VectorLinux
September 18, 2014, 11:23:54 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: xforwarding  (Read 3326 times)
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« on: October 20, 2009, 03:55:38 am »

   
I tried configuring with ssh xforwarding as follows:

on the local machine: xhost +
on the remote machine: export DISPLAY = "10.1.37.52:0.0"

10.1.37.52 is the local ip and 0.0 is the display

Then I connect to the remote with:
ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.110

run xclock and then says:
I can not open display Huh??. Any ideas
« Last Edit: November 04, 2009, 03:57:40 am by 666lawyer » Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 04:01:06 am »

   
I tried configuring with ssh xforwarding as follows:

on the local machine: xhost +
on the remote machine: export DISPLAY = "10.1.37.52:0.0"

10.1.37.52 is the local ip and 0.0 is the display

Then I connect to the remote with:
ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.110

run xclock
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 04:40:36 am »

try this...

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=7196.0
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2009, 06:45:44 am »

 I tried to run xhost + on the remote machine (vector linux) but says:
  xhost +
xhost: unable to open display ""

 Huh


Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 05:39:46 am »

Do not export the DISPLAY varialble and no longer gives that error, but the remote machine  (vector linux) that I am from ubuntu using ssh-X shiva@10.1.1.113 run xclock and is done in the same in a process that is with ps-e, but if I run firefox & it runs on the local machine (Ubuntu) because I realize this is in Spanish and one in English. You seem to run randomly because sometimes running firefox from the remote. Any ideas Huh?. What am I doing wrong???
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 05:54:47 am »

All you need is to enable Xforwarding in your server's ssh config file

ON THE SERVER
/etc/ssh/sshd_config
Code:
#AllowTcpForwarding yes 
#X11Forwarding yes
#X11DisplayOffset 10     
#X11UseLocalhost yes     

Restart the ssh server

ON THE CLIENT
Code:
ssh -X -Y user@your.server.ip
That should be enough for what you need.
Logged

666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 05:57:23 am »

Its. works! thank Grin
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2009, 07:07:57 am »

   
continues to behave in a random Huh
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2009, 08:10:30 am »

On your client box, try executing xhost+ command
and then try the ssh connection.

if that solves it, your problem is at the client machine.
Logged

666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2009, 08:55:16 am »

   

Not solve it, remains the same Sad    
xlclock wonder what it runs on the server??
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 09:10:14 am by 666lawyer » Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2009, 09:02:01 am »

xhost+ has to be ran as user, not root.
Logged

666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2009, 09:18:19 am »

   
I ran it as user. But apparently the problem is in the ssh, if I run it like ssh-X-Y shiva@10.1.1.113 works (apparently) only if I run ssh-Y .... does not work.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2009, 10:06:12 am »

the -X flag tells it to forward X using X's auth. You need this.

see man ssh
Logged

666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2009, 10:11:06 am »

Solved. Thank very much!!! Grin
Logged
666lawyer
Member
*
Posts: 60


« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2009, 03:58:46 am »

even with ssh-X-Y shiva@10.1.1.113 and configuration and ssd_config sshd_config on the server, is still behaving randomly Huh?? (run the client firefox, not so the xclock or xcalc)


pd: leo muy poco ingles y no hay manuales en espaƱol, disculpen. Huh
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!