VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 11:14:04 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0 SOHO Alpha2 bugs and discussion go here  (Read 13258 times)
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2009, 10:53:38 am »

The new VL SOHO is fine, X loads no problem.  It is the X of VL Standard that will not load. Well at least until I run vxconf once more.
I brushed it aside as an oddity the first install of soho when I used lilo, but then it happened again during the second install of soho using grub and I thought I would mention it.



« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 10:55:56 am by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2009, 11:10:09 am »

added the following ticket...
Code:
This install ran on a Xplio Laptop pentium 4.

After successfully shrinking windows partition to create a swap and root partition and installing, configuration of lilo fails with the following error...

Lilo returned an error...
Check your values in this step and try again.

Either FIX-TABLE or IGNORE-TABLE must be specified.

This exact same thing happens to me currently for this same machine in Standard. The work around is simple. Just install without windows then run vliloconf from root after installation is complete.
When vliloconf is ran windows is added to the liloboot menu without problem.
With the following comment...
Code:
What I really liked here was that this was a great situation to have the grub boot loader option. When I saw that lilo would not setup windows to the boot menu I then tried grub and it was able to add windows no problem.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2009, 11:36:16 am »

I tryed this newest alpa on three computers.
The issues on the first two where minor and in both cases I could complete the install.
The other, a quad core q6600 @ 2.4 ghz
with ati radeon 3600 series locks up when hitting the next button on
the selecting
keyboard settings screen.

I reported this when testing soho 1.43 I believe, and Moe-lnx asked me the following...

Quote
Can you run this from the IDE and see if you spot any additional
helpful information?
Do you have burned cd's or ISO's or both as installed sources?   

I'm using burned cd's (These cd's have been used to successfully install on two other machines.)

As far as running this from the IDE I have to admit I not sure what that means.  Could someone give me an idea how I do that?
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2009, 12:07:24 pm »

MINI HOWTO-RUN THE VECTORLINUX 6 SOHO INSTALLER IN THE GAMBAS IDE
  • Boot your box with the installation cd
  • Once the box is fully booted and the installation wizard is visible, close it
  • Righ-click on the gray desktop and select "Terminal" from the menu
  • execute the gambas2 command in the terminal
  • Click on "Open Project"
  • Click on "system" and navigate to /root/speedy"
  • Select the "speedy" (blue shrimp icon) directory and click open
  • Click "Debug -> Run" (or hit F5, or locate the "play" button and click it)

When you do this, if the installer crashes or fails, you can minimize the installer window, and look in the gambas "terminal" area (the section at the bottom of the IDE window) to see what causes the crash.
The bugged code will also be highlighted, so please make note of the code involved if you are unable to copy/paste so that you can help me pin-point the problem.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 12:09:37 pm by M0E-lnx » Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2009, 01:17:59 pm »

Thanks Moe-lnx.
I've got a puzzler here.
When I start the installer from the IDE environment it does not freeze at all at the same location. Breezes right through. I'm going to complete the install and post anything interesting.  Hopefully, there is.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2009, 01:26:31 pm »

Can you also post your partition layout? the result of "probepart" will help.

Thanks
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2009, 02:54:18 pm »

Data from the Gambas runtime environment...
Code:
Scanning sr0
umount2: no such file or directory
umount: sr0: not found
ls: can not access /mnt/sdb1: no such file or directory


Results of probepart
Code:
Device          Boot           Start       End             Blocks        ID              System
/dev/sda1       *                1          261           2096451      82            linux swap
/dev/sda2                       262        59041      472150350      5            Extended
/dev/sda3                    59042        60801        1413200       7            HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda5                    29721        44381      117764482     83           Linux
/dev/sda6                    14922        29720      118872936     83           Linux
/dev/sda7                      262         14921      117756387    83           Linux
/dev/sda8                    44382        59041      117756418     83          Linux

When the install finished, I choose vxconf from the menu and set up fglrx Driver 8.56.1.  I have an ati HD 3200 in this machine.
Upon reboot kwin poped up a prompt detailing that it had crashed or was unstable and the screen froze.
I'm trying again now. 

The problem with kwin was only because I have two monitors attached this machine.  Unplugged the vga cable to one and no problem.
Could not launch amdcccle, however, with the driver that was loaded during the install.  I get a warning that Catalyst Control Center Linux edition could not be launched because of one of the following.  No ATI graphics diver or ati driver is not functioning properly.

I downloaded the recommended driver from the ati site (Driver 8.65 fromthe file "ati-driver-installer-9-9-x86.x86_64.run") and everything works perfect.

 
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 03:28:35 pm by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2009, 03:50:59 pm »

Just to ensure that I was not crazy and imagined the installer locking up on the "Localization Settings" section I tried it again.  Sure enough, I selected English then "Next" then nothing just locked up solid (the installer program that is I could still move the mouse around and open the terminal.)

Again I launched Gambas2 and went to Debug --> run. And again it ran from there without issue.

I now have soho on all three machines I tested on.  None of the issues I had turned out to be show stoppers.  Granted using the Gambas IDE to complete the install is a weird option.  Do you guys want any input on features other than the installer just yet.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2009, 03:56:26 pm »

stretchedthin,
can you try another install on the box that is locking up?
this time close the installer, open a terminal, cd to /root/speed, then run "rm -r *" and then "svn up" then "./vinstall-ng.gambas"
let us know if it completes

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #24 on: October 19, 2009, 04:33:02 pm »

stretchedthin,
can you try another install on the box that is locking up?
this time close the installer, open a terminal, cd to /root/speed, then run "rm -r *" and then "svn up" then "./vinstall-ng.gambas"
let us know if it completes

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
run "rm -r *" why does that make me nervous?   Grin

"svn up" gets a request failed response.  I use a wireless connection on this desktop, so no connection to svn with.
I may be able to move it upstairs but not until the Wife is off of that one.  She's 7 months pregnant and needs to be approached with extreme caution. Grin

« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 04:50:20 pm by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #25 on: October 19, 2009, 08:06:26 pm »

well with no wired internet all i can think of is to delete the installer binary and recompile it from the IDE.
reboot, stop the installer, delete the vinstall-ng.gambas file in /root/speedy, open the IDE and compile a new binary.

then close the IDE and run it from the terminal /root/speed/vinstall-ng.gambas
Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #26 on: October 19, 2009, 08:06:45 pm »

stretchedthin,
can you try another install on the box that is locking up?
this time close the installer, open a terminal, cd to /root/speed, then run "rm -r *" and then "svn up" then "./vinstall-ng.gambas"
let us know if it completes

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
OK was able to connect to the internet and run the commands above.  Updated to revision 928 but unfortunately got the same result. 
After starting ./vinstall-ng.gambas the terminal shows a number of Gtk-CRITICAL and Gdk-CRITICAL errors but I seem to remember from last year those aren't of any real concern.  If it's any help the process never stops in the terminal, it is just locked up.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #27 on: October 20, 2009, 04:50:03 am »

How many hard drives on that box?
I'm curious as to why it is trying to mount and access a /dev/sdb1 if your probepart only shows one drive.
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #28 on: October 20, 2009, 06:43:26 am »

Only one 500g harddrive connected.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #29 on: October 20, 2009, 06:54:40 am »

Can you post your results for "probedisk" ?
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!