VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Author Topic: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]  (Read 9537 times)

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #30 on: November 07, 2009, 09:59:38 pm »


Quote
Thank you, I wonder why you could find the fglrx-install.log and I can't?

Here is how I found the log:


Quote
vector:/~
johwhi:$ locate fglrx-install.log
/usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log
vector:/~
johwhi:$ cd /usr/share/ati
vector://usr/share/ati
johwhi:$ more fglrx-install.log
[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Message] Kernel Module : Found kernel module build environment, generating kernel module now.
AMD kernel module generator version 2.1
doing Makefile based build for kernel 2.6.x and higher
rm -rf *.c *.h *.o *.ko *.GCC* .??* *.symvers
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.27.12/build SUBDIRS=/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.27.12'
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.o
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function ‘KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionPhysAddrStr’:
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3221: warning: return makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3222: warning: return makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3223: warning: return makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3225: warning: return makes pointer from integer without a cast
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_agp.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.o
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.c:62: warning: ‘kcl_debug_sysrq_op’ defined but not used
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.c:69: warning: ‘kcl_debug_sysrq_dump_op’ defined but not used
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_ioctl.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_io.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_pci.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_str.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_wait.o
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.mod.o
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.27.12'
build succeeded with return value 0
duplicating results into driver repository...
done.
You must change your working directory to /lib/modules/fglrx
and then call ./make_install.sh in order to install the built module.
- recreating module dependency list
- trying a sample load of the kernel modules
failed.
[Error] Kernel Module : Failed to install compiled kernel module - please consult readme.

Sadly, I found out that the T42's video card doesn't support fglrx.

Good luck.

John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #31 on: November 07, 2009, 10:20:18 pm »

Okay, thank you. So I tried that...

(none)://home/dave
root:# locate fglrx-install.log
/usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log
(none)://home/dave
root:# /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log
bash: /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log: Permission denied
(none)://home/dave
root:# cd /usr/share/ati
(none)://usr/share/ati
root:# more fglrx-install.log
[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module
.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Message] Kernel Module : Found kernel module build environment, genera
ting kernel module now.
AMD kernel module generator version 2.1
doing Makefile based build for kernel 2.6.x and higher
rm -rf *.c *.h *.o *.ko *.GCC* .??* *.symvers
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.27.12/build SUBDIRS=/lib/modules/fglrx/build_m
od/2.6.x modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.27.12'
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.o
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function 'KCL_ME
M_VM_GetRegionPhysAddrStr':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3221: warning: retur
n makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3222: warning: retur
n makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3223: warning: retur
n makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:3225: warning: retur
n makes pointer from integer without a cast
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_agp.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.o
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.c:62: warning: 'kcl_debug_
sysrq_op' defined but not used
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_debug.c:69: warning: 'kcl_debug_
sysrq_dump_op' defined but not used
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_ioctl.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_io.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_pci.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_str.o
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/kcl_wait.o
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.mod.o
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.27.12'
build succeeded with return value 0
duplicating results into driver repository...
done.
You must change your working directory to /lib/modules/fglrx
and then call ./make_install.sh in order to install the built module.
- recreating module dependency list
- trying a sample load of the kernel modules
failed.
[Error] Kernel Module : Failed to install compiled kernel module - plea
se consult readme.

 :)

Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1465
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #32 on: November 07, 2009, 11:05:38 pm »

If you haven't already, you might take a look at this page:

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=44554

Apparently you are not alone.

John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2009, 03:50:54 am »

root:# /etc/X11/xorg.conf
bash: /etc/X11/xorg.conf: Permission denied

The "Permission denied" message is because; by calling the file directly like that, you tell the system that you want to execute it.. The file is not executable, so it throws an error.

