VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Booting VL on Win7 machine?  (Read 1906 times)

gamfa

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« on: November 17, 2009, 05:29:13 pm »

I received my custom built Lenovo with Win7 from across the sea yesterday and I am ready to throw VL Light at it. Kinda give the machine REAL class ;D. What are the suggestions for multi-booting with Win7? I use the NT boot loader on XP systems and a boot loader called GAG on Vista systems.
Logged
"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain

Daniel

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
    • TuxToys - Packages for VectorLinux 6.0
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 06:12:55 pm »

The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting.
Logged
The following sentence is true. The previous sentence is false.

VL 6.0 SOHO KDE-Classic on 2.3 Ghz Dual-core AMD with 3 Gigs of RAM

gamfa

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 04:26:39 am »

Quote
The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting

I'm well aware of that fact. I've been setting up machines to multi-boot since VL 4.0. I don't like to write and re-write lilo to the mbr. That has caused problems for me in the past.
Logged
"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 11:58:45 am »

Quote
The VL installer can setup lilo for multi-booting

I'm well aware of that fact. I've been setting up machines to multi-boot since VL 4.0. I don't like to write and re-write lilo to the mbr. That has caused problems for me in the past.

On my T61 I used EasyBCD to allow use of the Vista boot loader, rather than fiddling with the MBR (since Vista and, presumably Win7 don't use a standard MBR any more). Not sure if there is an equivilent for Win 7 yet.

paul.
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2009, 12:34:39 pm »

On a test system, I'm using Grub2 for dual-booting Win7 and VL6SOHO Beta1. Grub2 identified the Win7 system as Vista, but otherwise they both boot normally.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3217
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2009, 01:58:31 pm »

You could write GRUB to the boot sector of your root partition and just chain load it from their bootloader I guess.
I still have not tried windows 7 and really have no intention to.

gamfa

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 04:32:12 pm »

Gag seems to be doing the job with no problems. It's a very nice app.
Logged
"Don't tell my cattle I have leather seats in my truck"

"I never let schooling stand in the way of my education"...Mark Twain

sdboyd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • Scott's Corner of the Web
Re: Booting VL on Win7 machine?
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2009, 08:43:23 pm »

When I installed VL 6.0 on my Acer Inspire w/ Win7, I first used lilo on the MBR. I too don't like having to remember to run lilo everytime I make a change to lilo.conf. Since VL installs grub, it was easy enough to run grubconfig and install grub on the MBR. I chain-load Win7, but use grub to directly boot VL. Grub works just fine with Win7, even though I don't use it (Win7) any more.

Scott
Logged
Running VL 7.0 Std - Xfce4.8 on an Acer Aspire 5517 Laptop - Athlon64 X2 Dual Core L310 - 4GB RAM - 320GB HD