vesa drivers.  If you are using vesa graphic drivers, it may not work.

« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 12:10:22 am by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
franklin1k
Member
*
Posts: 55


« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 12:02:22 am »

I did a clean install of VL 6.0 standard, then used the repos, without the deluxe CD in sources.
install mysql
install KDE4-meta
change to GDM

It worked.

Everything else stayed the same.  It must have been using both the CD and the repos that cause the misfire. 
Thank you
Care to do a tut on file sharing XP and VL? 
(Just found that also.  Thanks)
« Last Edit: September 24, 2009, 10:52:58 am by franklin1k » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!