VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 05:10:09 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: xorg.conf (resolved)  (Read 2695 times)
flip city
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 340


Way Out In HyperSpace


« on: November 16, 2009, 09:02:16 pm »

data incomplete in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf
at least one Device section is required

What does this mean ?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 02:20:59 pm by flip city » Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 09:29:22 pm »

Hmm... have you done anything to your xorg.conf file lately? And when do you get that message? on boot?
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
flip city
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 340


Way Out In HyperSpace


« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2009, 09:55:50 pm »

Yess...tried the various drivers to see if a rendering problem with FF 3.5 could be something to do with the driver. radeon was the last one used.
That message (see above post) is seen after I used TUI then vxconf to try to install another driver. I continually get a X configuration error. Those aforementioned lines are the details of the X server output error.

also Failed to load module fgl.renamed.libdri (module does not exist)
 
« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 09:40:54 am by flip city » Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2009, 12:45:24 pm »

Check and see if you have the file: /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup or .old or something like that. If you do, you could delete the current xorg.conf and rename the old/backup one back to xorg.conf to get back to a known-to-work-configuration (assuming the last one worked of course.)
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
flip city
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 340


Way Out In HyperSpace


« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2009, 12:59:36 pm »

the xorg.conf.backup file is there. just uncertain if it is a working configuration,since I have tried to change drivers with no luck. would using SKEL be of help here?









« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 01:04:26 pm by flip city » Logged

Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2009, 01:03:38 pm »

I don't quite remember what's in SKEL. If it has a xorg.conf.backup restorer utility then I guess so though you should be able to do it from CLI/TUI also.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
flip city
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 340


Way Out In HyperSpace


« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2009, 02:23:22 pm »

per strechedthin's suggestion I copied the xorg.conf-vesa document into xorg.conf. PRESTO!! back in vl6 standard.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!