VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: VNC [Solved]  (Read 3506 times)

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
VNC [Solved]
« on: October 05, 2009, 09:53:39 am »

As I install x11 vnc. Lamentably I cannot enter the videos tutorial because it gives connection Time out me. Thanks
« Last Edit: October 08, 2009, 06:51:36 pm by nightflier »
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: VNC
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 10:03:32 am »

log in as root in a terminal
execute the following commands
Code: [Select]
slapt-get -u
slapt-get -i x11vnc

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: VNC
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 10:51:29 am »

I'm behind a proxy windows, copy the emulator ntlmaps to vector linux but not where slapt-get him to set to work with 127.0.0.1 or localhost (or to gslapt). Thanks
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: VNC
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 11:04:21 am »

Not sure I'm understanding you correctly. I assume from your post that you dont have access to the internet.

If you can't post in English, post in your language this is a multi-language community, somebody else can help you if they can understand your problem.

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: VNC
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2009, 11:25:57 am »

Disculpen utilizo un traductor. 

Decía que estoy detras de un proxy windows y slapt-get o gslapt-get rechazan la conexión.  En ubuntu tengo que utilizar un emulador que es ntlmaps.  Lo copie en vector linux, pero no se donde poner a slapt-get o gslapt-get que trabajen con 127.0.0.1 o localhost que es la dirección con que trabaja el emulador. Gracias.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
Re: VNC
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2009, 11:32:03 am »


--------------------------
translation to 666layer 's post
============
I'm behing a windows proxy, so slapt-get and gslapt refuse to connect. I've used an emulator called ntlmaps in ubuntu, tried to used it in vector linux, but dont know how to setup slapt-get or gslapt to use it so they can get a connection from localhost or 127.0.0.1
---------------------------------------------------------------


ay hermano!...
No tengo la menor idea de como se haría tal cosa. Nunca he tenido que hacer eso.

[english]
I have no idea how to do such a thing... Never had to do it.
[/english]

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: VNC
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2009, 11:45:01 am »

I'm just thinking outloud here, and may be barking up the wrong tree:

It sounds like the ntlmaps package will take care of the connection-handling once the system is sending the connection attempts to localhost.  I guess ntlmaps would first need to be installed and configured on lawyers system. It looks like it's only big dependency is python 1.5.2 or higher so it should work on VL. Could this be as simple as routing all traffic to localhost (route add default gw 127.0.0.1)? I guess if ntlmaps cannot handle dns translation then that would need to be dealt with at the local level as well.  It sounds like it could be anywhere from really easy to really complicated and, like M0E, I've never had to do such a thing so am unfamiliar with the process.  Maybe I can give it a whirl in testing environment - if I find time.


edit:
I think I'm way off base here. Disregard all of that. Sorry.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2009, 11:57:58 am by newt »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VNC
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2009, 05:58:10 pm »

I never use ntlmaps before so you have to figure out how to install it. But once you are able to install it, read this thread...it talk about configuring ntlmaps in ubuntu for apt-get. Try to do the same thing and but modify the slapt-getrc......good luck... :P

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-20310.html
http://software.jaos.org/git/slapt-get/plain/FAQ.html#slgFAQ24

Quote
24. How do I specify proxy settings?

 slapt-get takes advantage of the normal http_proxy and ftp_proxy shell
 variables. Here are some examples:

  # setting the env variables for the entire session
  $ export http_proxy=http://host:port
  $ export ftp_proxy=ftp://host:port
  # just setting them for the current command invocation
  $ http_proxy=http://host:port slapt-get --update

 If you are using ~/.netrc, libcurl automatically picks up your preferences.
 See the netrc(5) manpage for more information.
Logged

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: VNC
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2009, 05:03:11 am »

thank :D
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VNC
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2009, 07:40:57 am »

Logged

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: VNC
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2009, 05:51:39 am »

yes :D
« Last Edit: October 08, 2009, 07:35:48 am by 666lawyer »
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: VNC
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2009, 06:10:31 am »

Pls mark this thread as solved. BTW, it would be cool if you create a guide or how-to so that other may learn how to do it. :)
Logged

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: VNC
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2009, 07:38:59 am »




Since I make to mark like resolute?
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: VNC [Solved]
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2009, 06:53:24 pm »

I marked topic as "solved". Check the title of the original post.
Logged