VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 06:35:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone produced a package of DosEMU for Vector 6 and got it working?  (Read 1531 times)
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« on: February 15, 2010, 04:16:04 pm »

Hi. I'm currently trying to run some DOS programs and find that although DOSBOX does the job, it's very slow compared to DOS on its own. Also, it doesn't allow printing from a DOS application.

Has anyone managed to produce a DosEMU package for Vector 6, and / or got DosEMU working properly in Vector 6? I must confess that the only joy I've had with DosEMU so far has been with another distro (Deli 7).

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 09:53:36 pm »

I run Foxpro 2.6 on dosemu on my VL 6.0 system and on 5.9 and 5.8 before that.  It works fine.  Just have to fiddle a bit with autoexec.bat.  I am currently running dosemu 1.4.0.0.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 10:08:15 pm »

I was going to go with QEMU and FreeDOS, but your post prompted me to try DOSEmu.

A package for Slackware 12.1 is at
  http://connie.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/dosemu/pkg/12.1/dosemu-1.4.0-i486-3alien.tgz.asc
The md5 file, etc. are in the same directory.

Installed in VL 6.0 light using    upgragepkg -i (pathname of downloaded package)
Installpkg man page warned against its use and suggested upgradepkg -i, instead. No idea if this is the accepted method.

Installed without a burp. Ran without a glitch as normal user. So far, all I can say is dir works for C: and D: (your linux home directory).

You're right, it's much faster; thanks for the tip!
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 10:12:38 pm »

Installed in VL 6.0 light using upgradepkg -i  (etc.)
Apparently, bold type excites me too much to type correctly. Sorry.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2010, 12:42:50 am »

That's the same tgz file that I have in my source directory, so apparently I used it too. 
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2010, 07:58:20 am »

Thanks for the info, DosEMU's now installed and working.

Next question though, how do I slow it down? I'm getting "Runtime Error 200" on some programs (though only a minority of them), and the DOS slowdown utility doesn't work with it.

Thanks in advance,

CP .
Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2010, 09:58:23 pm »

The QEMU+FreeDOS (or the DOS you have) solution is looking better. QEMU allows setting processor speed and is available in gslapt.

Warning: there's a very common FreeDOS disk image for QEMU. Don't use it; though the first messages you see are in English, it's actually a German version of FreeDOS, so several keys on the keyboard are out of place. I didn't catch on for a while. When in doubt, I type "blark" at the command prompt. When told that blark was "nicht gefundet", I finally got it. Create your image using a FreeDOS CD or CD image.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2010, 12:58:54 am »

Thanks for replying. I think DosEMU allows speed setting too, it's just knowing how to do it.

If I did use QEMU I'd use the FreeDOS image with came with Deli's installation of DosEMU, it's pretty solid as far as I can see (but still runs too fast for some of my software).
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 01:06:23 am by Colonel Panic » Logged
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2010, 03:08:16 am »

A brief update - I did what I should have done in the beginning and googled for "dosemu runtime error 200." I found a better solution - patch the .exe file using tppatch. I can now run xplore at full speed (and also any other DOS programs with which I've had the same problem, such as the text editor Breeze).

All's well that ends well, but apologies to anyone who feels I've wasted their time.
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2010, 03:15:54 am »

You haven't wasted my time. Instead, you have made me aware that there may be some advantages in continuing to use my slow IBM T42.  I once resolved that I would not replace it until I could find a laptop with a screen viewable in the sunlight (so I could work out of the office).  You have strengthened that resolve.

John

Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2010, 09:20:33 am »

Actually, you saved me time. I'll be setting up DOS-in-VL. Wasn't planning it now, but when I do, I've a good foothold thanks to your and Sledgehammer's postings.

And now we have this nice searchable thread for the next user Wink
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2010, 10:05:24 am »

And now we have this nice searchable thread for the next user Wink
If only this forum could get a decent search feature. Right now it seems the only way to get any kind of reliable results is via google (search terms site:forum.vectorlinux.com).
Logged
Colonel Panic
Vectorian
****
Posts: 526


« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2010, 10:36:48 am »

@Sledgehammer and six-forty; thanks for your comments, I'm glad that I've been of service.

@Newt; agreed but it's not just this one, I find that Google's better than a board's internal search function more often than not whenever I search for something.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!