VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]  (Read 9268 times)

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #60 on: November 11, 2009, 12:44:24 am »

When I enter 'thunar' in the terminal I get what I'm sure is the super file manager (all the home files plus the root ones)

When I click on the arrow beside the file manager on the panel I get this:

.....Could not run "Super File Manager"

Failed to execute child process "xftree4" (No such file or directory)....

In the super file manager I get from entering thunar in the terminal, I can't find the little 'location' window shown in the title fix tutorial.

Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #61 on: November 11, 2009, 12:45:27 am »

I did try logging out and rebooting a couple of times.
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #62 on: November 11, 2009, 12:48:28 am »

When you open a terminal what is the last symbol on the last line. Is it a # or a $.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #63 on: November 11, 2009, 12:50:23 am »

Now uh... I don't imagine you want to hear this, but when I  click on any of the buttons on the panel nothing happens. The only way I can move from workspace to workspace is by ctrl+alt and moving them with the mouse.  ???
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #64 on: November 11, 2009, 12:55:40 am »

I don't know how to open a terminal without the buttons on the panel.
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #65 on: November 11, 2009, 12:57:55 am »

Uuugg!(that's some bad luck) Try rebooting one more time.  This time at the gdm (Gnome Display Manager, where you log in.), how many users do you have? Do you have two or just one name root.  Also if you can get a terminal to launch I'd still like to know what symbol you see at the prompt, a '#' or a '$' after that I think we will just leave it for the night.  
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #66 on: November 11, 2009, 01:15:03 am »

When I logged in it said my name and root. I logged in with my name.
When I opened the terminal it says #. I have the buttons working now.
I could do this all night but if you like, that's been certainly far more than enough help for one night thank you very much.  :)
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #67 on: November 11, 2009, 01:18:13 am »

No, no! Opening the terminal I get a $, sorry.
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #68 on: November 11, 2009, 01:26:46 am »

I'm an hour ahead of you I think, but I like your attitude just lack the stamina.  

A $ symbol is a good thing, it shows you are in a normal user session and not a root one.  I'll check in again tomorrow after work and see how things are coming along.
Ken
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #69 on: November 11, 2009, 01:39:54 am »

Okay Ken, Thank you.

I got the super file manager using the  /sbin/vsuper "thunar /" in the terminal.


I got the vasm.sh in the medit and following the tutorial, I found this at the bottom:

##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
##This is added to fix xfce terminal bug with i810 driver
 #export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1


So I added the # before the beginning of the last line, but notice there are several of these lines unlike in the tutorial and wonder if that is usual or not and if I should add a # before each line or not?
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #70 on: November 11, 2009, 07:52:18 am »

Delete or comment out '#' everyline that has
Quote
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
in it.



Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4085
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #71 on: November 11, 2009, 08:15:30 am »

This line is an old workaround for the deprecated i810 driver. It gets added every time you run "vxconf". You can safely delete every instance of it.
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1459
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #72 on: November 11, 2009, 10:25:53 am »

Hippyredneck,

Glad you got it working, but:

What is compiz fusion and why do you use it?



John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #73 on: November 11, 2009, 02:07:32 pm »

Delete or comment out '#' everyline that has
Quote
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
in it.





I did so and there still is no title bar. Now I can't get the pages to move using ctlr+alt and mouse. What happens  when I use ctrl + alt and left click is the lines around the boxes wherever the pointer is are highlighted.

When I got to menu... quit.... logout, I get a black screen and a small white horizontal line top left screen.

I turn the computer off to reboot and when I get to the xfce screen starting up it there is a little window that comes up and says.... something about .... /etc/hosts/..... none......this may affect how xfce works...continue anyway? or try again....

(Now I will turn off and reboot to write down what it says)

p.s. It has been doing this since I first installed vl, but now I think it may have something to do with the current problem because in the terminal when dealing with the vasm.sh it was saying something about not connect to hosts

I will write down exactly what it says to report it more specifically

I hope all this isn't too much to deal with on this board and want you to know how much I appreciate it and hope that these problems/solutions are relevant to the community  :)
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein

hippyredneck

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Installed Compiz Fusion But It Won't Work [SOLVED]
« Reply #74 on: November 11, 2009, 02:15:23 pm »

Okay please disregard much of the last post.  ;)

I suspect there are little elves doing mysterious work inside my computer.

The title bar is here now and everything seems to be working so far :D
Logged
“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once.” ~ Albert Einstein
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6