VectorLinux
December 19, 2014, 08:05:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cannot extract required/veclinux.tlz [SOLVED]  (Read 5051 times)
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« on: October 07, 2009, 04:50:50 am »

Comienzo la instalaciĆ³n de Vector Linux y realizo la particiĆ³n del disco pero luego, cuando comienza  extractar archivos de veclinux.tlz da el siguiente mensaje de error (en distintas maquinas exactamente igual):

cannot extract required/veclinux.tlz.  Maybe the file is corrupt or the partition is full.
The current instalation is in unknown state.


 Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh Huh
« Last Edit: October 13, 2009, 08:07:06 am by 666lawyer » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 05:15:49 am »

Possible causes:

Corrupt download
Bad burn
Damaged disc
Partition full
Computer hardware error

I have seen the last one when using old and slow computers. They have to run a long time at full throttle to extract the large archive. Stress and heat cause errors.
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 07:07:59 am »

No corrupted download
No bad cd
Why Because already realised installation with this CD. If the partition is full ?, since I make to solve it. Thanks

Partition swap 256 mb, root 9 gb and Damn Small linux instala correctamente
« Last Edit: October 07, 2009, 09:49:43 am by 666lawyer » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2009, 08:34:00 am »

Which leaves decompression errors as a likely cause. I see from previous posts that you use IceWM. Are you using VL6.0 Light?
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2009, 03:42:43 am »

yes i use vector light
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2009, 04:07:32 am »

Then you're pretty much doing the best you can do. The bulks in Light are created using lesser compression than in Std, for this purpose.

You could try taking the CDROM out of the picture by doing an install from the hard drive. What are your computer specs (CPU, RAM, Hard drive space)?
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2009, 05:34:58 am »

Since I make an installation from the hard disk. I must install another distribution before?

Configuration PC:
Pentium II 400 mhz
RAM 128
HD 8 GB
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2009, 06:55:36 am »

As long as you can boot from your cdrom, you will not have to install anything first. What is needed is a copy of the ISO file on your hard drive. So you will need a way of creating two or three partitions on your drive, format them, and copy the iso to one.

Is this feasible for you?
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2009, 07:05:00 am »

Yes. Thank.    
I will try then comment!
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2009, 10:13:20 am »

   
Boot with the CD vector linux, create partitions and from 1 gig to download the image. But when I go to command line to copy the image into that partition and not mount the CD with the picture to copy and / dev / cdrom does not exist. As I do this?
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2009, 11:29:50 am »

Yeah, that won't work. You need the original big file that was used to create the CD.

One way would be to try VL6.0 Light Live. Boot it and see if you get a network connection. Use the network to copy iso file to the top level of a partition.

Next, boot from install disc again. When it finds the installable Cd, tell it to search again. It should pick up the ISO on the hard disk.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2009, 12:07:59 pm »

Thinking out loud again:
-boot from VL 6 Light CD
-exit to shell
-use cfdisk to create new partition big enough to store ISO (at least)
-use parted to create filesystem (ext2 will work)
-mount partition (e.g. mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /mnt/target)
-create iso using dd (e.g. dd if=/dev/hdc of=/mnt/target/VL6.0-Light-Final.iso)

I tested this process in vm and it works to get create an ISO of the CD and put it on a partition, and the installer sees it as an installable source. This might be a possibility.  Hope this helps.
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2009, 04:58:13 am »

the command dd if=/dev/hdc of /mnt/target/VL6.0-Light-Final.iso say:

/dev/hdc device not configured?Huh??
which is the /dev for CD?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2009, 05:08:19 am by 666lawyer » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4038



« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2009, 06:41:52 am »

Find it with command:
probedisk

Of course, this does introduce your cdrom as a possible point of failure, but worth a try.
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2009, 08:07:40 am »

Solved Cheesy. Thank very much!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!