VectorLinux
August 27, 2014, 09:01:24 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wrong HDD size.  (Read 1671 times)
dima
Member
*
Posts: 10


« on: November 25, 2009, 03:31:50 am »

Since install VL 6.0 gold on ST340016A 38166MB hard drive, my BIOS began report wrong size for this drive - 2133Mb instead of something about 40000Mb. BIOS menu for HDD autodetect will recover the size, but only until the next boot. Previously there is on my HDD was installed FreeBSD 4.5, FreeBSD 4.8, FreeBSD 4.11 and I have never seen such behavior.
Logged
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 04:42:12 am »

Are you sure that the motherboard backup battery is not failing and in need of replacement?

Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 06:42:36 am »

I've never seen this before, but I'm wandering..
does the OS follow what the BIOS reports? (I would not be surprised if it did)

try booting a live cd or one of your installed BSD's and see what they report as far as disk size.
parted would be a good way to find out.
Logged

toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2009, 10:32:13 am »

Last time I saw an incorrect size report from a machine BIOS, the hard drive was on it way out.

I would suggest checking the drive. As a start, install gsmartcontrol (using Glapt in VL6.0), and see what it reports on the drive. It should be albe to retrieve any error logs from the HDD.

paul.
Logged
dima
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2009, 01:37:31 pm »

Are you sure that the motherboard backup battery is not failing and in need of replacement?
I'm sure.
Logged
dima
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2009, 01:41:38 pm »

I've never seen this before, but I'm wandering..
does the OS follow what the BIOS reports? (I would not be surprised if it did)

try booting a live cd or one of your installed BSD's and see what they report as far as disk size.
parted would be a good way to find out.
According to dmesg, OpenBSD report correct size for all my drives.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!