Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: An "enter-dos-mode" command?  (Read 4278 times)

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« on: September 25, 2009, 06:32:17 pm »
Does anyone know a command that I could enter from a WinXP command prompt to make it go down to dos mode from the desktop?
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 09:50:38 pm »
XP does not have a real Dos mode.

To access the command prompt there are two commands you can use.

cmd gets a command prompt but not fullpath

command get the full path

Bigpaws

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 04:22:48 pm »
XP does not have a real Dos mode.

To access the command prompt there are two commands you can use.

cmd gets a command prompt but not fullpath

command get the full path

As I understand it, cmd.exe is a 32-bit command interpreter (console). command.com is a 16-bit command interpreter, much less capable than cmd.exe.

I don't know of any way to start a version of Windows NT (XP is NT 5.1) that does not run without loading the graphical interface, even if you see what looks like a command-prompt screen. If you hit F8 before Windows loads and select Safe Mode with Command Prompt (or something like that--I don't remember exactly), you'll get a screen that looks like a DOS screen but if you notice, you'll see that the XP desktop loaded first. So it's just like loading XP as usual and choosing Run, cmd and running it full screen.

XP, W2K, and Vista users note: there is no DOS in Windows NT. There is a command prompt, however, from which you can run many very geeky commands.
--GrannyGeek
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

Andy Price

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2009, 12:21:20 am »
This doesn't really meet your requirement, but maybe the closest thing to it is the recovery console. You can boot into it from the WinXP installation disk (or you can install it as a boot option) and execute dos-like commands without loading the desktop. It's main use, as the name implies, is to recovery a broken system. You can copy files, stop and start services etc. There's a description of it here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314058.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2009, 05:20:32 am »
Fred Langa wrote about "unlocking" the recovery console. I never got around to trying this, but it sounds very promising:
http://www.informationweek.com/news/windows/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=187000225

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2009, 08:17:40 am »
Ah, you just reminded me of the good old days of the "Langalist"... ;D
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Andy Price

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: An "enter-dos-mode" command?
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2009, 04:26:59 pm »
...which merged with Windows Secrets http://www.windowssecrets.com/ in 2006. Fred still writes for the paid version of their weekly newsletter.