What you wanted was to read the file. A line like this:
Code: [Select]
mcedit /etc/X11/xorg.confmeans: execute the editor (mcedit) and have it open the file (/etc/X11/xorg.conf).
Logged

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #34 on: November 08, 2009, 09:13:13 am »

Okay, thank you.  :) So then I go to the part where it says driver: radeon and change it to radeonhd?
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2009, 11:10:25 am »

I'm starting to think more that getting a different video card might be the simplest, easiest, quickest, most sensible solution. :)
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2009, 12:25:27 pm »

Okay, thank you.  :) So then I go to the part where it says driver: radeon and change it to radeonhd?

That's right.  You have to do it all as root inorder to be able to save your changes.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #37 on: November 08, 2009, 01:06:00 pm »

I'm starting to think more that getting a different video card might be the simplest, easiest, quickest, most sensible solution. :)

I don't like to give up too easily, but in this case, I agree. I struggled with Radeon cards (9250, 9500 and 9600) in Linux for a long time. Even when I got the proprietary driver working, they were not very good performers. When I replaced them with nVidia GeForce (5200, 6200), things became much easier. The driver installs without problems and performance is very good. This gives me time to work on other projects, of which I have plenty..
Logged

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #38 on: November 08, 2009, 03:06:24 pm »

Okay, thank you.  :) So then I go to the part where it says driver: radeon and change it to radeonhd?

That's right.  You have to do it all as root inorder to be able to save your changes.

Yes, right, thank you. So I copied this... installpkg xf86-video-radeonhd-1.3.0-i586-1vl60.tlz into the terminal and got this...

root:# installpkg xf86-video-radeonhd-1.3.0-i586-1vl60.tlz

.-----.-----------------------------------------------------------------------.
| 1/1 | Installing xf86-video-radeonhd-1.3.0-i586-1vl60.tlz                   |
'-----'-----------------------------------------------------------------------'

.-----------------------------------------------------------------------------.
| xf86-video-radeonhd ()                                                      |
|                                                                             |
|                                                                             |
|                                                                             |
| License: GPL                                                                |
| Authors:                                                                    |
| Website:                                                                    |
'-----------------------------------------------------------------------------'


I used mcedit to change radeon to radeonhd. Then I went back and did:
installpkg xf86-video-radeonhd-1.3.0-i586-1vl60.tlz

Just to make sure.

Should I then try to see if compiz fusion works?
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2009, 03:24:42 pm »

Quote
Should I then try to see if compiz fusion works?

Sure why not.  You might want to restart or hit ctrl+alt+backspace to restart X first. Just to make sure everything is restarted the way it should.

If you run into trouble you now know how to use vxconf from the tui mode to get back to where you were.

From there you can always reinstall the .tlz the uelsk8s provided and make the edit to you /etc/X11/xorg.conf once more and try again.

Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #40 on: November 10, 2009, 08:31:43 pm »

 :) I just installed this:

VGA compatible controller   nVidia Corporation NV25 [GeForce4 Ti 4600]

I still get a white screen when I try compiz fusion  ???
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #41 on: November 10, 2009, 09:05:31 pm »

Hi Hippy'
Have you ran vxconf and if so what driver choice did you make?
If unsure post the output of ...
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver

Did you get your money back on the other card?
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2009, 09:53:16 pm »

Hi Hippy'
Have you ran vxconf and if so what driver choice did you make?
If unsure post the output of ...
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver

Did you get your money back on the other card?


:) Hello, yes I ran vxconf and I picked the opensource nvidia because it said the other nvidia didn't support 3d.

Driver "kbd"
Driver "mouse"

Available driver options are:

Driver "nv"

I had to type that out for some reason I couldn't copy/paste it.

No, I didn't get my money back on the other card, but I only paid $20 for it (good deal) and I will be able to get at least that for it or use it sometime I think.

Now, since my last post, I talked with a friend who suggested for me to do alt+f2 and type 'glxgears'.
So  I did and it worked and he said that means the 3d acceleration is working. ???
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2009, 09:59:02 pm »

I got this new/old one for $30 and it's not as good as the other radeon 9600 I suppose, but it's nvidia so hopefully it will work.  :)
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work
« Reply #44 on: November 10, 2009, 10:10:04 pm »

you need to install the proprietary nvidia driver.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6