Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: xforwarding  (Read 3975 times)

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
xforwarding
« on: October 20, 2009, 03:55:38 am »
   
I tried configuring with ssh xforwarding as follows:

on the local machine: xhost +
on the remote machine: export DISPLAY = "10.1.37.52:0.0"

10.1.37.52 is the local ip and 0.0 is the display

Then I connect to the remote with:
ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.110

run xclock and then says:
I can not open display ?????. Any ideas
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 03:57:40 am by 666lawyer »

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding [solved]
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 04:01:06 am »
   
I tried configuring with ssh xforwarding as follows:

on the local machine: xhost +
on the remote machine: export DISPLAY = "10.1.37.52:0.0"

10.1.37.52 is the local ip and 0.0 is the display

Then I connect to the remote with:
ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.110

run xclock

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 04:40:36 am »

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2009, 06:45:44 am »
 I tried to run xhost + on the remote machine (vector linux) but says:
  xhost +
xhost: unable to open display ""

 ???



666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 05:39:46 am »
Do not export the DISPLAY varialble and no longer gives that error, but the remote machine  (vector linux) that I am from ubuntu using ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.113 run xclock and is done in the same in a process that is with ps-e, but if I run firefox & it runs on the local machine (Ubuntu) because I realize this is in Spanish and one in English. You seem to run randomly because sometimes running firefox from the remote. Any ideas ????. What am I doing wrong???

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 05:54:47 am »
All you need is to enable Xforwarding in your server's ssh config file

ON THE SERVER
/etc/ssh/sshd_config
Code: [Select]
#AllowTcpForwarding yes 
#X11Forwarding yes
#X11DisplayOffset 10     
#X11UseLocalhost yes     

Restart the ssh server

ON THE CLIENT
Code: [Select]
ssh -X -Y user@your.server.ip
That should be enough for what you need.

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding [solved]
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 05:57:23 am »
Its. works! thank ;D

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2009, 07:07:57 am »
   
continues to behave in a random ???

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2009, 08:10:30 am »
On your client box, try executing xhost+ command
and then try the ssh connection.

if that solves it, your problem is at the client machine.

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2009, 08:55:16 am »
   

Not solve it, remains the same :(    
xlclock wonder what it runs on the server??
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 09:10:14 am by 666lawyer »

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2009, 09:02:01 am »
xhost+ has to be ran as user, not root.

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2009, 09:18:19 am »
   
I ran it as user. But apparently the problem is in the ssh, if I run it like ssh-X-Y shiva@10.1.1.113 works (apparently) only if I run ssh-Y .... does not work.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2009, 10:06:12 am »
the -X flag tells it to forward X using X's auth. You need this.

see man ssh

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2009, 10:11:06 am »
Solved. Thank very much!!! ;D

666lawyer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
Re: xforwarding
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2009, 03:58:46 am »
even with ssh-X-Y shiva@10.1.1.113 and configuration and ssd_config sshd_config on the server, is still behaving randomly ????? (run the client firefox, not so the xclock or xcalc)


pd: leo muy poco ingles y no hay manuales en espaƱol, disculpen. ???