VectorLinux
July 31, 2014, 07:07:17 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Booting VL on Win7 machine?  (Read 1671 times)
gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« on: November 17, 2009, 05:29:13 pm »

I received my custom built Lenovo with Win7 from across the sea yesterday and I am ready to throw VL Light at it. Kinda give the machine REAL class Grin. What are the suggestions for multi-booting with Win7? I use the NT boot loader on XP systems and a boot loader called GAG on Vista systems.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
Daniel
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 704


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 06:12:55 pm »

The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting.
Logged

The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM
gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 04:26:39 am »

Quote
The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting

I'm well aware of that fact. I've been setting up machines to multi-boot since VL 4.0. I don't like to write and re-write lilo to the mbr. That has caused problems for me in the past.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 11:58:45 am »

Quote
The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting

I'm well aware of that fact. I've been setting up machines to multi-boot since VL 4.0. I don't like to write and re-write lilo to the mbr. That has caused problems for me in the past.

On my T61 I used EasyBCD to allow use of the Vista boot loader, rather than fiddling with the MBR (since Vista and, presumably Win7 don't use a standard MBR any more). Not sure if there is an equivilent for Win 7 yet.

paul.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2009, 12:34:39 pm »

On a test system, I'm using Grub2 for dual-booting Win7 and VL6SOHO Beta1. Grub2 identified the Win7 system as Vista, but otherwise they both boot normally.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2009, 01:58:31 pm »

You could write GRUB to the boot sector of your root partition and just chain load it from their bootloader I guess.
I still have not tried windows 7 and really have no intention to.
Logged

gamfa
Vectorite
***
Posts: 245



« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 04:32:12 pm »

Gag seems to be doing the job with no problems. It's a very nice app.
Logged

"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
sdboyd
Member
*
Posts: 38


WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2009, 08:43:23 pm »

When I installed VL 6.0 on my Acer Inspire w/ Win7, I first used lilo on the MBR. I too don't like having to remember to run lilo everytime I make a change to lilo.conf. Since VL installs grub, it was easy enough to run grubconfig and install grub on the MBR. I chain-load Win7, but use grub to directly boot VL. Grub works just fine with Win7, even though I don't use it (Win7) any more.

Scott
Logged

Running VL 7.0 Std - Xfce4.8 on an Acer Aspire 5517 Laptop - Athlon64 X2 Dual Core L310 - 4GB RAM - 320GB HD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!